Problems with MAC adress.

IRIX and IRIX software discussion including open source and commerical offerings.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
[[C|-|E]]
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 2:37 am
Location: London - UK

Problems with MAC adress.

Unread postby [[C|-|E]] » Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:16 am

Hello!

Since yesterday, I am having problems connecting my O2 to the network. The IT guys were doing some maintenance work and now I receive this message when I login into my IRIX account:

REKIEM_O2: Critical System Error
Alert: arp:host with MAC address 00:26:b0:ed:0b:de is still using my IP address 10.23.3.45!

So, it seems that somebody is using my IP address, I am right ? :?

Thank you!
Image _Betty Blue_
R12000A 400 Mhz; 1 Gb RAM; 72 Gb 15K HDD; IRIX 6.5.29
CrystalEyes; Dial Box; O2Cam "ZEYE"; external Toshiba SD-M1711 DVD-ROM; Octane speakers;
Lock bar; SGI microphone.
Mods: PSU Noctua fan; internal Toshiba SD-M1401 DVD-ROM; Adaptec AIC-7880P SCSI card.

_REKIEM_I7_
Seasonic X 1250W PSU / Intel I7 2600k 4 x 5,00 Ghz / 2 x Gainward 2Gb GTX 560Ti Phantom 2 / 32 Gb DDR3 / Intel x25-M 160 Gb SSD and 10 extra Tb
_REKIEM_T5400_
875W PSU / 2 x Intel Xeon Harpertown 4 x 2,83 Ghz with 12 MB cache / 1 x Zotac 1Gb GTX 440 / 32 Gb DDR2 667 ECC / Samsung 840 Series Pro 128GB SSD and 1 extra Tb

User avatar
cris_adder
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:10 am
Location: Australia

Re: Problems with MAC adress.

Unread postby cris_adder » Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:08 am

Try switching your O2 off and then ping the network (using another platform) for that IP address to see if it assigned to another machine...

User avatar
[[C|-|E]]
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 2:37 am
Location: London - UK

Re: Problems with MAC adress.

Unread postby [[C|-|E]] » Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:40 am

It seems that the other machine is there and it is alive :| . It is a bit surprising, because I am using a DHPC server and it seems that it is not working properly. Maybe I should write a mail to the IT guys.
Image _Betty Blue_
R12000A 400 Mhz; 1 Gb RAM; 72 Gb 15K HDD; IRIX 6.5.29
CrystalEyes; Dial Box; O2Cam "ZEYE"; external Toshiba SD-M1711 DVD-ROM; Octane speakers;
Lock bar; SGI microphone.
Mods: PSU Noctua fan; internal Toshiba SD-M1401 DVD-ROM; Adaptec AIC-7880P SCSI card.

_REKIEM_I7_
Seasonic X 1250W PSU / Intel I7 2600k 4 x 5,00 Ghz / 2 x Gainward 2Gb GTX 560Ti Phantom 2 / 32 Gb DDR3 / Intel x25-M 160 Gb SSD and 10 extra Tb
_REKIEM_T5400_
875W PSU / 2 x Intel Xeon Harpertown 4 x 2,83 Ghz with 12 MB cache / 1 x Zotac 1Gb GTX 440 / 32 Gb DDR2 667 ECC / Samsung 840 Series Pro 128GB SSD and 1 extra Tb

SAQ
Posts: 5758
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Problems with MAC adress.

Unread postby SAQ » Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:15 pm

Proclaim doesn't always play well with all DHCP servers in it's default config. Delete your address cache files and make sure it's requesting everything it needs from the DHCP server.
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

hamei
Posts: 9988
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 5:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Problems with MAC adress.

Unread postby hamei » Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:54 am

Figure out who it is, then sneak over and unplug him when no one is looking :)

User avatar
[[C|-|E]]
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 2:37 am
Location: London - UK

Re: Problems with MAC adress.

Unread postby [[C|-|E]] » Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:23 am

Well, at the end I contacted the IT guys and they found that the DHPC server was behaving funny for some reason. I gave them my MAC address and they reconfigured the server to assign me a new IP :). The problem is that I still cannot connect to internet. I will try to follow your advise, SAQ.
Image _Betty Blue_
R12000A 400 Mhz; 1 Gb RAM; 72 Gb 15K HDD; IRIX 6.5.29
CrystalEyes; Dial Box; O2Cam "ZEYE"; external Toshiba SD-M1711 DVD-ROM; Octane speakers;
Lock bar; SGI microphone.
Mods: PSU Noctua fan; internal Toshiba SD-M1401 DVD-ROM; Adaptec AIC-7880P SCSI card.

_REKIEM_I7_
Seasonic X 1250W PSU / Intel I7 2600k 4 x 5,00 Ghz / 2 x Gainward 2Gb GTX 560Ti Phantom 2 / 32 Gb DDR3 / Intel x25-M 160 Gb SSD and 10 extra Tb
_REKIEM_T5400_
875W PSU / 2 x Intel Xeon Harpertown 4 x 2,83 Ghz with 12 MB cache / 1 x Zotac 1Gb GTX 440 / 32 Gb DDR2 667 ECC / Samsung 840 Series Pro 128GB SSD and 1 extra Tb

SAQ
Posts: 5758
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Problems with MAC adress.

Unread postby SAQ » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:25 am

Can't connect to the internet:

Check to make sure that your default route is correct - I think this is one of the things that Proclaim doesn't get by default. You can either modify Proclaim or manually add it.

Then see if you can ping anyone on the Internet. If the name resolves to an IP address, good, if not then your resolv.conf isn't right.
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
[[C|-|E]]
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 2:37 am
Location: London - UK

Re: Problems with MAC adress.

Unread postby [[C|-|E]] » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:58 am

I have never messed with proclaim, but I will give it a try as soon as I have five minutes. Thankfully, SGI has still a lot of info about it online :).
Image _Betty Blue_
R12000A 400 Mhz; 1 Gb RAM; 72 Gb 15K HDD; IRIX 6.5.29
CrystalEyes; Dial Box; O2Cam "ZEYE"; external Toshiba SD-M1711 DVD-ROM; Octane speakers;
Lock bar; SGI microphone.
Mods: PSU Noctua fan; internal Toshiba SD-M1401 DVD-ROM; Adaptec AIC-7880P SCSI card.

_REKIEM_I7_
Seasonic X 1250W PSU / Intel I7 2600k 4 x 5,00 Ghz / 2 x Gainward 2Gb GTX 560Ti Phantom 2 / 32 Gb DDR3 / Intel x25-M 160 Gb SSD and 10 extra Tb
_REKIEM_T5400_
875W PSU / 2 x Intel Xeon Harpertown 4 x 2,83 Ghz with 12 MB cache / 1 x Zotac 1Gb GTX 440 / 32 Gb DDR2 667 ECC / Samsung 840 Series Pro 128GB SSD and 1 extra Tb

User avatar
[[C|-|E]]
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 2:37 am
Location: London - UK

Re: Problems with MAC adress.

Unread postby [[C|-|E]] » Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:28 pm

So, problem solved!! Thank you SAQ. You were completely right, I had to set up my gateway by hand, but now everything is working fine! :)
Image _Betty Blue_
R12000A 400 Mhz; 1 Gb RAM; 72 Gb 15K HDD; IRIX 6.5.29
CrystalEyes; Dial Box; O2Cam "ZEYE"; external Toshiba SD-M1711 DVD-ROM; Octane speakers;
Lock bar; SGI microphone.
Mods: PSU Noctua fan; internal Toshiba SD-M1401 DVD-ROM; Adaptec AIC-7880P SCSI card.

_REKIEM_I7_
Seasonic X 1250W PSU / Intel I7 2600k 4 x 5,00 Ghz / 2 x Gainward 2Gb GTX 560Ti Phantom 2 / 32 Gb DDR3 / Intel x25-M 160 Gb SSD and 10 extra Tb
_REKIEM_T5400_
875W PSU / 2 x Intel Xeon Harpertown 4 x 2,83 Ghz with 12 MB cache / 1 x Zotac 1Gb GTX 440 / 32 Gb DDR2 667 ECC / Samsung 840 Series Pro 128GB SSD and 1 extra Tb


Return to “IRIX and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: duck, Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests