Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 9:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 7:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 1:04 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Hollywood, CA
Even though I'm under 6.5.28, the LTO3 isn't really rolled into the operating system. I hammered away at the /var/sysgen/master.d/scsi file, and rebuilt the kernel several times, but the drive hangs when I try to read it back. I've tried a couple of different setups, each time getting the same result.

This appeared to write out 380GB fine, but I wasn't able to get it to read back at all:
Code:
        /* Quantum LTO3 / Ultrium 3 */
         { DATTAPE, TPDAT, 8, 7, "CERTANCE", "ULTRIUM 3", 0, 0, {0},
           MTCAN_BSF|MTCAN_BSR|MTCAN_APPEND|MTCAN_SETMK|MTCAN_PART|MTCAN_PREV|
             MTCAN_SYNC|MTCAN_SPEOD|MTCAN_CHKRDY|MTCAN_VAR|MTCAN_SETSZ|
             MTCAN_SILI|MTCAN_AUDIO|MTCAN_SEEK|MTCAN_CHTYPEANY|MTCAN_COMPRESS,
           40, 5*60, 20*60, 20*60, 3*3600, 512, 512*512,
           tpsc_default_dens_count, tpsc_default_hwg_dens_names,
             tpsc_default_alias_dens_names,
           {0}, 0, 0, 0,
           0, (u_char *)0 },

Code:
tape@fortune8:~/SCRIPTS[6]> hinv | grep -i tape
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 2: DLT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 3: DLT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 6: DAT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 7: DLT
tape@fortune8:~/SCRIPTS[7]> mt -t /dev/rmt/tps6d6 stat
        Controller: SCSI
        Device: CERTANCE: ULTRIUM 3       17703106
        Status: 0x20242
        Drive type: DAT
        Media : READY, writable, at BOT
tape@fortune8:~/SCRIPTS[8]>


unit hangs with a device error - required power cycle to wake up.

---

a little closer. This one ran better, but hung after reading back about a thousand frames (12GB):
Code:
          /* Quantum LTO3 / Ultrium 3 */
           {DATTAPE, TPDAT, 8, 7, "CERTANCE", "ULTRIUM 3", 0, 0, {0},
             MTCAN_BSF | MTCAN_BSR | MTCAN_APPEND | MTCAN_SETMK |
              MTCAN_PREV | MTCAN_SYNC | MTCAN_SPEOD | MTCAN_CHKRDY |
              MTCAN_VAR | MTCAN_SETSZ | MTCAN_SILI | MTCAN_SEEK |
              MTCAN_COMPRESS,
             40, 5*60, 10*60, 10*60, 3*3600, 512, 256*512,
             tpsc_default_dens_count, tpsc_default_hwg_dens_names,
             tpsc_default_alias_dens_names,
            {0}, 0, 0, 0,
            0, (u_char*) 0},


Code:
tape@fortune8:~[1]> mt -t /dev/rmt/tps6d6 stat
        Controller: SCSI
        Device: CERTANCE: ULTRIUM 3       17703106
        Status: 0x20262
        Drive type: DAT
        Media : READY, writable, at BOT
tape@fortune8:~[2]> hinv | grep -i tape
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 2: DLT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 3: DLT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 6: DAT
  Tape drive: unit 6 on SCSI controller 7: DLT
tape@fortune8:~[3]

_________________
------------------------------------------------
I saw it on TV, it must be real!
------------------------------------------------


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 11:45 am
Posts: 256
Location: Belgium
Hello,

You are loosing your time.
You must pay the APD licences for LTO.

Everything past the dlt is now used via a special daemon.

@+

LoWeN

_________________
UX powered


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 7:57 am
Posts: 2223
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
The APD license cost $$$$.

regards
Joerg

_________________
http://www.irixworld.net
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 1:04 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Hollywood, CA
I broke down and contacted SGI about APD for this drive. Their response follows:
--------------------------------------------------------------
Hi,
I can confirm to you that there's no support for quantum LTO 3 drives.
We only support IBM and HP. W e don't forsee quantum support in the
plans at this time.
Let me know if you want me to contact our sales rep. that takes care of
the tapes drives to ask him to send you a quote on a supported TP.

--------------------------------------------------------------

_________________
------------------------------------------------
I saw it on TV, it must be real!
------------------------------------------------


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 1:27 am
Posts: 504
Location: sunny ol' england!
I was always under the impression that Quantam made all the drives and the OEM's just rebadged/rehoused the mechanisms....???

_________________
:Onyx: Onyx Infinite reality, Quad R10k 195, 2gbram
:Octane2: Octane1.5 ;) R12k 400, 2gb, V6, 36gb + 18gb
:Indigo2IMP: Indigo2 R4400 250, 340mb, MaxImpact, 4mb Trams
:1600SW: 1600sw + Multilink x2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 9:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 1:04 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Hollywood, CA
The whole point of LTO is the idea that the hardware is "open". Anyone can manufacture it. DLT is Quantum, but LTO is produced by three different manufacturers (maybe Sony will produce these too since DTF has dead ended).

from the Quantum site:
As a result of the Certance acquisition, Quantum is the world’s largest volume supplier of both tape drives and tape automation. With the breadth of Quantum’s portfolio, we will be able to provide both channel and OEM partners with a single source of backup, recovery and archive solutions not available anywhere else.[/u]

_________________
------------------------------------------------
I saw it on TV, it must be real!
------------------------------------------------


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: HP 460 LTO2
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 22
Hello,

I use the HP 460 LTO2 tape drive and works perfect native on IRIX... without the APD driver package and license .... :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 7:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 1:04 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Hollywood, CA
My vendor exchanged my drive for the HP, works OK, but it's slow - see my other post at http://forums.nekochan.net/viewtopic.php?t=9663

_________________
------------------------------------------------
I saw it on TV, it must be real!
------------------------------------------------


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group