Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 7:13 am
Posts: 38
dkedrowitsch wrote:
It looks like others have got this to compile, but not me.

Failing to resolve "dirname".

I've added -lgen to the linker env variable and configure picked it up and added it to the makefiles. Doesn't help.


I'm having the same problem, what file and where abouts do I add -lgen to the linker env variable please? (I don't know what it looks like, I'm not much of a programmer so please be gentle!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 7:31 am
Posts: 270
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Just to revive this old beast...

I have been getting DOSBOX 0.65 building. With the help of this thread I have got it built and here is my findings.

Keymap doesnt work without having the following set in your dosbox.conf file (must be in same dir as the dosbox binary) :
Code:
[sdl]
usescancodes=false

From what I can tell there are some issues with the command line parsing. Here is the really weird bit, if I put a printf("moo\n"); in the " class MOUNT : public Program " section it actually runs all the commands (INTRO / MOUNT / etc). Without the printf() it just prints a blank line and returns to the 'dos' prompt.

Putting that randomness aside for the moment from what I can tell it doesn't seem to thing there is anything else after the first command. For example if I put in 'mount c /dosbox' it will show the mounted drives (the same as if you just type 'mount' on its own).

I am going to run it through cvd and see what I can work out. This was build using MIPSpro Compilers: Version 7.4.3m


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 2:35 am
Posts: 2076
Location: Vienna, Austria
Mare wrote:
Code:
[sdl]usescancodes=false

From what I can tell there are some issues with the command line parsing. Here is the really weird bit, if I put a printf("moo\n"); in the " class MOUNT : public Program " section it actually runs all the commands (INTRO / MOUNT / etc). Without the printf() it just prints a blank line and returns to the 'dos' prompt.

Hmmm - when I'd described my difficulty farther up, I'd indeed that line in my dosbox.conf. So, that doesn't seem to solve the problem by itself. However, I'll try your other suggestion - on the weekend, I'm going to put that weird printf in and recompile - curious if it'll work then...

_________________
"Sometimes we sit and think, but sometimes we just sit"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 11:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 10:38 am
Posts: 739
Location: avignon ,provence, france
i have this error with dosbox...

Quote:
Exit to error: Can't init SDL SDL not built with joystick support


any idea ?

Laurent

_________________
SGI or die !!!
:O2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :PI: :Crimson: :PWRSeries: :Onyx: :O2000R:
HP proliant DL 585 Quad Opteron dual core 2.5Ghz 16Gb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 1:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 7:31 am
Posts: 270
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Quote:
Exit to error: Can't init SDL SDL not built with joystick support


Try uncommenting //#define DISABLE_JOYSTICK in src/gui/sdlmain.cpp:46, I would have thought there would have been a configure arg for disabling that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 2:35 am
Posts: 2076
Location: Vienna, Austria
Mare wrote:
Here is the really weird bit, if I put a printf("moo\n"); in the " class MOUNT : public Program " section it actually runs all the commands (INTRO / MOUNT / etc). Without the printf() it just prints a blank line and returns to the 'dos' prompt.


Code:
class MOUNT : public Program {
public:
void Run(void)
{
printf("moo\n");
<etc>
}


[in src/dos/dos_programs.cpp]. I build 0.65 with MipsPro 7.4.4m. However, INTRO/MOUNT still print only a blank line, and mounting a directory still doesn't work. But maybe I inserted the suggested printf at the wrong position. Any hint there?

_________________
"Sometimes we sit and think, but sometimes we just sit"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 5:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 7:31 am
Posts: 270
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Ok, this is getting really freaky now. I put some debugging printf's in some other places to track some more things but that stopped it 'running' the commands, now that I have taken them back out I can't get them to work again. To be honest I have no idea whats going on now.

I'll keep fiddling though, maybe its some kind of weird optimisation 'bug' causing it to not work.

I wish I had kept that binary that at least ran the commands :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 2:35 am
Posts: 2076
Location: Vienna, Austria
Mare wrote:
From what I can tell there are some issues with the command line parsing. Here is the really weird bit, if I put a printf("moo\n"); in the " class MOUNT : public Program " section it actually runs all the commands (INTRO / MOUNT / etc). Without the printf() it just prints a blank line and returns to the 'dos' prompt.

OK, I also made some progress. As I mentioned above, putting your printf directly into the MOUNT class didn't help me any [my version of dos_programs.cpp is 1.56]. However, when I put said printf into the MOUNT_ProgramStart function, then I can indeed run INTRO, although I can't run INTRO MOUNT properly - I only get instructions for mounting CDROM/info on special keys...Anyway, you might be right in assuming command line parsing is the crucial issue here...

BTW, there definitely seems to be an issue with the MOUNT class. Check its parentheses structure...

_________________
"Sometimes we sit and think, but sometimes we just sit"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 2:35 am
Posts: 2076
Location: Vienna, Austria
By now, surely everyone on here has succeeded to compile dosbox with MipsPro (I compiled dosbox 0.65 under Irix 6.5.29 with MipsPro 7.4.4m). However, I still can't mount any directory at all.

While above I was inclined to follow mare's suspicion that the problem has something to do with command line parsing, after some fiddling with printfs, I now believe the issue is in this part of the 'Execute' function from src/shell/shell_misc.cpp [mine is version 1.43]:

Code:
  413    else
  414    {   /* only .bat .exe .com extensions maybe be executed by the shell */
  415       if(strcasecmp(extension, ".com") !=0)
  416       {
  417          if(strcasecmp(extension, ".exe") !=0) return false;
  418         }
  419       /* Run the .exe or .com file from the shell */
  420       /* Allocate some stack space for tables in physical memory */
  421       reg_sp-=0x200;
  422       //Add Parameter block
  423       DOS_ParamBlock block(SegPhys(ss)+reg_sp);
  424       block.Clear();
  425       //Add a filename
  426       RealPt file_name=RealMakeSeg(ss,reg_sp+0x20);
  427       MEM_BlockWrite(Real2Phys(file_name),fullname,strlen(fullname)+1);
  428       /* Fill the command line */
  429       CommandTail cmd;
  430       if (strlen(line)>126) line[126]=0;
  431       cmd.count=strlen(line);
  432       memcpy(cmd.buffer,line,strlen(line));
  433       cmd.buffer[strlen(line)]=0xd;
  434       /* Copy command line in stack block too */
  435       MEM_BlockWrite(SegPhys(ss)+reg_sp+0x100,&cmd,128);
  436       /* Parse FCB (first two parameters) and put them into the current DOS_PSP */
  437       Bit8u add;
  438       FCB_Parsename(dos.psp(),0x5C,0x00,cmd.buffer,&add);
  439       FCB_Parsename(dos.psp(),0x6C,0x00,&cmd.buffer[add],&add);
  440       block.exec.fcb1=RealMake(dos.psp(),0x5C);
  441       block.exec.fcb2=RealMake(dos.psp(),0x6C);
  442       /* Set the command line in the block and save it */
  443       block.exec.cmdtail=RealMakeSeg(ss,reg_sp+0x100);
  444       block.SaveData();
  445 #if 0
  446       /* Save CS:IP to some point where i can return them from */
  447       Bit32u oldeip=reg_eip;
  448       Bit16u oldcs=SegValue(cs);
  449       RealPt newcsip=CALLBACK_RealPointer(call_shellstop);
  450       SegSet16(cs,RealSeg(newcsip));
  451       reg_ip=RealOff(newcsip);
  452 #endif
  453       /* Start up a dos execute interrupt */
  454       reg_ax=0x4b00;
  455       //Filename pointer
  456       SegSet16(ds,SegValue(ss));
  457       reg_dx=RealOff(file_name);
  458       //Paramblock
  459       SegSet16(es,SegValue(ss));
  460       reg_bx=reg_sp;
  461       SETFLAGBIT(IF,false);
  462       CALLBACK_RunRealInt(0x21);
  463       /* Restore CS:IP and the stack */
  464       reg_sp+=0x200;
  465 #if 0
  466       reg_eip=oldeip;
  467       SegSet16(cs,oldcs);
  468 #endif
  469    }
  470    return true; //Executable started
  471 }
  472


Since joerg got dosbox to mount when compiled with gcc, I wonder what could be different there when compiled with MipsPro...

_________________
"Sometimes we sit and think, but sometimes we just sit"


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:25 am
Posts: 1
For all you SGI supercomputer owners out there here is a MIPS4 binary of latest DOSBox 0.71. It was compiled using GCC since I feared to run into major difficulties when using MIPSpro.

SDL and all needed libraries that are not part of a basic IRIX 6.5 installation are linked-in static. Also note that this build was done on a post-6.5.18 system and thus probably wont run on older IRIX installations (please give me some feedback if it is working).

If you want to compile the software on your own then take care when compiling SDL (I used 1.2.12): the configure script wont include CD-ROM support on IRIX (dummy cdrom support that is). You have to edit SDL_config.h by hand and add it. Another issue is regarding lround() on IRIX. You have to add these lines after the #includes in src/dos/cdrom_image.cpp:
Code:
#if defined(_sgi_)
long int lround(double x);
#endif

Download it here: http://www.enosnusnu.de/uploads/div/dosbox/DOSBox-0.71_MIPS-4_IRIX65.tar.gz

I went to http://www.alex-soft.net/download/ with some abandonwares on it and downloaded Frogger and Green-Saucer to check them with DOSBox. The O2 machine I was running it on has a video board installed and so it is possible to record an area of the screen with little CPU load. The file is then saved as Quicktime (Motion) JPEG-A.

http://www.enosnusnu.de/uploads/div/dosbox/BLOOD_in_DOSBox_on_IRIX.mov
http://www.enosnusnu.de/uploads/div/dosbox/FROGGER_in_DOSBox_on_IRIX.mov


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 2:35 am
Posts: 2076
Location: Vienna, Austria
Installed your binary. Was able to mount my dirs properly. However, trying to run some of my favorites - "The incredible machine" & Infocom's "Journey" - only gave me a "Bus error(coredump)"...

_________________
"Sometimes we sit and think, but sometimes we just sit"


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 4:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 2:35 am
Posts: 2076
Location: Vienna, Austria
Oskar45 wrote:
Installed your binary. Was able to mount my dirs properly. However, trying to run some of my favorites - "The incredible machine" & Infocom's "Journey" - only gave me a "Bus error(coredump)"...

I downloaded Frogger and it seems to run. So, your binary probably has serious problems with certain graphics...

_________________
"Sometimes we sit and think, but sometimes we just sit"


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 6:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:12 pm
Posts: 2778
Location: Kentucky, USA
I fist tried the file joerg provided on the first page of this post but after installing the necessary dependencies it would appear to me that the version of flac in nekoware is too new. Or maybe I screwed up something else :D or don't really know what's going on.

Code:
Chaos 30% ./dosbox
 1576:./dosbox: rld: Fatal Error: Cannot Successfully map soname 'libFLAC.so.5' under any of the filenames /usr/nekoware/lib/libFLAC.so.5:/usr/lib32/libFLAC.so.5:/usr/lib32/internal/libFLAC.so.5:/lib32/libFLAC.so.5:\
/opt/lib32/libFLAC.so.5:/usr/nekoware/lib/libFLAC.so.5.5:/usr/lib32/libFLAC.so.5.5:/usr/lib32/internal/libFLAC\
.so.5.5:/lib32/libFLAC.so.5.5:/opt/lib32/libFLAC.so.5.5:

Code:
Chaos 3% pwd
/usr/nekoware/lib
Chaos 4% ls libFLAC*
libFLAC++.a       libFLAC++.so.7    libFLAC.la        libFLAC.so.9.0
libFLAC++.la      libFLAC++.so.7.0  libFLAC.so
libFLAC++.so      libFLAC.a         libFLAC.so.9





I also tried ElChupanibre's binary but it seems that my graphics is not setup correctly.
with frame buffer depth of 16:
Code:
Chaos 37% ./dosbox
CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file dosbox.conf
MIDI:Opened device:none
SDL:OPENGL:No support for texturesize of 1024, falling back to surface
X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  129 (MIT-SHM)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  3 (X_ShmPutImage)
  Serial number of failed request:  499
  Current serial number in output stream:  500

tried changing the framebuffer depth but obviously that didn't fix the problem (OT: fixed my flicker problem that came up when I switched to an LCD though ;) )
with frame buffer depth of 8:
Code:
Chaos 4% ./dosbox
CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file dosbox.conf
MIDI:Opened device:none
SDL:OPENGL:No support for texturesize of 1024, falling back to surface
X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  129 (MIT-SHM)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  3 (X_ShmPutImage)
  Serial number of failed request:  494
  Current serial number in output stream:  495


This is my octane with irix 6.5.29 and a v6 graphic card.

In the meantime, I will continue to use freedos in bochs.

_________________
Image (Xavi: 8x3.0ghz) Image (Messi: 2x1.4ghz)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group