Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Setting up O2 webcam
Unread postPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 12:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 10:21 pm
Posts: 131
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Does anyboy know how to get the default script to work for sgi-camera. I click on the snap script and it doesn't seem to work at all. Do i need to edit the script or am i missing a setting somewher to make it work. -thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 1:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 9:55 am
Posts: 285
Location: Dallas, TX USA
You might want to contact lisp. I think she runs her website and webcam from a Sgi box. Look her up in the "Memberlist".

I just checked and her website is up but the webcam is down at this moment. It's been up most of the time recently.

James


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2004 3:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:31 pm
Posts: 603
Location: Maryland
You need to edit /var/www/cgi-bin/sgi-camera/snap and just comment the disable line and uncomment the enable line. Thats all you should have to do.

_________________
WolfLord - :4D70G: :Octane2:

"Two Minus Three Equals Negative Fun" - Troy McClure


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 3:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 2:31 am
Posts: 7987
Location: Pleasanton, California
I haven't been able to get this working either - even after commenting out the camera="DISABLED" and uncommenting camera="ENABLED". All I ever get is the "Please Stand By" image.

I never had a problem using the Galileo/IndyCam on my old Indigo, which uses the same script. A couple years ago I had the live IndyCam output on the front page of nekochan.net; you could view the current weather conditions outside my window.

Not sure if this is an O2 issue or if an IRIX upgrade killed it along the way.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 4:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:31 pm
Posts: 603
Location: Maryland
I'll have to retry it on my O2 when I get the chance..has it was working last time I tried. If anything it could be related to the use of fw_apache or something and the script being read from someplace else. Not sure, but it's something to consider.

_________________
WolfLord - :4D70G: :Octane2:

"Two Minus Three Equals Negative Fun" - Troy McClure


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 4:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 2:31 am
Posts: 7987
Location: Pleasanton, California
Could be, but I haven't changed where the website lives from machine to machine, nor have I used anything but fw_apache :)

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 5:47 pm
Posts: 29
i tried setting it up on my o2 with the old netscape server + fw_apache...i think the problem is that SGI changed some of the perms on the video interface so that only the user who is logged in has access...when i ran apache as me it worked....but when running as "nobody" it didnt.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 8:54 am
Posts: 291
I just tried wolflord's tip on my freshly installed 02 6.5.27 and now the O2cam snaps a picture and beatly displays it in a webbrowser.

Finally, I can now log-in from work and watch the dust settle in my living room (naturally through a VPN-tunnel for security)...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Video permission issue?
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:14 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Ohio
The O2 web server webcam function quit working when I installed 6.5.22f to run nekochan software. It did work with 6.5.13 previous to the upgrade.

The camera is enabled in the 'snap' script, but it dosen't generate a picture, just the camera-off test pattern appears.

I patched the 'snap' script to route various command results to a file instead of /dev/null as it ran, and I see the following when it tries to run vidtomem: /usr/sbin/vidtomem: couldn't open video

vidtomem is globally executable (755), and runs when called manually by root when logged in, but su to any other user seems to give the same 'couldn't open video' error, so the comment by SenDep7 that only the logged-in user works seems valid.

Is there any fix or workaround?

_________________
=^_^= Tigerwolf


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 2:31 am
Posts: 7987
Location: Pleasanton, California
Tigerwolf wrote:
Is there any fix or workaround?


Not that I ever found, no.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 11:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:14 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Ohio
nekonoko wrote:

Not that I ever found, no.


That bites. I'd really like to get the webcam going again. :/

_________________
=^_^= Tigerwolf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 6:18 am
Posts: 438
I re-wrote the webcam script myself after getting the irix one to work was too much bother.

I've hacked this script to make time lapse movies but you can edit it as you wish.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
seq -f "file-%08g.rgb" 0 7100 | while read filename
do
vidtomem -f $filename 2> /dev/null
#imgcopy -f JFIF $filename jpegs/$filename 2> /dev/null
#rm -f $filename
sleep 90
done


You could be a real botch artist and have a web page that includes an image /var/www/images/webcam.jpg

put this in crontab


Code:
vidtomem -f /tmp/snap.rgb
rm -f /var/www/images/webcam.jpg
imgcopy -f JFIF /tmp/snap.rgb /var/www/images/webcam.jpg
rm -f /tmp/snap.rgb


easy as that. You could do something a little neater but that would work :)
If you want more help let me know.

_________________
############################
Re-install with OpenBSD :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group