Sparcstation 20 network install: /dev/fbs does not exist

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
strong_epoxy
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Sparcstation 20 network install: /dev/fbs does not exist

Unread postby strong_epoxy » Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:34 am

I'm attempting a network install of Solaris 9 to my SS20 from a Linux server. Everything works: rarp, bootp, tftp, nfs... the kernel's loaded, the boot partition's loaded, devices discovered, etc. It then attempts to load the installer and fails with:

/sbin/startup: /dev/fbs: does not exist

...and drops to the console.

This occurs with both install commands:

boot net -v - install
boot net -v - text

Any ideas?

(BTW: This all started with attempting to install Sun Studio mentioned in another thread. The machine had a 9GB drive with an awful partition setup so there was no room to install. I've installed a 36GB drive and will pay better attention to the partitioning.)
:Cube: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indy: :320: :1600SW: :Fuel: :Onyx2:

robespierre
Posts: 1523
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Sparcstation 20 network install: /dev/fbs does not exist

Unread postby robespierre » Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:38 pm

looks like the directory /dev/fbs isn't getting mounted. MAKEDEV?
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

Melkhior
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Sparcstation 20 network install: /dev/fbs does not exist

Unread postby Melkhior » Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:11 am

strong_epoxy wrote:/sbin/startup: /dev/fbs: does not exist
...and drops to the console.


Try again, and look carefully at the messages. Did one of them mention something about 'devfsadm' failing in /usr/lib/devfsadm/linkmod ? (or something like that).

If yes, I've had something similar in 7 & 8 while net-installing from Linux NFS; for some reason devfsadm fails to load the drivers from the above location on NFS. Since /sbin/startup is a script on the server, you can patch it there to add something like:

#####
mkdir /tmp/linkmod
cp -f /usr/lib/devfsadm/linkmod/* /tmp/linkmod/
devfsadm -l /tmp/linkmod/
######

somewhere in the script prior to the failing point. This will load the drivers, and you should get the missing devices.

Goog luck & cordially,

Edit: typo

User avatar
strong_epoxy
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Sparcstation 20 network install: /dev/fbs does not exist

Unread postby strong_epoxy » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:10 pm

I, an anonymous internets user, hereby grant thee, Melkhior, 1,000,000 Internet points which makes you the winner of the Internet today! Just Wednesday mind you. Oh and there's only a couple hours left of the day. And there's no other prize.

That worked! I'm a little uncomfortable with all this 'modifying startup script' voodoo, but I'll get over it I think.

If you don't mind I'd like to post my problem and your solution to my blog. I'll reference this thread in the blog.

Thanks for your help!
:Cube: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indy: :320: :1600SW: :Fuel: :Onyx2:

Melkhior
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Sparcstation 20 network install: /dev/fbs does not exist

Unread postby Melkhior » Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:05 am

strong_epoxy wrote:I, an anonymous internets user, hereby grant thee, Melkhior, 1,000,000 Internet points which makes you the winner of the Internet today! Just Wednesday mind you. Oh and there's only a couple hours left of the day. And there's no other prize.


... and since I'm in France it was already Thursday anyway :-)

That worked! I'm a little uncomfortable with all this 'modifying startup script' voodoo, but I'll get over it I think.


IIRC, for 7 i was able to do it interactively when the installer dropped me into a shell after not finding any drive. But for 8, the missing /dev/fbs made it worse and I had to patch the startup script... ugly yes but it works, so...

If you don't mind I'd like to post my problem and your solution to my blog. I'll reference this thread in the blog. Thanks for your help!


No problem & glad I could help.

Cordially


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest