My first Octane

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
1byte
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:57 pm
Location: Lexington, Kentucky

My first Octane

Unread postby 1byte » Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:01 am

I got the one from ebay, $200 sight unseen.
My only worry is that the previous owner "confirmed there were 2 cpu's", and I'm unsure how they did this without removing the heatsink and probably damaging the carrier.

Anyhow, the only information that I know of so far is that it is

CMNB015ANF195, contains 2 drive sleds - but maybe no disks? and contains at least 192MB ram.

And it should be delivered by the 18th.
I can at least get in with a serial console, and check things out. I will need a vga adapter...


Now to go update my signature!
:Octane:
Public GPG key: 3FFC 3492 FEE7 C954 63C9 9E6B F1D0 1A90 B4CE 93BD

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby Irinikus » Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:13 am

You can tell whether it's a single or dual CPU by observing the length of the heatsink.

Note that you can't convert a machine to a dual CPU by simply plugging in another single CPU module. The machine only takes one module which is either a single or dual CPU module.

Single CPU
octane-ip30-1802.jpg


Dual CPU
s-l640.jpg
:Onyx2:Quad R14K 500MHz, IR3, DG5-8 :Tezro:Quad R16K 700MHz, 8MB, V12, DCD, DM3 :Octane2:Dual R14K 600MHz, PCI Card Cage, V12 :320:Dual 1GHz PIII
:O2:R12K 400MHz, DCD :Indigo:R4400SC 150MHz, ELAN :Indigo2:R4400SC 200MHz, Extreme :Indy:R4400SC 200MHz, XZ :Indy:R5000SC 150MHz, 24Bit XL.
SUN: JavaStation-10 (Krups), XVR-4000.
DEC: AlphaStation 255/300MHz.
Cray: Cray1: Memory Module, Cray2: Memory Module (complete stack of eight boards) and a power supply module, Cray3: ECL Module.
Apple: G3 Clamshell, G4 Sawtooth, G4 Quicksilver, G4 Mirror Doors, G5, Mac Pro 2013 (Trash can), 27 inch Cinema Display.
IBM: 486 DX-4 100MHz, 32Mb RAM, Creative Soundblaster 16-Bit, 1.44 Mb Disk drive, Creative 4X CD-ROM, 520Mb HDD.
Alienware: Aurora 7500.
Gaming Rig: Coolermaster Cosmos II, Coolermaster Ultimate 1100W Power supply, Asus Rampage III extreme, I7 980X, Corsair H100, 24Gb Corsair Dominator DDR3, EVGA GTX Titan X Super Clocked Edition, OCZ revodrive 3 x2 240gb, Velociraptor 600GB, Corsair 128GB SSD, Creative X-fi Fatality Pro.

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 603
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby Dodoid » Sat Sep 09, 2017 6:54 am

If you deal with Octanes often, you can also sometimes tell a dual CPU system by its weight. Mine is certainly heavier than the single CPU ones.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
1byte
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:57 pm
Location: Lexington, Kentucky

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby 1byte » Sat Sep 09, 2017 9:26 am

I saw a picture of the board, and it's definitely Dual 195MHz.
:Octane:
Public GPG key: 3FFC 3492 FEE7 C954 63C9 9E6B F1D0 1A90 B4CE 93BD

User avatar
Irinikus
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:25 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby Irinikus » Sat Sep 09, 2017 9:30 am

Thats great to hear! :D
:Onyx2:Quad R14K 500MHz, IR3, DG5-8 :Tezro:Quad R16K 700MHz, 8MB, V12, DCD, DM3 :Octane2:Dual R14K 600MHz, PCI Card Cage, V12 :320:Dual 1GHz PIII
:O2:R12K 400MHz, DCD :Indigo:R4400SC 150MHz, ELAN :Indigo2:R4400SC 200MHz, Extreme :Indy:R4400SC 200MHz, XZ :Indy:R5000SC 150MHz, 24Bit XL.
SUN: JavaStation-10 (Krups), XVR-4000.
DEC: AlphaStation 255/300MHz.
Cray: Cray1: Memory Module, Cray2: Memory Module (complete stack of eight boards) and a power supply module, Cray3: ECL Module.
Apple: G3 Clamshell, G4 Sawtooth, G4 Quicksilver, G4 Mirror Doors, G5, Mac Pro 2013 (Trash can), 27 inch Cinema Display.
IBM: 486 DX-4 100MHz, 32Mb RAM, Creative Soundblaster 16-Bit, 1.44 Mb Disk drive, Creative 4X CD-ROM, 520Mb HDD.
Alienware: Aurora 7500.
Gaming Rig: Coolermaster Cosmos II, Coolermaster Ultimate 1100W Power supply, Asus Rampage III extreme, I7 980X, Corsair H100, 24Gb Corsair Dominator DDR3, EVGA GTX Titan X Super Clocked Edition, OCZ revodrive 3 x2 240gb, Velociraptor 600GB, Corsair 128GB SSD, Creative X-fi Fatality Pro.

User avatar
1byte
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:57 pm
Location: Lexington, Kentucky

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby 1byte » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:29 pm

Got the Octane in today. Still looking for a monitor option - need to source adapter, will power on with serial interface soon.

No disk drives, but TWO drive sleds!. BUT I have a 4 disk SCSI Sun external drive enclosure just sitting full of barracuda drives which I might steal one.

The top screw to pull out the graphics board is STUCK and STRIPPED! That's gonna take some repair.

Something seems to have spilled, leaked, into the bottom of the housing on the logic board side. The CPU board looks dusty but pristine. Will keep you posted.
:Octane:
Public GPG key: 3FFC 3492 FEE7 C954 63C9 9E6B F1D0 1A90 B4CE 93BD

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1332
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:55 pm

1byte wrote:Got the Octane in today. Still looking for a monitor option - need to source adapter, will power on with serial interface soon.

No disk drives, but TWO drive sleds!. BUT I have a 4 disk SCSI Sun external drive enclosure just sitting full of barracuda drives which I might steal one.

The top screw to pull out the graphics board is STUCK and STRIPPED! That's gonna take some repair.

Something seems to have spilled, leaked, into the bottom of the housing on the logic board side. The CPU board looks dusty but pristine. Will keep you posted.



You can use a screw extractor to get that top screw out. The drive carriers are cheap if it's not a VPro one.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 603
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby Dodoid » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:30 am

Hmm... picture? I would consider dremeling the top and then removing it with a flathead, but you may damage the plastic "handle" around the screw.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
duck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 729
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby duck » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:49 pm

Be careful with the disk spud trays, they can be fragile. I had one shatter...
:Octane: halo, octane Image knightrider, d i g i t a l AlphaPC164, pond, soekris net6501, misc cool stuff in a rack
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.

User avatar
1byte
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:57 pm
Location: Lexington, Kentucky

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby 1byte » Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:05 pm

Dodoid wrote:Hmm... picture? I would consider dremeling the top and then removing it with a flathead, but you may damage the plastic "handle" around the screw.


I'm not sure it needs to be that drastic. Just some pliers and force is all that's really needed. I assume it is bound on the spring. I'll get it out soon!
I just moved into a new place so I don't really have a desk setup yet, but that will also happen soon!
:Octane:
Public GPG key: 3FFC 3492 FEE7 C954 63C9 9E6B F1D0 1A90 B4CE 93BD

mopar5150
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby mopar5150 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:57 am

I wouldn't pull the graphics board unless you need to. Get it tested first. I can send you a bootable drive and graphics cable cheap to get you going.

What graphics do you have?
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:

User avatar
1byte
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:57 pm
Location: Lexington, Kentucky

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby 1byte » Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:13 pm

mopar5150 wrote:I wouldn't pull the graphics board unless you need to. Get it tested first. I can send you a bootable drive and graphics cable cheap to get you going.

What graphics do you have?



Normally I would agree, and it's probably fine, but I wanted to check that pesky rust/leaked weird spot to see if it had damage on the XIO side. I have... some kind of graphics, based on look of the rear panel alone, its either SI or MXI.

I'd love a bootable drive and graphics cable! I was going to try a netboot it when I get my network setup in my new place.
:Octane:
Public GPG key: 3FFC 3492 FEE7 C954 63C9 9E6B F1D0 1A90 B4CE 93BD

mopar5150
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: My first Octane

Unread postby mopar5150 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 12:26 pm

Cool,
PM me your shipping address. :)
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :O3x0: :A350:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 2 guests