My latest in deep personal stupidity...

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
scottE
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Wasilla, not so close to super Indian Food
Contact:

My latest in deep personal stupidity...

Unread postby scottE » Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:09 pm

So I've managed to bork X windows on my Indy, possibly by following these instructions here, but probably not to the letter.

So when I rebooted Helicoprion, I get the usual screens on startup, and then an unhelpful black frame once it logs into the user account.

I've been … away, so it's hard to remember what I can/should do at this point. So I tried fiddling with sash from the PROM Monitor. But I can't for the life of my figure out how to copy over the edited Xservers file with my backup, made just before I fiddled with stuff.

This would be easier if I could put it on a network, but I cannot in this case. I also do not have access to anything that could function as a dumb terminal (one of the things I was actually trying to do was get the Indy to have cu installed to fulfill that function, but I was distracted before I could get that to work).

So from the stand alone shell it's not:

Code: Select all

cp /var/X11/xdm/Xservers.backup /var/X11/xdm/Xservers
or
cp dsk(0,1,0):/var/X11/xdm/Xservers.backup /var/X11/xdm/Xservers
or
cp dsk(0,1,0):/var/X11/xdm/Xservers.backup dsk(0,1,0):/var/X11/xdm/Xservers
or
cp dsk(0,1,0)|/var/X11/xdm/Xservers.backup dsk(0,1,0)|/var/X11/xdm/Xservers
or
cp /var/X11/xdm/Xservers.backup:dsk(0,1,0) /var/X11/xdm/Xservers


Or any variation thereof, and help in sash is really useless.

Anyone know how I can fix this?
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides

User avatar
Black Cardinal
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 10:40 am
Location: Albany, OR USA
Contact:

Re: My latest in deep personal stupidity...

Unread postby Black Cardinal » Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:30 pm

Even if X isn't working, you should still be able to remotely log in over the network, or use the serial console. From a regular shell prompt shut down the Xserver with /usr/gfx/stopgfx, copy the backup files into place, and then restart X with /usr/gfx/startgfx.
:Onyx2: 4x400MHz R12K Onyx2 IR3, 8GB RAM
:1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: R10K Indigo2 MaxIMPACT, 4 TRAMS, 768MB RAM, 2x9GB HD, CD-ROM, Phobos G160
Black Cardinal

User avatar
scottE
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Wasilla, not so close to super Indian Food
Contact:

Re: My latest in deep personal stupidity...

Unread postby scottE » Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:19 pm

Black Cardinal wrote:you should still be able to remotely log in over the network, or use the serial console.


Alas, neither of these are an option.
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides

User avatar
miod
Posts: 508
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:44 am
Location: Clermont-Ferrand (France)
Contact:

Re: My latest in deep personal stupidity...

Unread postby miod » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:38 pm

Why not boot single user ("stop for maintainance" on powerup, then get a prompt and enter "single"), mount your disks, and cp from the single-user shell?
:Indigo:R3000 (alas, dead) :Indigo:R4000 x4 :Indigo2:R4400 :Indigo2IMP:R4400 x2 :Indigo2:R8000 :Indigo2IMP:R10000 :Indy:R4000PC :Indy:R4000SC :Indy:R4400SC :Indy:R4600 :Indy:R5000SC :O2:R5000 x3 :O2:RM7000 :Octane:2xR10000 :Octane:R12000 :O200:2xR12000 :O200: - :O200:2x2xR10000 :Fuel:R16000 :O3x0:4xR16000 :A350:
among more than 150 machines : Apollo, Data General, Digital, HP, IBM, MIPS before SGI, Motorola, NeXT, SGI, Solbourne, Sun...

User avatar
scottE
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Wasilla, not so close to super Indian Food
Contact:

Re: My latest in deep personal stupidity...

Unread postby scottE » Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:22 am

miod wrote:Why not boot single user ("stop for maintainance" on powerup, then get a prompt and enter "single"), mount your disks, and cp from the single-user shell?


Perfect! Thank you! That solved the issue. (Though I didn't have to mount anything, just log in. And I used mv instead of cp.)

To be honest, I'd long forgotten that was even an option. But I've been trying to bring up Carcharodon, and I lack access to a terminal of any sort.
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests