Operation "Octane" completed succesfully :)

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
Clico Fantastico
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 12:05 pm
Location: Poland

Operation "Octane" completed succesfully :)

Unread postby Clico Fantastico » Mon Dec 08, 2003 3:52 pm

Hi !

A week ago my long awaited Octane finally arrived. And now, there is one more happy SGI user in the universe :D

Here is hinv:

1 250 MHZ IP30 Processor
CPU: MIPS R10000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.4
FPU: MIPS R10010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 0.0
Main memory size: 512 Mbytes
Xbow ASIC: Revision 1.3
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 1 Mbyte
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B (rev. 2), single ended
IOC3 serial port: tty1
IOC3 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: ESSI
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, pci 2
Iris Audio Processor: version RAD revision 12.0, number 1

It has 4 GB disk with IRIX 6.5.14m installed.

Not bad, isn't it :).

I bought it on eBay for $100 + $100 shipping to NYC + free shipping to Poland = $200 total.
I think it's a very good price for such a system, but i'll have to spend 5 times more for upgrades (ah sweet TRAMS ;) ), anyway :) .

It works perfectly with SUN GDM20E20 monitor. I mention it here, because some time ago I asked on irc #nekochan and some people told me that Sun monitors don't work with SGIs at all, or at least require some modifications to work. However, I found on google that GDM20E20 works ok.
Now I can confirm it. Yes Sun GDM20E20 works with SGIs just out of the box and it's great monitor in every aspect.

I already did a small upgrade - replaced burnt out light bulbs with LED and the lightbar is working great :), but now there is a time for bigger upgrade - I definitely need more disk space and here comes my first question:

- IBM DRHS36D 36GB
- Seagate ST118202LC 18GB

Do these disks work ok with Octanes ? I know they ought to, but I want to make sure, to avoid any unnecessary trouble.

Next thing: powersupply handle was broken during shipping and I'm not sure if it is possible / safe to pull out the powersupply without that handle. I think it shouldn't be a problem but I want to make sure before I screw up my Octane :P
I think I'll have to dismantle the computer to clean it inside. For now, I only removed the dust from air vents and other outside parts. And there was lot of dust so I think the same is inside.

I'm new to IRIX, but not to the unix world. I've been using various unix flavors for 5+ years. Mainly linux, BSD ans Solaris. As soon as I get bigger disk and some stuff installed (gcc, maybe mipspro) I'm gonna help you with porting software to irix and building more tardists.

:)

User avatar
Hakimoto
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2677
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 4:29 am
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Unread postby Hakimoto » Mon Dec 08, 2003 5:55 pm

Ey! Witam! Jeszcze jeden Polak na Nekochan! Hehe
The Bandito wrote:In a few years, no doubt, you'll be able to buy a computer,
software and operating system that will match the capabilities
of your current Amiga at about the price you paid for the
Amiga way back when. But you can smile to yourself, knowing
that you were touching the future years before the rest of
the world. And that other computers and operating systems
will do with brute force what the Amiga did years before with
grace, elegance and style.


Eroteme.ch - my end of the internet...

Clico Fantastico
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 12:05 pm
Location: Poland

Unread postby Clico Fantastico » Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:55 am

Hakimoto wrote:Ey! Witam! Jeszcze jeden Polak na Nekochan! Hehe


Zawsze milo spotkac bratnia dusze :)
A czy oprocz ciebie i mnie sa tu jeszcze jacys ?

User avatar
Hakimoto
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2677
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 4:29 am
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands, Europe
Contact:

Unread postby Hakimoto » Tue Dec 09, 2003 3:56 am

Nie wiem, a mysle ze nie.

(Everyone: Excuse that, I just felt I needed to welcome the only second Polish speaker here properly... ;-) )
The Bandito wrote:In a few years, no doubt, you'll be able to buy a computer,
software and operating system that will match the capabilities
of your current Amiga at about the price you paid for the
Amiga way back when. But you can smile to yourself, knowing
that you were touching the future years before the rest of
the world. And that other computers and operating systems
will do with brute force what the Amiga did years before with
grace, elegance and style.


Eroteme.ch - my end of the internet...


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest