What pointless thing are you doing right now?

For friendly off topic discussion not covered in a forum above.
Forum rules
No politics, please.
Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby Y888099 » Thu May 18, 2017 9:26 am

Raion-Fox wrote:A G4S at 1.5GHz ran circles around my P4 3GHz


OrangeBox, IBM PC, P4@3Ghz, 2Gb of ram

Code: Select all

2016-12-10--16-12-50---2016-12-10--19-32-20 - sandbox-build,profile#13/x86.32.le - dev-lang/gnat-gcc


LittleCube, MacMini-G4, PPC7447@1.5Ghz, 2Gb of ram

Code: Select all

2016-07-31--12-18-20---2016-07-31--15-50-11 - sandbox-build,profile#13/ppc.32.be - dev-lang/gnat-gcc


Both these machines used the same hard drive, external box. USB2.
Both with 2.6.39 linux kernel, also the userland was configured with the same profile.
They used the same version of gcc, binutils, and glibc.

So, mr.LittleCube/Hz is 2X mr.OrangeBox/Hz :D
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby johnnym » Thu May 18, 2017 9:38 am

Raion-Fox wrote:
itsvince725 wrote:I put Windows 10 on a NetBurst machine tonight.


Masochist.

I'd rather use a PIII to a Netburst machine any day simply because the latter at least consumes power in accordance with it's performance.

I happen to have one here (a ProLiant DL380 G2 w/2x 1.4 GHz Pentium III-S) and I had to install Windows XP on it to be able to run a firmware upgrade via SCSI for an older Tandberg StorageLoader. It was the only "true" i386 machine with room for a SCSI controller available to me then (and still now).

Y888099 wrote:So, mr LittleCube/Hz is 2X mr OrangeBox/Hz :D

Impressive result! I didn't knew those PPC74xx have that much juice in them.
Sorry, no comparable results available. But I could do a openssl speed -elapsed on OpenBSD 6.1 tomorrow as a start.

Regarding Netburst, there were a few later systems with Netburst CPUs (Xeon 7000 and 7100 series) that had cool features, like memory mirroring and/or memory hot-plug. I think of the ProLiant DL580 G3 and G4, later systems (like the G5) no longer supported memory hot-plug. Sadly the mechanics of those hot-plug memory modules (each of them takes four DDR2 DIMMs) are bugged: it's sometimes terribly hard to unlock them and how cool is hot-plug if you can't get the module in question out of the machine? :roll:
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1333
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Thu May 18, 2017 11:09 am

I personally think when it comes down to it that Nehalem and up are still quite usable but below that is at best questionable in it's usability for x86, I do have a P4 era box but it has a Pentium M, so it at least consumes a reasonable amount of power.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad W530 i7 3940XM 3GHz, 32GB, K1000M Windows 8.1 Embedded rin
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby Y888099 » Thu May 18, 2017 12:05 pm

johnnym wrote:Impressive result!


Also bought a cluster of mac-mini! Two are PPC-G4, two are x86-i2. They are stacked together as tower, with glue layer between them. A lan switch on the top, with five ports 10/100/1000 auto sensing, and they all join the lan through NFS.

PPC-nodes are useful and faster when you want to test 'stages' without the need of passing through qemu-ppc.

Unfortunately there is no mac-mini/MIPS :lol:
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

User avatar
itsvince725
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:03 pm
Location: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby itsvince725 » Thu May 18, 2017 2:21 pm

Raion-Fox wrote:
itsvince725 wrote:I put Windows 10 on a NetBurst machine tonight.


Masochist.

I'd rather use a PIII to a Netburst machine any day simply because the latter at least consumes power in accordance with it's performance. A Netburst just sucks power and will sit there crunching it for longer than necessary. A G4S at 1.5GHz ran circles around my P4 3GHz especially in the media metrics (altivec probably)


To be fair, it's a 3.4GHz Presler Pentium D so it's just about the best NetBurst CPU you can possibly find. And with 4GB of RAM it's surprisingly quick!
:Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby johnnym » Fri May 19, 2017 11:11 am

(Re)built current Debian 8 and Debian 9 Linux kernels for MIPS based Cobalt machines using my xw9400, two changed root environments and QEMU user mode emulation. Both work well with my first Qube 2 (not tested with RaQs yet, but I assume they will also work there).
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby Trippynet » Sun Jun 04, 2017 9:51 am

I've finally set up my man-cave again after moving house last Monday. It's quite a faf when you have 16 things to plug in around your desk, including 4 systems (5 if you count my work's laptop dock), 3 monitors, 2 KVMs, a sound system, a wireless range extender, a gigabit switch, a NAS, etc. etc - all whilst keeping the wife happy about the tidy and hidden routing of cables etc.

Still, it does mean my Indigo2 and Fuel are back out of the garage and are set up and working again, so that's good!
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby uunix » Sun Jun 04, 2017 9:52 am

Trippynet wrote:I've finally set up my man-cave again after moving house last Monday. It's quite a faf when you have 16 things to plug in around your desk, including 4 systems (5 if you count my work's laptop dock), 3 monitors, 2 KVMs, a sound system, a wireless range extender, a gigabit switch, a NAS, etc. etc - all whilst keeping the wife happy about the tidy and hidden routing of cables etc.

Still, it does mean my Indigo2 and Fuel are back out of the garage and are set up and working again, so that's good!

I bet it was enjoyable though. ;) and now you feel productive.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1796
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby uunix » Sun Jun 04, 2017 9:57 am

My wife has suggested she goes and takes the kids down to Devon in the next month or so and spend a few days with her parents (who are holidaying down there). Leaving me alone with the dogs.

I have two/three days to re-do my office.. it's like the film Hall Pass without the sex..
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Trippynet
Donor
Donor
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:22 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby Trippynet » Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:07 am

Felt very productive! My old room was a bit of a mess as more and more things had been added over time. Always nice to have a clean slate, spend a good few hours setting everything up, have it all working properly at the end, and a happy wife who still sees a tidy room :)
Systems in use:
:Indigo2IMP: - Nitrogen: R10000 195MHz CPU, 384MB RAM, SolidIMPACT Graphics, 36GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 100Mb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.22
:Fuel: - Lithium: R14000 600MHz CPU, 4GB RAM, V10 Graphics, 72GB 15k HDD & 300GB 10k HDD, 1Gb/s NIC, New/quiet fans, IRIX 6.5.30
Other system in storage: :O2: R5000 200MHz, 224MB RAM, 72GB 15k HDD, PSU fan mod, IRIX 6.5.30

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3429
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby guardian452 » Sun Jun 04, 2017 3:53 pm

Cutting my hair. And wife's hair (on her request). Now we both have shaved heads :)
Attachments
IMG_0062.PNG

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby Shiunbird » Mon Jun 05, 2017 12:21 am

guardian452 wrote:Cutting my hair. And wife's hair (on her request). Now we both have shaved heads :)


I spoke of doing this with every single partner I've had.
Maybe I'll manage to go for it this time, thanks for the inspiration!
ImageImage

Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby Y888099 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 3:41 pm

I'm still fighting with EagleCad, trying to design the footprint of a molex-connector for a slimfilm keyboard

I have already soldered the original connector, and measured it, so the component library is 90% ready, but I still have no idea of the part number, and it seems there are too many unused pins, which is odd.

It's a 15x18 matrix, on two connectors with a pitch of 1mm, why the connecotor B uses just 14 of 18 pins? We have 2 pins used for the Capslk's led, 12 pins used for the Key-matrix.

Why didn't the use two connectors of 15 pins each?

Does it make sense? I have already reversed the keyboard map, it seems all the keys are present, including meta keys (arrows, shift, option, ctrl, enter, etc), but I have the feeling there is still something missing.

I think it will take me busy for a while :roll: :roll: :roll:
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You

User avatar
jimmer
Donor
Donor
Posts: 470
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 3:54 pm
Location: London, Ingerlund

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby jimmer » Tue Jun 06, 2017 4:09 pm

I just gave up on Warframe - the Mastery Rank Level 8 test is a parkour thing I cannot seem to pass, no matter what I try. #NotFitEnough2Play

Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: What pointless thing are you doing right now?

Unread postby Y888099 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:24 pm

I am filling a pro/con list, to decide if to buy/not a better EDA-workstation.

I've been using Protel 99 SE for years, and to me, there isn't a big difference between Protel 99 and Altium R14, besides the neaely added features from DXP2004, but If one like me doesn't do high speed design (usb2-3, epci, etc) , and just need a CAD tool (without EDA-like smartness), then 99SE should suffice, though it may have a hard time running on newer computers.

I know it runs on WinXP, never tried Win10, I know it crashes on Win7. That's bug life.

Btw, I have recently found a second-hands workstation with OrCAD v10 (full license, full features) installed. Asking to Virtuoso users (like my colleague), he said that if Cadence releases something, it will work, though you need to know exactly how it works before using it as Cadence is not designing tools for beginners.

So, what next? If I will put the money (1.5K euro/IBM Xeon Machine/1 host-seat license) into the new purchase, I would expect OrCAD to be best tool for veterans, and hell for beginners, but I won't exclude it will also be a bloody hell for people with rusty knowledge.

Hard decision :D
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You


Return to “Everything Else”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest