O2: Wake-on-lan?

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
mia
Posts: 976
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:54 pm

O2: Wake-on-lan?

Unread postby mia » Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:15 am

Can the O2 be woke-on-lan?


Mia
:Onyx2:

User avatar
s0ke
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 9:27 am
Location: TX

Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?

Unread postby s0ke » Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:38 am

:Fuel: Redmenace
R16K 700: 2GB: V10:

kubatyszko
Posts: 352
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 4:18 am
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?

Unread postby kubatyszko » Sat Jun 02, 2012 2:48 am

I think none of SGI machines ever had support for WOL, only the machines with L1/L2 controllers (Fuel, Origins, generally servers) have ability of remote start via serial port or L1 console.
You could build a simple device (using arduino for example) that would listen for WOL packet and turn the power ON using a relay, but then if i recall correctly, O2 doesn't have the prom option to start when power is enabled... (I think Octane does). Eventually you could have your device briefly short power button wires in the O2 to start it up.
[click for links to hinv] JP: :Fuel: |:O2: | :Indy: || PL: [ :Fuel: :O2: :O2+: :Indy: ]

User avatar
mia
Posts: 976
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:54 pm

Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?

Unread postby mia » Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:46 am

kubatyszko wrote:I think none of SGI machines ever had support for WOL, only the machines with L1/L2 controllers (Fuel, Origins, generally servers) have ability of remote start via serial port or L1 console.
You could build a simple device (using arduino for example) that would listen for WOL packet and turn the power ON using a relay, but then if i recall correctly, O2 doesn't have the prom option to start when power is enabled... (I think Octane does). Eventually you could have your device briefly short power button wires in the O2 to start it up.


This isn't a terribly bad idea.
:Onyx2:

kubatyszko
Posts: 352
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 4:18 am
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?

Unread postby kubatyszko » Sat Jun 02, 2012 2:12 pm

I've built myself a device which does almost that, except that it listens for commands on serial port - just like the L1 or MSC. It has 8 relays which enable power for various devices.
[click for links to hinv] JP: :Fuel: |:O2: | :Indy: || PL: [ :Fuel: :O2: :O2+: :Indy: ]

User avatar
canavan
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:19 am

Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?

Unread postby canavan » Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:58 am

If all you want is toggle 110/230V remotely, get an ePowerswitch S8 from ebay. They come with 8 serial switchable sockets. If you need web/lan switching, get the M4 or D4 model with only 4 sockets, which also go for about 70 EUR on ebay.

If an O2 isn't plugged in at the time of a scheduled start, will it power on as soon as it is plugged in? Otherwise, distribute the switched output of one of the devices above to the O2 and power supply and a simple circuit with Resistors and Capacitors that momentarily triggers a relay (connected to the O2's power switch) after a short delay.

User avatar
guardian452
Posts: 2927
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Contact:

Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?

Unread postby guardian452 » Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:03 am

There's a jumper on the O2 mainboard that you set to force it to power on whenever mains power is connected.

User avatar
mia
Posts: 976
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:54 pm

Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?

Unread postby mia » Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:04 am

guardian452 wrote:There's a jumper on the O2 mainboard that you set to force it to power on whenever mains power is connected.


where?
:Onyx2:

robespierre
Posts: 699
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?

Unread postby robespierre » Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:20 am

The PWR-UP jumper is alongside the Dallas realtime clock/battery chip. You do need to remove the PCI riser to reach it.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
mia
Posts: 976
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:54 pm

Re: O2: Wake-on-lan?

Unread postby mia » Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:21 am

robespierre wrote:The PWR-UP jumper is alongside the Dallas realtime clock/battery chip. You do need to remove the PCI riser to reach it.


that works
:Onyx2:


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests