Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 3:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:36 am
Posts: 246
Hello,
I am looking for new NVRAM chips for Sparcstation 20.

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5749
Location: Renton, WA
You're best bet would probably be to open up the existing NVRAMs and add a battery. An old PC CR2032 holder will epoxy to the top of the current Mostek unit just fine.

I think that the Sun4m architecture works OK with the newer Mostek/whoever owns Mostek now units, but the Sun4c architecture doesn't. Check around to Mouser or the like.

Used ones aren't worth it - most of them will die soon. If you need to reprogram your MAC and serial it should be stored in the system log at bootup. It's also a good idea to write it out somewhere on the chassis just in case, because these machines are all gettting old.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:36 am
Posts: 246
SAQ wrote:
You're best bet would probably be to open up the existing NVRAMs and add a battery. An old PC CR2032 holder will epoxy to the top of the current Mostek unit just fine.


Hi SAQ, there are different versions of NVRAM chips for various Sun models. The guide: http://www.squirrel.com/sun-nvram-hostid.faq.html I found about adding a CR2032 battery holder on the existing NVRAM chip is mainly for Sun Ultras and for some earlier models, not sparcstations.

SAQ wrote:
If you need to reprogram your MAC and serial it should be stored in the system log at bootup. It's also a good idea to write it out somewhere on the chassis just in case, because these machines are all gettting old.


If I replace the NVRAM Chip, do I need to reprogram the mac address ? I thought that the system is reading it during the boot and stores it somehow.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5749
Location: Renton, WA
I've put coin cells on both Sun4c and Sun4m systems - it's not a big deal and I think the instructions in your guide will probably work almost exactly the same. The Bhargavaz page works as well for all Sun NVRAMs (http://blog.bhargavaz.us/2010/12/idprom ... -page.html)

Yes, you do need to reprogram your MAC and serial numbers. Unlike SGI for all machines != Indy, Sun stored this information in semivolitile RAM and did not have any sticker with a physical copy of the information. Since you have a operable Solaris or SunOS install things are much easier, since looking through the system log will give you the correct values to reprogram. I write them on a part of the chassis as well, just to be sure.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 1:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:36 am
Posts: 246
Hi SAQ thank you very much for the info.

I am afraid I cannot find the pins that coming inside the NVRAM chip (due to the small pictures), but which of those M48T02 could I buy for use with SS20 ?

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... Categories


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5749
Location: Renton, WA
dir_marillion wrote:
Hi SAQ thank you very much for the info.

I am afraid I cannot find the pins that coming inside the NVRAM chip (due to the small pictures), but which of those M48T02 could I buy for use with SS20 ?

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... Categories


I think the T02 is the Sun4c model. Look for a M48t08 - but you can check your chip. The label/barcode on the top means nothing unless you have a service contract with Sun/Oracle or other way to get a look at their database, and given the way Oracle works I suspect the only way that would happen would involve the transfer of $$$$$$$$$.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:36 am
Posts: 246
Hi SAQ,

If I replace my dead NVRAM chip with the chip M48t08 (I checked and my NVRAM has 24 pins, I assume 150 is the speed of the chip...) and follow the procedure to import the (hopefully correct) mac address I kept, its possible that the system will have all the necessary information to enable the on-board NIC into Solaris.

Otherwise may I install another S-BUS network card (which has it's own mac address) and use it as primary Ethernet controller ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:28 pm
Posts: 550
Location: Boston
as long as you choose a sysid that is a valid unicast MAC address, the onboard ethernet should work with any address you want. the reason for keeping the same address is for software licensing, and to avoid confusing routers/switches that have the station MAC address stored, for VLAN assignment, proxy ARP, etc.

_________________
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5749
Location: Renton, WA
robespierre wrote:
as long as you choose a sysid that is a valid unicast MAC address, the onboard ethernet should work with any address you want. the reason for keeping the same address is for software licensing, and to avoid confusing routers/switches that have the station MAC address stored, for VLAN assignment, proxy ARP, etc.


If you have the proper MAC address go ahead and use it. That way you don't have to worry about keeping records of your MAC allocations (and you don't have to worry about taking your box to a different network where everyone has their dead Sun programmed with C0:FF:EE), and you get to keep the Sun MAC prefix so the machine comes up on NMAP et al as a Sun rather than whatever (because the other way of ensuring a "good MAC" across different unknown networks is to get a cheapo PC-type card, retire it, and use the MAC on your Sun - but then it comes up as "Netgear" or whatever...)

Note that you need to program two numbers for everything to be good: the MAC and the system serial number. On Suns they're different. SSN's big use is licensing.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:36 am
Posts: 246
Thank you very much guys, I have already ordered a M48t08 and I will replace the dead NVRAM with it.
This SS20 will be used at my home, among SGIs, so no need for VLANs or more complicated networks.

Then I will re-program the MAC and the serial via openboot.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 5:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 4:36 am
Posts: 246
Hey guys, for your info, I received the (new) M48t08 and replaced the official NVRAM. I have already reprogrammed it with success.
M48t08 works fine with Sparcstation 20.

Let's see in how many years, the battery will come to it's end.

Thank you very much SAQ.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group