Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:15 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Rack Rails Question
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 498
Location: Laurel, MD USA
On Sunday I became an owner of my first rack, an IBM 36U. I found some extra MDF boards from a bookcase that I am using to support the Sun Blade 100 and I have my 4U NAS resting on the bottom. However, I was wondering what rails I need? I'd love to be able to get the rest of my gear in there.

I took a couple pictures, if more are needed please let me know, thanks!


Attachments:
WP_000135.jpg
WP_000135.jpg [ 849.55 KiB | Viewed 390 times ]
WP_000134.jpg
WP_000134.jpg [ 924.53 KiB | Viewed 390 times ]
WP_000132.jpg
WP_000132.jpg [ 1008.93 KiB | Viewed 390 times ]

_________________
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rack Rails Question
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5758
Location: Renton, WA
From what I've seen the rail mounts to the racks are pretty standard, so you take a look at what kind of rails your rackmount equipment has and get the corresponding rack-mounting mates to them.

This is not always the case for specific large systems, however - Origin2000 uses its own rack retention hardware and angle irons that may not work in other racks, and some of the DEC boxes (especially the earlier models) appear to use specialty attachments. Things introduced after about 1999 should be pretty standard, however.

Looks like your unit doesn't have threaded holes, so you'll need the rack nuts as well.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rack Rails Question
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 3:49 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Posts: 5225
Location: NC - USA
Not sure which IBM rack you have, but this looks like it might have some useful info. Hopefully you can find some part numbers to search against.
ftp://ftp.software.ibm.com/systems/supp ... ug2006.pdf

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rack Rails Question
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 498
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Sweet thanks for the info!

Looks like it is an IBM RS/6000 7014 T00 rack circa 2002.

_________________
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rack Rails Question
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 5:10 pm
Posts: 9788
I have a cheap copy of that rack, except shorter ... I use shelves instead of rails, since it's more versatile. Anything sits on a shelf but if you change your collection, you'll be hunting for the proper rails every time. I also hung the noisiest IBM with bungee cords from the shelf above, which worked surprisingly well. The Sun is sitting on four soft rubber balls on a shelf, which has a similar effect. Rails will connect any noise-making computer directly to the rack itself, which is a bad idea. Vibrating structure = noise ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rack Rails Question
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 1:37 pm
Posts: 498
Location: Laurel, MD USA
That's a good idea, I just ordered a shelf off Amazon to give it a shot.

_________________
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rack Rails Question
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5758
Location: Renton, WA
I have a bunch of rails that I just stick cut plywood on to hold things. I got the rails for free with a rack, so it was cheaper than buying shelves. Note that you don't get as much in a rack that way, but it works pretty well for a loosely stuffed rack.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group