Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:05 am
Posts: 30
Hey guys I'm having issues installing Quad ethernet card in my SS20 - First thing is that in openboot after show-devs I can't see that card - does it mean its dead or should I try something else? Obviously in Solaris9 - no joy either.

I would be grateful for any help - thanks
Any Idea ?

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 10:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am
Posts: 893
`devfsadm && ifconfig -a plumb`

_________________
Stuff.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 1:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:05 am
Posts: 30
thank you - I have tried that but no change...
no trace of any additional interfaces I'm going to assume its a dead piece of silicon.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 4:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5758
Location: Renton, WA
jeremy123 wrote:
thank you - I have tried that but no change...
no trace of any additional interfaces I'm going to assume its a dead piece of silicon.


Check the SBus connector. Sometimes pins get bent.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:05 am
Posts: 30
yes - that was my thought to - first thing I checked.
please tell me - I'm not sure about this but I asume that every piece of hardware should be shown in OB with show-devs - am I right ?

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:05 am
Posts: 30
Bought identical card again for 12$ ;) this time it works perfectly - no problems Thanks for help.

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group