Origin 3200 Console Access

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
r1200gsDave
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:25 pm

Origin 3200 Console Access

Unread postby r1200gsDave » Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:11 am

I have the Origin 3200 working I think but I cannot get on the OS console. I have read the docs on the L1 controller and have worked with the commands enough to know what the do but I cannot seem figure out how to actually get access to Irix yet.

What is the magick invocation that I need to get logged in? Or even boot the beast?

r1200gsDave
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:25 pm

Re: Origin 3200 Console Access

Unread postby r1200gsDave » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:15 am

when I issue the pwr up command I get these errors. Is this stopping the system? It the front panel says it is powered up, and the fans fire up.
001c04-L1>pwr uALERT: Error initializing the PIMM0 A DS1780, no acknowledge
ALERT: Error initializing the PIMM0 B DS1780, no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A temperature monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 B temperature monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error initializing the PIMM0 A DS1780, no acknowledge
ALERT: Error initializing the PIMM0 B DS1780, no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A DS1780 power monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 A temperature monitoring: no acknowledge
ALERT: Error configuring PIMM0 B temperature monitoring: no acknowledge

001c04-L1>

mopar5150
Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: Origin 3200 Console Access

Unread postby mopar5150 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 12:04 pm

The DS1780 is an environment monitoring chip, same chip that is a nuisance in the Fuel systems. You should be able to disable this in the L1 just to get it going. I believe it is "ENV OFF" but check the docs for that system.
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:

r1200gsDave
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:25 pm

Re: Origin 3200 Console Access

Unread postby r1200gsDave » Thu Sep 21, 2017 12:26 pm

OK now I am excited! <CTRL-D> is the magick!

I entered l1 which prompted me with this:
001c04-L1>l1
L1 command processor engaged, <CTRL-D> to exit.
001c04-L1>
entering console mode 001c04 console, <CTRL_T> to escape to L1



System Maintenance Menu

1) Start System
2) Install System Software
3) Run Diagnostics
4) Recover System
5) Enter Command Monitor

Option? 1

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Origin 3200 Console Access

Unread postby recondas » Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:39 am

If your O3200 came with an L2 controller you can connect to the L2 console port and manage and issue the correct brick start-up sequence for the entire system from there. The L2 also has a ethernet port, so you could use Control D or T to access the L1/L2 or system consoles from any system on that side of your firewall that supports telnet.

The L2 is pretty much the swiss-army-knife/must-have-tool for any IP35 rack system. On the odd chance you're not already familiar with the L2, if your O3200 came with an SGI rack they are usually mounted in a track in the roof of the rack chassis.

If you don't have one John/mopar5150 might still have some available.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests