Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD/Now with Sound

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
sgtprobe
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD/Now with Sound

Unread postby sgtprobe » Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:17 am

Here is my new Fuel, newly arrived from Ian. (Thanks Ian, It's a beauty, and thanks for the Nice Network card)

All in all, much faster than my V10 equiped Octane2. Nice :)

Added a new picture of the whole lot.

Added a Sound Cracker Audigy 2 ZS and new Gfxinfo for my current resolution I'm running in.


Code: Select all

fuel 50% hinv -mv
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node
            IP34 Board: barcode NCH639     part 030-1707-004 rev -A
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/0
        IP34PIMM Board: barcode NCK659     part 030-1730-002 rev -E
Location: /hw/module/001c01/Ibrick/xtalk/13
          ASTODY Board: barcode NCK335     part 030-1726-005 rev -A
Location: /hw/module/001c01/Ibrick/xtalk/14
            IP34 Board: barcode NCH639     part 030-1707-004 rev -A
Location: /hw/module/001c01/Ibrick/xtalk/15
            IP34 Board: barcode NCH639     part 030-1707-004 rev -A
1 600 MHZ IP35 Processor
CPU: MIPS R14000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.4
FPU: MIPS R14010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 2.4
CPU 0 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice A: 600 Mhz MIPS R14000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.4. Scache: Size 4 MB Speed 300 Mhz  Tap 0xa
Main memory size: 2048 Mbytes
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 4 Mbytes
Memory at Module 001c01/Slot 0: 2048 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 1024 MB (Premium) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 1 contains 1024 MB (Premium) DIMMS (enabled)
Integral SCSI controller 2: Version QL1280, low voltage differential
Integral SCSI controller 3: Version QL1280, low voltage differential
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL12160, low voltage differential
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
  Disk drive: unit 2 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 2)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL12160, single ended
  CDROM: unit 4 on SCSI controller 1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: V12
Gigabit Ethernet: tg1, module 001c01, PCI bus 2 slot 1
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, module 001c01, pci 4
Iris Audio Processor: version EMU revision A4, number 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x14e4, device 0x1645) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1280) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1216) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1102, device 0x0004) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1102, device 0x7003) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1102, device 0x4001) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 4
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1045, device 0xc861) PCI slot 5
HUB in Module 001c01/Slot 0: Revision 2 Speed 200.00 Mhz (enabled)
IP35prom in Module 001c01/Slot n0: Revision 6.210
USB controller: type OHCI


Code: Select all

fuel 111% /usr/gfx/gfxinfo
Graphics board 0 is "ODYSSEY" graphics.
        Managed (":0.0") 1920x1200
        BUZZ version B.2
        PB&J version 1
        128MB memory
                Banks: 4, CAS latency: 3
         Monitor 0 type: DEL -4075
        Channel 0:
         Origin = (0,0)
         Video Output: 1920 pixels, 1200 lines, 60.00Hz (1920x1200_60p)



The new picture, both the Octane and the Fuel is up and running, oh I love them so much.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image



/Jonas
Last edited by sgtprobe on Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:53 am, edited 3 times in total.
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD

Unread postby mapesdhs » Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:05 am

Glad to see you received it ok! Packaging alright? Everything intact after its encounter with Schenkers post? :D

For the curious, this unit is the very one shown on my new Fuel page, alongside the section, "Build Style and
Appearance", image snapped just before I began wrapping it for posting.

Ian.

sgtprobe
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD

Unread postby sgtprobe » Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:11 am

Oh yes, Even though Schenkers did their best with my Octane2 you sent me, this one was in extremely good condition. But as with the box my Octane2 came in, they didn't stand a chance against your "nukeproof" packaging. hehe

Oh, yeah. I forgot to thank you for the 400Mhz CPU for my Octane2.. THANKS.!! 8-)


/Jonas
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD

Unread postby mapesdhs » Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:14 am

sgtprobe wrote:Oh, yeah. I forgot to thank you for the 400Mhz CPU for my Octane2.. THANKS.!! 8-)


Most welcome! How are you finding it over the dual-195? For Maya rendering a simple scene, a dual-195 is almost the
same speed as a single-400, but for a complex scene with Alias the single-400 is 20% faster. Either way, hopefully it's
a decent boost for interactive use.

Looks like my CPU mod stuff will have to wait until April now though.

Ian.

sgtprobe
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD

Unread postby sgtprobe » Sat Feb 28, 2009 7:15 am

Hello all.

I haven't had that much time with my Fuel yet, but since I have now installed the 400MHz CPU in my Octane2, the Octane2 definitely got a boost in Maya for interactive speed, big difference. But from what I know from my new Fuel, the Fuel is faster still. With the Fuel you don't even think of the fact that you are sitting in front of an old "slow" 3D workstation, That's how snappy it feels. So while the Octane2 now can push a lot more polygons than before it still feels "laggy" compared to the Fuel, or my PC workstation for that matter.

I just wished that I could get that "Fuel feeling" in my Octane2 too, because the Octane2 looks so much more SGI than the Fuel does. :lol: If anyone understand what I'm out after here. :) Maybe a Dual 600MHz CPU module is the answer to this. What do you think Ian?

But overall, I'm really happy with both my Fuel and Octane2 now. I just love them both to bits.

/Jonas
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se

User avatar
indyman007
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 5:38 am
Location: North of England

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD

Unread postby indyman007 » Sat Feb 28, 2009 12:27 pm

sgtprobe wrote:fuel 46



Those are a lot of feuls.





lol joking
:Indy: R4600PC 133 MHz

Mac Mini 2.5GHz 8GB RAM
Raspberry Pi

User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:25 pm

Fuel uses DDR memory, so it has much better memory bandwidth than Octane. That's probably the biggest difference - being able to move stuff around faster.
:O3000: <> :O3000: :O2000: :Tezro: :Fuel: x2+ :Octane2: :Octane: x3 :1600SW: x2 :O2: x2+ :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: x2 :Indigo: x3 :Indy: x2+

Once you step up to the big iron, you learn all about physics, electrical standards, and first aid - usually all in the same day

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD

Unread postby mapesdhs » Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:08 am

That latency is also better, and don't forget the cache is 2X more.

I'm not sure about the dual-600. From all the tests I've done, I suspect the Fuel would still feel snappier. The dual-600 would beat
it for rendering, but then if one was willing to spend that sort of money, it would make more sense to get an O300 instead, have
that for rendering and use the Fuel for modelling.

Ian.

sgtprobe
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD

Unread postby sgtprobe » Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:36 am

Hello :)

Ah, yeah, I guess that the extra bandwidth DDR memory gives, do a lot for the Fuel. Latency does a lot too of course. To bad that you really can't do anything about that on the Octane.

Oh well, at least the Octane can be really fast, just not Fuel fast. So while I can't get the Fuel "feeling" in the Octane, I would suspect that a 600MHz CPU would give me some additional boost, considering how much the 400MHz did for it.

But maybe instead of going for a expensive Dual 600MHz CPU, I might be better of trying to acquire an Onyx2 or something similar, as the "next step" for performance in SGI computing. :lol:

Btw Ian, I took your "Jonas3" Maya scene, and converted it to polygons and combined them. With "Backface culling" on I get about 12-13 Fps compared to 5-6 Fps with the nurbs objects. Quite a difference. :)

/Jonas
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se

sgtprobe
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD/new picture

Unread postby sgtprobe » Mon Mar 16, 2009 3:33 pm

Added a new picture to the top subject. The mobilephone photo was just horrible of my Fuel. This one shows all my Sgi's too.. The more the merrier, right :lol:

/Jonas
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se

User avatar
geezer
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 7:44 am
Location: Barker, NY
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD/new picture

Unread postby geezer » Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:16 pm

Nice pic. When you boil it all down, SGI sure makes a beautiful box. :)

I hope they can hang on this year, its going to be a tough one for them.
:O3000: :O2000R: :Onyx: :O2000: :Indigo: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :1600SW: :1600SW:
Shoot the wall, leave the birds alone.

sgtprobe
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD/new picture

Unread postby sgtprobe » Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:32 pm

geezer wrote:Nice pic. When you boil it all down, SGI sure makes a beautiful box. :)

I hope they can hang on this year, its going to be a tough one for them.


Thanks geezer. :) Yeah, sometimes I can just stare at them for ages, just for their beauty and remember the days when a collection like this was only a boy's dream. I really hope that Sgi is going to survive, would hate to see them going down the drain and taking a great era with 'em.

Hmmm, looking at the picture, doesn't it look like the Cube logo on the O2 and the VW320 is at the same height? Wonder if the cube logo on the Octane 1 is at the same height aswell?

/Jonas
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD/new picture

Unread postby japes » Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:50 pm

sgtprobe wrote:Hmmm, looking at the picture, doesn't it look like the Cube logo on the O2 and the VW320 is at the same height? Wonder if the cube logo on the Octane 1 is at the same height aswell?


Octane logo is at the bottom of the front cover. Quick google comes up with: http://hardware.majix.org/computers/sgi ... tane.shtml
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

sgtprobe
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD/new picture

Unread postby sgtprobe » Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:59 pm

Yeah, damn.. Thought that there was some smart design element into this. :) Ah well..

But then I looked at the Octane2 and the Fuel's big SGI logo, and it seems they too are at the same height. hehe
I'm not at home this week, otherwise it would be simple to check it out, but it sure does looks like it from the photo. :D


/Jonas
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Fuel 600MHz, 2GB RAM, V12, 2x73GB HDD/new picture

Unread postby mapesdhs » Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:04 pm

That's such a nice picture! Very cool! 8)

Ian.


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests