How do I fix this?! >:(

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

How do I fix this?! >:(

Unread postby praetor242 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:42 am

I'm at my wits end trying to fix the characters on my terminal when I ssh into SDF. I've tried several terminals, including urxvt for unicode support, I've tried different fonts, and I really don't want to start porting xfstt for truetype to IRIX. I just want it to look right. Can haz fix?

Image
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 76 GB HDD

User avatar
escimo
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:07 am
Location: Frankfurt/Main, Germany
Contact:

Re: How do I fix this?! >:(

Unread postby escimo » Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:48 am

Does this help?

$ stty sane
Sun Solaris 2.4 @ SPARCstation 2 and SNI PCD-4H. Migration path: NetBSD

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: How do I fix this?! >:(

Unread postby praetor242 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:11 pm

No. That didn't work. After poking around, it's because IRIX doesn't have a UTF-8 locale, so I'm working through that finding a locale that works on SDF and on IRIX
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 76 GB HDD

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands

Re: How do I fix this?! >:(

Unread postby dexter1 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:08 pm

This is similar to my tmux port attempts failing because irix doesn't have an utf8 locale included.

A shame really.
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: How do I fix this?! >:(

Unread postby praetor242 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:35 pm

Hmm. this is very vexing.
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 76 GB HDD

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: How do I fix this?! >:(

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:39 pm

dexter1 wrote:This is similar to my tmux port attempts failing because irix doesn't have an utf8 locale included.


And porting a utf-8 locale from BSD is out of the question I assume?
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: How do I fix this?! >:(

Unread postby praetor242 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:40 pm

I wonder what would be involved to port it. I don't know much about locales.
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 76 GB HDD

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: How do I fix this?! >:(

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:41 pm

I've never used it but according to the manpage luit should be able to solve this:

Code: Select all

If  you are running in a UTF-8 locale but need to access a remote machine that doesn't support UTF-8,
       luit can adapt the remote output to your terminal:

              $ LC_ALL=fr_FR luit ssh legacy-machine
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

User avatar
praetor242
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:41 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Re: How do I fix this?! >:(

Unread postby praetor242 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:52 pm

I wonder if you can run luit in reverse. SDF and #! all have en_US.UTF8 set as their default locale.
Image - trajan - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 147GB HDD
Image - hadrian - R5000 180Mhz - 128 MB RAM - 76 GB HDD

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3174
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: How do I fix this?! >:(

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:20 pm

praetor242 wrote:I wonder if you can run luit in reverse. SDF and #! all have en_US.UTF8 set as their default locale.

Oh sorry, I must have read your original post backward... :roll:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests