What Apple hardware do we have?

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
skywriter
Posts: 3292
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:22 am
Location: Trump-proof bunker
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby skywriter » Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:42 pm

It's not hooked up yet, so yeah..... Typo.

Just checked vendor site - XEON. Usedmac.com usually get great machines in excellent shape.
:Skywriter:

DECUS Member 368596

User avatar
archaic
Posts: 354
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby archaic » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:33 pm

I am late on this, but I've not been about for awhile. Here is what I can remember off the top of my head. I'll fill in more specs later.

PowerBook 15" G4 Ti 1.5GHz, 2GB, 240GB SSD
2010 17" MacBook Pro, 8GB, 512GB SSD - (Serato DJ Laptop)
2014 15.4" MacBook Pro,16GB, 1TB SSD (Work Laptop)
G4 Cube with White Powerlogix Case, 1.4GHz 2MB 7455, FX6200, Upgraded VRM, 1.5GB, 128GB SSD, 23" Acrylic Cinema Display with ADC to DVI Adapter
2008 Mac Pro 8 x 2.8GHz, 64GB, 512GB SSD, 6TB RAID 10, 23" Al Cinema Display
2010 Mac Pro 12 x 3.33GHz, 96GB, 512GB SSD, 2TB RAID 1, 2 x 30" Al Cinema Displays (Pro Tools 12 Box)
MDD G4 2 x 1.42GHz, 2GB, 512GB SSD, 2TB SATA
2 x 2011 Mac Mini Server, 2:0GHz i7, 16GB, 512GB SSD, 1TB HD

I am not going to get into iPads and Phones ATM because it's too late...

I think that is all the Mac stuff that I have at the moment. I used to have a bunch more classic machines, but alas, the 20' box truck took those along with a bunch of maxed out Sun workstations and SGI, IBM, and HP big iron when I had to move out of my old house. :(
Patrick

- You have got to be kidding... -

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:51 pm

What does the Cube in the PowerLogix case look like?
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
archaic
Posts: 354
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby archaic » Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:14 am

ClassicHasClass wrote:What does the Cube in the PowerLogix case look like?



I' ll take a picture this evening. I need to snap a pic of the presenter 1280 anyway.
Patrick

- You have got to be kidding... -

User avatar
archaic
Posts: 354
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby archaic » Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:26 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:What does the Cube in the PowerLogix case look like?



Here is a couple of quick pictures.

735C0AFC-EBAC-47AB-9DF6-359AAE8B57C3.jpg

ECFA9984-7DA5-47A6-845C-354BAF73E2B7.jpg
Patrick

- You have got to be kidding... -

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Wed Oct 05, 2016 8:37 am

Interesting! But it kind of ruins the Cube's cuteness. :(
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
archaic
Posts: 354
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:28 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby archaic » Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:15 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:Interesting! But it kind of ruins the Cube's cuteness. :(



I wanted the clear one, but I waited too long and they sold out. I still have the original cube case with box and speakers, but I like the extra room this case affords the components.
Patrick

- You have got to be kidding... -

User avatar
Dodoid
Posts: 643
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 1:36 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby Dodoid » Thu Oct 20, 2016 7:38 am

I use an Android phone and most of my machines are PCs, but I have a bit of old apple stuff.

PowerBook 145b
PowerBook G4 Aluminium
iMac G3
iMac G4
PowerMac 7300/200

I also have my main PC, which is a hackintosh, and up until recently I owned a 2015 13" MacBook Pro. I ended up selling it because I found the screen to be too small for Final Cut Pro X (the reason I use macOS to begin with) and because new ones are coming soon, so I will get a 15" once they come out.
:Onyx: :O2000: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:
and a small army of Image

User avatar
itsvince725
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:03 pm
Location: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby itsvince725 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:06 pm

My main machine is a DIY AMD-powered machine, but I have a handful of old Macs...

Performa 630CD
Blue & White G3
PowerBook 180
SE/30
G5 (2.3 Dual Processor)
:Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
scottE
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Wasilla, not so close to super Indian Food
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby scottE » Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:22 am

It's been a while since I was last active. But maybe I can do this!

In service:
Tully Monster: Macbook Pro 15" Retina
microceratops: Mac Mini Server (El Capitan, lots of drives, no optical)
Trilobite: G4 Mac Mini (rare use)
katana: iPhone 5S
odachi: iPad 3
Ammonite: PowerBook 1400c (rare use: 333MHz G3 upgrade, 80GB HD, 64 MB RAM)

Out of service:
PowerMacintosh G3 (beige, nonworking—missing the motherboard's battery)
Mac Classic (alas, the floppy drive has failed)
Apple IIGS (which I may be selling soon)
NeXT (mono slab, this counts, too, right?)

Clones:
PowerComputing tower (gutted, turned into a SCSI drives box)
PowerComputing desktop (still working, I think)
Pineapple ('70s-era Apple II clone, which I will be getting rid of soon)
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby smj » Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:19 pm

Mac Pro 2012 w/ Xeon L5640 (12 thread) & AMD 7950 is part of the main desktop
Black Macbook 2007
iPhone 6

Scattered around are also:
Powerbook G3 "Lombard"
Powerbook 800MHz Titanium
Powerbook 400Mhz Titanium, killed by 3rd party wall wart
Mac Pro 2006 w/ 2 x Xeon 5355
Mac Pro 2008 w/ 2 x 2.8GHz Xeon
Mac Cube, Sonnet 1.7GHz upgrade and clear acrylic case, flashed Radeon 9700
Mac Cube, stock 450MHz
Mac Classic II, not working
2 x Fat Macs (512k)
1 x 128k Mac
Apple ///, Monitor /// & ProFIle
some Apple IIs, //e
iPhone 2G, 4
iPod Touch x 2
iPod Nano x 2
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby johnnym » Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:36 am

Let's see...

1 x Power Macintosh G3 w/PPC750 @300 MHz
4 x Power Macintosh G4 (AGP) "barebones", PPC7400 @350 MHz/400 MHz available
2 x Power Macintosh G4 (Gigabit) w/2 x PPC7400 @450 MHz
1 x Power Macintosh G4 (QS 2002) w/2 x PPC7447A @1.33 GHz*
EDIT: 1 x Power Macintosh G4 (QS 2002) w/2 x PPC7447A @1.8 GHz*
1 x Power Macintosh G4 (MDD) w/2 x PPC7455 @867 MHz
EDIT: 1 x Mac mini G4 w/PPC7447A @1.42 GHz (finally! :mrgreen: )

1 x Xserve G4 (Slot Load) w/2x PPC7455 @1.33GHz
1 x Xserve G5 (Cluster Node) w/2x PPC970fx @ 2.0 GHz
1 x Xserve (Early 2008) w/2x Xeon E5472 @ 3.0 GHz

Sadly no Cube nor Mini until now. :(

All in all not used that often recently...

*) The upgraded CPU module of the QS 2002 looks like a PowerLogix PowerForce47 Dual[...] albeit with a golden or bronze coloured heat sink. It currently runs at the mentioned 1.33 GHz, but I don't actually know if this is the speed the module was designated for. Does anybody know how to find this out for such a CPU module if there's no seal on the DIP switches?
Last edited by johnnym on Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:59 pm, edited 3 times in total.
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sun Mar 26, 2017 9:46 am

What OS is it running? If OS 9, Sonnet Metronome can often get an accurate clock speed, or CPU Director if it supports it. If OS X, what does System Profiler think?
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
johnnym
Donor
Donor
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby johnnym » Sat Apr 08, 2017 9:23 am

ClassicHasClass wrote:What OS is it running? If OS 9, Sonnet Metronome can often get an accurate clock speed, or CPU Director if it supports it. If OS X, what does System Profiler think?

Sorry for not replying earlier, but I didn't recognize your answer until today. Looks like I didn't got a notification for your answer because I'm not subscribed to this topic and you also didn't quote me.

The System Profilers of Mac OS X 10.4.11 Server and Mac OS X 10.5.8 list "CPU Speed" as 1.33 GHz. I tried to install the PowerLogix CPU Director 2.3b6 on 10.4.11 but the PLKEXT installation or startup seems to fail - maybe because it only provides a KEXT for 10.4.9 and lower. But trying to install it on Mac OS X 10.3.9 also fails despite it has a KEXT for this specific version. Booting OS 9 on this machine fails during startup - same for Mac OS X 10.2.x. :(

The Open Firmware also shows it with 1.33 GHz:

Code: Select all

0 > dev /cpus/PowerPC,G4@0  ok
0 > .properties
[...]
cpu-version 80010000
[...]
clock-frequency 4f790d52
[...]
cpu-info 8410c09c 80000000 80030101 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000

 ok
0 >


0x4f790d52 = 1,333,333,330 Hz

I'm afraid both System Profiler and Open Firmware will just show the frequency that's configured but not the frequency it was meant for. Maybe I'll try some other settings and test at what maximum speed the module can run and then conclude for which speed it was meant. Or maybe I remove the heatsink and check if the speed is readable on the dies. At least for PowerPC 7450s it looks like their meant speed is readable on the die.
:Indy: :O2: :Octane: :Octane2: :O200: = :O200: - :O200: = :O200: (O200 cluster w/2 GIGAchannel cabinets)
[ ( hp ) ] 712/80 c3000 (dead) :hpserv: (J5600) c3700 c3750 c8000 rp2470 :rx2600: (rx2620) rx4640
| d | i | g | i | t | a | l | AXPpci33 AlphaStation 200 AlphaStation 255 PWS 500au AlphaServer DS20E AlphaServer DS25
C O B A L T Qube 2 Qube 3 RaQ RaQ 2 RaQ 4r RaQ XTR

Y888099
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 11:00 am

Re: What Apple hardware do we have?

Unread postby Y888099 » Sat Apr 08, 2017 5:07 pm

I happen to have a Graphite's motherboard + CPU + PSU for sale.
If someone needs it. Located in Denmark. I am going there.
Head Full of Snow. Lemon Scented You


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests