[ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Have some gear for sale? Post it here!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
mopar5150
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

[ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby mopar5150 » Wed May 02, 2012 2:30 pm

Hey Guys,
I have an Octane2 for sale on Ebay. I posted it there because I didn't know noobs could list right away on this forum.
It has a single 600mhz, 1gig ram, 9gig HDD, and V12 graphics. I tried several times to load IRIX following the posts on here with no luck. The plastics are in nice shape and the front door is not broken. I am asking $375 shipped in the US. I will ship anywhere as long as you pick up the extra cost. If anything in this post is out of line somebody please give me a heads up.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/251049324730?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649
Thanks,
John
310-218-2469
Attachments
OCTANE2_HINV.JPG
OCTANE2_2.JPG
OCTANE2_1.JPG
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2+: :O3x0: :A350: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo:

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5254
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby recondas » Fri May 04, 2012 7:44 am

mopar5150 wrote:I tried several times to load IRIX following the posts on here with no luck.
If anything ends up changing with the plan to sell that Octane and you decide you want to try installing IRIX again, just holler.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
BetXen
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:05 pm
Location: Vevey, Switzerland

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby BetXen » Fri May 04, 2012 8:03 am

So... seems that you will have a new chance to install Irix !

Not a single bid :?
:Onyx2: : oxygen / :A3504L: :A3504L: : neon (16xItanium2 1.6, L2 9MB) / :O200: :O200: : beryllium
:Fuel: : nitrogen / :Octane2: : carbon / :Octane: : fluorine
:O2: : hydrogen (R10k 195, 512Mo) / :O2: : sodium (R5k 180, 512Mo) / :O2: : R5k 180->200 motherboard and PM only
:Indigo2IMP: : helium (R10k 195, HighImpact, 160Mo) / :Indigo2IMP: : boron / :Indigo: : magnesium
:4D70G: 4D70GT : hydrogen, my very first one (now property of musée bolo and the foundation mémoires informatiques)
See the hinv/gfxinfo posts here.

User avatar
jan-jaap
Posts: 3984
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby jan-jaap » Fri May 04, 2012 9:10 am

Looking at that PROM screenshot, I'm missing the usual

Code: Select all

Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL1040B
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL1040B

and

Code: Select all

Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI Controller 0, (dksc(0,1,0))

I'm not 100% sure (no Octane handy), but I think you should see a disk at the very least.
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)

mopar5150
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby mopar5150 » Fri May 04, 2012 1:23 pm

Once I had a newer install tools cd I was able to get to the inst and load all of the cds. It went through all of the install and then had "exit command error" and when restarted stated there was a failed miniroot and gave a few choices (continue, fix and abort). I tried all three without any success. When I used a graphics board from another Octane It went all the way through the install fine and booted to the log in window. So I am pretty sure that the issue is the V12 card and my lack of IRIX knowledge. The hinv didn't show the drive or controller until I put a HDD in. During power up test it had a scsi issue that I think was the external CD drive I was using. I now have the correct Toshiba based SGI cd drive and am waiting for the power supply. I will give this another shot with that drive. I am tempted to yank the V12 and use a lesser graphics board. But then I would have to live in shame. :D

On a side note I have the chance to swap it for a 600mhz Fuel with fair plastics, but I have less knowledge about those.

Thanks for the help guys.
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2+: :O3x0: :A350: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo:

User avatar
BetXen
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:05 pm
Location: Vevey, Switzerland

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby BetXen » Fri May 04, 2012 2:00 pm

Which CD set did you use? V12 was not supported in the base 6.5, but was introduced later.

You should boot from 6.5.22, disk 1 (free on supportfolio), then insert the other 2 or 3 6.5.22 CDs (I don't remember how many they are), then the base 6.5 CDs (at least Foundation 1 and 2). Please correct me if I forgot something. ONC3/nfs is not mandatory, but can be useful.

Then follow the very good guides already mentioned a lot of times on the forum. It should be fine.

Good luck !


BetXen
:Onyx2: : oxygen / :A3504L: :A3504L: : neon (16xItanium2 1.6, L2 9MB) / :O200: :O200: : beryllium
:Fuel: : nitrogen / :Octane2: : carbon / :Octane: : fluorine
:O2: : hydrogen (R10k 195, 512Mo) / :O2: : sodium (R5k 180, 512Mo) / :O2: : R5k 180->200 motherboard and PM only
:Indigo2IMP: : helium (R10k 195, HighImpact, 160Mo) / :Indigo2IMP: : boron / :Indigo: : magnesium
:4D70G: 4D70GT : hydrogen, my very first one (now property of musée bolo and the foundation mémoires informatiques)
See the hinv/gfxinfo posts here.

User avatar
jan-jaap
Posts: 3984
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby jan-jaap » Fri May 04, 2012 2:15 pm

BetXen wrote:V12 was not supported in the base 6.5, but was introduced later.

True, but I don't think he'd get very far with a 600MHz R14K CPU either, because even an R12K not supported before 6.5.3 or 6.5.4...
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)

User avatar
BetXen
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:05 pm
Location: Vevey, Switzerland

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby BetXen » Fri May 04, 2012 2:22 pm

1 point for you JJ !
:Onyx2: : oxygen / :A3504L: :A3504L: : neon (16xItanium2 1.6, L2 9MB) / :O200: :O200: : beryllium
:Fuel: : nitrogen / :Octane2: : carbon / :Octane: : fluorine
:O2: : hydrogen (R10k 195, 512Mo) / :O2: : sodium (R5k 180, 512Mo) / :O2: : R5k 180->200 motherboard and PM only
:Indigo2IMP: : helium (R10k 195, HighImpact, 160Mo) / :Indigo2IMP: : boron / :Indigo: : magnesium
:4D70G: 4D70GT : hydrogen, my very first one (now property of musée bolo and the foundation mémoires informatiques)
See the hinv/gfxinfo posts here.

mopar5150
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby mopar5150 » Fri May 04, 2012 2:30 pm

I was using a 6.5.3 install and overlays with base 6.5 foundation 1 and 2 and the ONS (?) cd. I found that when I tried using the base 6.5 install tools cd I could get all the way to the " installing tools" progress bar and then it would lock. I searched posts and found that I needed the later install tools and bought a set.
Once I scanned all of the cds, went back to inst prompt, then entered keep *, install standard and then go it would go through the install process. Then I would get the "exit command error" and on rebout it had the "failed miniroot " message.
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2+: :O3x0: :A350: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo:

mopar5150
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby mopar5150 » Fri May 04, 2012 3:08 pm

Here is the thread that clued me into the later cd set needed.

http://forums.nekochan.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=16725876&hilit=install+irix+on+octane
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2+: :O3x0: :A350: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo:

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5254
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby recondas » Fri May 04, 2012 5:23 pm

mopar5150 wrote:I searched posts and found that I needed the later install tools and bought a set.
I'll echo the question as to which IRIX revision you bought? The V10 and V12 weren't supported by IRIX revisions older than 6.5.10, and even 6.5.10 requires IRIX patch 4103. Patch 4103 is required with IRIX 6.5.10 because it updates the Octane PROM to revision 4.5 - PROM revisions prior to 4.5 don't include support for the V12 or V10 either (which probably isn't an issue with a factory configured Octane2, but to be safe you can check your PROM revision at the PROM command line with the command "version").

If your newly purchased IRIX revision is older than 6.5.22, you might take BetXen's advise and register for a Supportfolio account on SGI's web site: https://support.sgi.com/

That will give you *free* access to the IRIX 6.5.22m Overlay (think upgrade) install set. IRIX 6.5.22m will support both your V12 and 600MHz processor, *and* give you the ability to run nekoware on your Octane (nekoware requires at least IRIX 6.5.21).
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

mopar5150
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Contact:

Re: [ebay] Octane2 600mhz, 1g, V12

Unread postby mopar5150 » Fri May 04, 2012 6:15 pm

I bought 6.5.3 overlay along with several others up to 6.5.6 I think. I was using the 6.5.3 during the install. I will check the prom on monday to see the version. I will setup a support deal at SGI.

Thanks for the help guys. If there are any SGI gurus in the LA or palm springs CA area I will gladly pay for a training lesson.
If the thing isn't on fire it's a software problem.

:Tezro: :Octane2: :O2+: :O3x0: :A350: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo:


Return to “Hardware For Sale/Trade”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests