Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 4:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:10 am
Posts: 173
Location: Australia
Does anyone have the images to the resistor placements for overclocking the O2 180mhz to 200mhz? The link below seems to have the key images missing:

http://www.mechanics.citg.tudelft.nl/~everdij/papa/overclocking_o2_seite3.html

From this thread (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7770&p=59096), I think this site was translated by dexter1 a while back...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:08 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 1:09 pm
Posts: 799
Location: Europe
Here you go:
Attachment:
o2_overclock.pdf [282.76 KiB]
Downloaded 64 times


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 3:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:10 am
Posts: 173
Location: Australia
Thanks heaps..!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:10 am
Posts: 173
Location: Australia
Does anyone have an O2 350Mhz CPU board...? Could you possibly reply with the multiplier resistor positions for that board? I checked my 300Mhz O2 board and it has the following settings:

R47 R48 R49
R51 R52 R53

100ohm Resistor positions are in bold red.

Was thinking that the same trick may work on this board..?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:10 am
Posts: 173
Location: Australia
The 300Mhz resistors are in series as follows:

Code:
R47-- R48         R49-,
R51-- R52         R53-'


Resistor positions R47 and R48 are in series.
Resistor positions R51 and R52 are in series.
Resistor positions R49 and R53 are in series.

Using the same principle for the 180Mhz, can only swap resistor positions in series, as with the 180mhz and 200mhz boards.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 5:46 pm
Posts: 728
Location: Overmere, Belgium
Interesting :) I've been looking around for this as well - I've got a 300MHz r12k O2, and would like to try bumping it to 350. Never found a proper guide for that though. Guess I'll monitor this thread for a while :)

_________________
while (!asleep()) sheep++;


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:19 am
Posts: 754
Probably not the 350MHz Module you're looking for - this is a R7000.


Attachments:
r7000_3.JPG
r7000_3.JPG [ 3.7 MiB | Viewed 490 times ]
r7000_2.JPG
r7000_2.JPG [ 3.93 MiB | Viewed 490 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 3:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:10 am
Posts: 173
Location: Australia
Thanks for the pictures... it looks to be the same as my 300mhz. The part no. on the underside for the 300Mhz is 030-1493-004.

The resistor placement is the same as on my board, which is below (this is cut from your pictures):


Attachments:
Resistors.jpg
Resistors.jpg [ 39.69 KiB | Viewed 459 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 5:17 pm
Posts: 2236
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Alver wrote:
Interesting :) I've been looking around for this as well - I've got a 300MHz r12k O2, and would like to try bumping it to 350. Never found a proper guide for that though. Guess I'll monitor this thread for a while :)


I've been trying to establish the required resistor positions for 350MHz for ages, no luck so far.

Ian.

_________________
(05/Aug/2014) FREE! (collection only) 16x Sagitta 12-bay dual-channel U160 SCSI JBOD units.
Email, phone or PM for details, or see my forum post.
mapesdhs@yahoo.com
+44 (0)131 476 0796


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:24 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 5213
Location: NC - USA
mapesdhs wrote:
I've been trying to establish the required resistor positions for 350MHz for ages, no luck so far.

If that over clock is important enough, you might have to consider breaking out the soldering iron and doing some trial and error experimentation. You may be able to use the base, overclock speed and resulting resistor movements of some of the other processors shown in that pdf and extrapolate what's needed to overclock the 300Mhz. to 350Mhz.

or you could avoid the potential for risk and continue to wait for ages......

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 6:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:19 am
Posts: 754
cris_adder wrote:
Thanks for the pictures... it looks to be the same as my 300mhz. The part no. on the underside for the 300Mhz is 030-1493-004.
That's surprising, since this is a 350MHz R7k:
Code:
CPU: QED RM7000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.2
FPU: QED RM7000 Floating Point Coprocessor Revision: 2.0
1 350 MHZ IP32 Processor

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:10 am
Posts: 173
Location: Australia
Yes, the board looks identical to my RM5200! If the resistor positions are the same, then what would the internal serial eprom multiplier setting of the RM7000 board be to yield 350Mhz, this would be 5.83? (350/60)? The clock crystal (60Mhz) is the same. Thought that the multiplier was whole numbers?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 12:03 pm
Posts: 395
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Hmm well I've overclocked G4 eMacs and iMacs with some success, using simple solder links, or a ribbon cable and DIP switches instead of resistors...
Or if you're really crafty get plain old resistors with the same value, and build a simple PCB with DIP switches.
Experimentation possibilities would be 'almost endless'

_________________
MAYA, nut-
:Octane2: :Octane2: Octane 2 R14k 600 V12 4GB, Octane2 R14K 600 V10 1GB ,
:Onyx2: :Onyx2: Onyx2 IR3 4GB Quad R14K 500 DIVO, Onyx2 IR Quad R12K 400 2GB,
:Indigo2: SGI Indigo 2 R8K75 TEAL Extreme 256MB,
:Indigo2IMP: SGI Indigo 2 R10K 195 Solid Impact 256MB, MAX Impact Pending
,
Apple G5 Quad, NV Quadro 4500 + 7800GT, 12GB RAM
Sun Blade 1000 Dual 900 XVR 1000 4GB
Sun Blade 2000 Dual 1200 XVR 1200 8GB


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:10 am
Posts: 173
Location: Australia
Since the multiplier resistor layout seems to be the same as the R7000 board, have ordered a few 66Mhz crystals and will give that a go first, and see if 330Mhz is fine...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group