Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:12 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: XMMS won't play
Unread postPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 2:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 8:50 am
Posts: 70
Location: Reading, UK
I finaly got xmms made and installed. :D

I have a problem that when I hit play nothing seems to happen
I've tried this on .mp3 and .wav and I'm running 6.5.20f on an Octane

Could anyone sugest what is happening, do I have the device drivers set up right?

Thankyou


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 2:42 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 5:10 am
Posts: 2931
Location: Maryland, USA
Under preferences, I have eSound Output Plugin selected....I think that's all I had to do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 11:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:23 am
Posts: 274
Location: England
You need to download and build the SGI Digital Media Output plugin.

Personally, I'd rather eviscerate myself with a spoon than use esd.

_________________
--
lisa


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 11:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7956
Location: Pleasanton, California
lisp wrote:
You need to download and build the SGI Digital Media Output plugin.

Personally, I'd rather eviscerate myself with a spoon than use esd.


I agree on both counts :) SGI Freeware has two different XMMS DMO plugins; descriptions here:

http://freeware.sgi.com/Installable/xmms-IRIX-0.6b.html

and

http://freeware.sgi.com/Installable/sgial-1.0pre.html

Either one should work - or grab them both and flip between them.

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 11:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:23 am
Posts: 274
Location: England
The SGI Digital Media Output plugin has a better buffer filling strategy than the alternative.

The Audio Queue Monitor available from the Audio Control Panel highlights the differences.

_________________
--
lisa


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 4:55 pm
Posts: 64
Yeah, the Digital Media Output plugin tends to work quite well :-) Give that a try and you should be good to go...

Eri


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2003 7:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Posts: 839
Location: Port Orchard, WA
I noticed a big difference after switching to the Digital Media Output plugin upons Lisa's Recomendation as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Unread postPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 4:33 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 5:10 am
Posts: 2931
Location: Maryland, USA
Also working well for me. Thanks :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group