Rack Rails Question

Additional operating system/hardware discussion (Windows, Linux, *BSD and others)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Contact:

Rack Rails Question

Unread postby Adrenaline » Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:56 am

On Sunday I became an owner of my first rack, an IBM 36U. I found some extra MDF boards from a bookcase that I am using to support the Sun Blade 100 and I have my 4U NAS resting on the bottom. However, I was wondering what rails I need? I'd love to be able to get the rest of my gear in there.

I took a couple pictures, if more are needed please let me know, thanks!
Attachments
WP_000135.jpg
WP_000134.jpg
WP_000132.jpg
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

SAQ
Posts: 5787
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Rack Rails Question

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:20 am

From what I've seen the rail mounts to the racks are pretty standard, so you take a look at what kind of rails your rackmount equipment has and get the corresponding rack-mounting mates to them.

This is not always the case for specific large systems, however - Origin2000 uses its own rack retention hardware and angle irons that may not work in other racks, and some of the DEC boxes (especially the earlier models) appear to use specialty attachments. Things introduced after about 1999 should be pretty standard, however.

Looks like your unit doesn't have threaded holes, so you'll need the rack nuts as well.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5322
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Rack Rails Question

Unread postby recondas » Wed Jan 25, 2012 2:49 pm

Not sure which IBM rack you have, but this looks like it might have some useful info. Hopefully you can find some part numbers to search against.
ftp://ftp.software.ibm.com/systems/supp ... ug2006.pdf
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Rack Rails Question

Unread postby Adrenaline » Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:55 pm

Sweet thanks for the info!

Looks like it is an IBM RS/6000 7014 T00 rack circa 2002.
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

hamei
Posts: 10186
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Rack Rails Question

Unread postby hamei » Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:44 pm

I have a cheap copy of that rack, except shorter ... I use shelves instead of rails, since it's more versatile. Anything sits on a shelf but if you change your collection, you'll be hunting for the proper rails every time. I also hung the noisiest IBM with bungee cords from the shelf above, which worked surprisingly well. The Sun is sitting on four soft rubber balls on a shelf, which has a similar effect. Rails will connect any noise-making computer directly to the rack itself, which is a bad idea. Vibrating structure = noise ...

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Rack Rails Question

Unread postby Adrenaline » Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:02 pm

That's a good idea, I just ordered a shelf off Amazon to give it a shot.
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

SAQ
Posts: 5787
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Rack Rails Question

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:55 pm

I have a bunch of rails that I just stick cut plywood on to hold things. I got the rails for free with a rack, so it was cheaper than buying shelves. Note that you don't get as much in a rack that way, but it works pretty well for a loosely stuffed rack.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Return to “Miscellaneous Operating Systems/Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests