Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 2:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:07 am
Posts: 8
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Greetings,

I got V440 and have several questions:

- as far as I saw, the easiest and most flexible OS would still be Solaris, since both OpenBSD and Debian lacked some functionality. Both Debian and OBSD had problems with partitioning and boot options, while Debian couldn't recognize two dditional Quad Gigabit cards and required drivers that were not available. Thus, I figured it would be safest to try with Solaris - as machine has 2x 1.2 GHz Sparcs and 4GB RAM, would latest Solaris 10 work fine (I don't require GUI; compiler sets nd web/DB related applications will suffice, and I am aware they are available and work properly (but not necessarily to fast) on Slowaris. :)

- the machine was taken from a financial institution and lacked any DASD, but I also didn't get any administration documentation. IOW - when I bump into ALOM's login part, I have no clue how to log in. Apparently, while searching through the Net, "admin" should be username and last 8 *digits* of V440's serial number would make a password. Although I assume someone tampered with those credentials, my serial number is alphanumeric, so this "digit" part largely makes me doubt in that information. Nevertheless, I also read it is possible to reset ALOM credentials via Solaris. Since I can boot (>ok prompt appears and allows booting from cdrom and disks), is this doable?

- lastly, my ROM version is OpenBoot 4.22.33 and there seems to be an upgrade. It also seems Oracle has put much effort to make my life miserable and provided numerous steps in order to obtain one with requirements I don't understand how to comply to. They require "The Customer Support Identifier (or CSI) is the identifier used for the support contract for between you and Oracle Support. You may request access to one or more, typically you enter a CSI of about 8 digits in length." and filling out contact forms... All in all, I wonder, since I cannot find change log and would like to upgrade machine with two additional CPU's with 8GB RAM, is it worth additional trouble and exploration? What is the procedure of upgrading OpenBoot anyway? Can it be obtained via 3rd party, in terms of being able to download it somewhere else?

TIA!

_________________
"If you lie to the compiler,
it will get its revenge."
Henry Spencer
2.718281828459045235360287471352662497757247093699959574966967627.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 3:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:48 pm
Posts: 1887
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
Bubba wrote:
Greetings,

I got V440 and have several questions:

- as far as I saw, the easiest and most flexible OS would still be Solaris, since both OpenBSD and Debian lacked some functionality. Both Debian and OBSD had problems with partitioning and boot options, while Debian couldn't recognize two dditional Quad Gigabit cards and required drivers that were not available. Thus, I figured it would be safest to try with Solaris - as machine has 2x 1.2 GHz Sparcs and 4GB RAM, would latest Solaris 10 work fine (I don't require GUI; compiler sets nd web/DB related applications will suffice, and I am aware they are available and work properly (but not necessarily to fast) on Slowaris. :)


I have a v440 4 x 1.2 GHz, 16Gb, I happen to run Solaris 10 update 10 on it in case I need to install WebLogic, Tuxedo, TimesTen, Oracle DBs, etc ... I had Solaris 10 update 8 on it. Sol 10 update 10 needs text mode install for ZFS pools for root file systems. With an XVR-500 in it I could do a graphical install on it. Then pull the monitor off it and use Xnest.

Another option is OpenIndiana.org ... I have not tried this but I think I read somewhere that OI SPARC builds exists for server only not desktop. OpenIndiana does graphical installs with zpool root file system. I used OI on x86 for a few months in the workplace and my experiences ranged from cool, very slick, thats kinda Linux like to ... WTF is this amateur hour?

Another thing to think about is software... sunfreeware.com, CSW, blastwave, OI repositories or opensolaris repos, etc... I don't usually get into those MacPorts vs Fink vs HomeBrew type wars but there are several Solaris repos out there and some people prefer one or other over the rest.

Bubba wrote:
- the machine was taken from a financial institution and lacked any DASD, but I also didn't get any administration documentation. IOW - when I bump into ALOM's login part, I have no clue how to log in. Apparently, while searching through the Net, "admin" should be username and last 8 *digits* of V440's serial number would make a password. Although I assume someone tampered with those credentials, my serial number is alphanumeric, so this "digit" part largely makes me doubt in that information. Nevertheless, I also read it is possible to reset ALOM credentials via Solaris. Since I can boot (>ok prompt appears and allows booting from cdrom and disks), is this doable?


Mine was admin/admin or admin/root or something equally lame on it. Maybe try a few obvious choices. See if you can wipe it and try admin/blank. I haven't had to mess around with the ALOM since I re-installed Solaris on it. Mine was set to auto power on, once you have the ok prompt what more do you need?


Bubba wrote:
:o
- lastly, my ROM version is OpenBoot 4.22.33 and there seems to be an upgrade. It also seems Oracle has put much effort to make my life miserable and provided numerous steps in order to obtain one with requirements I don't understand how to comply to. They require "The Customer Support Identifier (or CSI) is the identifier used for the support contract for between you and Oracle Support. You may request access to one or more, typically you enter a CSI of about 8 digits in length." and filling out contact forms... All in all, I wonder, since I cannot find change log and would like to upgrade machine with two additional CPU's with 8GB RAM, is it worth additional trouble and exploration? What is the procedure of upgrading OpenBoot anyway? Can it be obtained via 3rd party, in terms of being able to download it somewhere else?

TIA!


Never felt inclined to mess with OpenBoot upgrades and I am not sure why you want to do so. My 4 x 1.2 GHz & 16Gb is enough to kick off a build and go do something else.. About powerful enough for what I use mine for...

I wouldn't contact Oracle, SUN, IBM or HP without a service contract for the Telco, bank or ISP I was working for. Even then it is most often a complete waste of time.. they usually know less than you do and a week in their "support" system and you usually have it sorted before they can even define the problem.


R.

_________________
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 5:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:07 am
Posts: 8
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
PymbleSoftware wrote:
I have a v440 4 x 1.2 GHz, 16Gb,
Exactly the upgrade I'm aiming for, but with 12 GB of RAM.

Tell me, do you happen to know how "hungry" this configuration is? Did you measure it in idle/load variations?

Quote:
I happen to run Solaris 10 update 10 on it in case I need to install WebLogic, Tuxedo, TimesTen, Oracle DBs, etc ... I had Solaris 10 update 8 on it. Sol 10 update 10 needs text mode install for ZFS pools for root file systems. With an XVR-500 in it I could do a graphical install on it. Then pull the monitor off it and use Xnest.
I'm not so much into enterprise software - FLOSS (lighttpd, MySQL, gcc...) will do. In addition, it seems that quasi-hardware mirror (RAID 1) can only be set on Solaris.

Quote:
Another option is OpenIndiana.org ... I have not tried this but I think I read somewhere that OI SPARC builds exists for server only not desktop. OpenIndiana does graphical installs with zpool root file system. I used OI on x86 for a few months in the workplace and my experiences ranged from cool, very slick, thats kinda Linux like to ... WTF is this amateur hour?
I'm kinda not in to this experimental mumbo-jumbo. I need reliable workhorse, and for 30$ (yeah, I got it for 30$, don't ask! :D) it worth giving some effort to make it work right.

Quote:
Another thing to think about is software... sunfreeware.com, CSW, blastwave, OI repositories or opensolaris repos, etc... I don't usually get into those MacPorts vs Fink vs HomeBrew type wars but there are several Solaris repos out there and some people prefer one or other over the rest.
Since there will be few apps on it, I'd rather compile them myself, so I don't find any of this an issue.

Quote:
Mine was admin/admin or admin/root or something equally lame on it. Maybe try a few obvious choices. See if you can wipe it and try admin/blank. I haven't had to mess around with the ALOM since I re-installed Solaris on it. Mine was set to auto power on, once you have the ok prompt what more do you need?
Oh, I tried, God knows I did. :D

I'd like to have it under control, plus the fact I can access machine on bare metal level, without a need to actually leave comfort of my cozy room. :) And it provides other cool features; well, anyway, I have it and I want it, if nothing else. ;)

Quote:
Never felt inclined to mess with OpenBoot upgrades and I am not sure why you want to do so.
If I had a change log or any other sane document, I might know. Can you tell me your version, so I can be certain that my upgrade will work (since it will be much similar to yours)?

Quote:
My 4 x 1.2 GHz & 16Gb is enough to kick off a build and go do something else.. About powerful enough for what I use mine for...
Hehe, ditto, that's why I'd like to make it my primary server and run number crunching on it.

Quote:
I wouldn't contact Oracle, SUN, IBM or HP without a service contract for the Telco, bank or ISP I was working for. Even then it is most often a complete waste of time.. they usually know less than you do and a week in their "support" system and you usually have it sorted before they can even define the problem.
Luckyil, I never worked for any of those, machine got to me via some other routes. However, thanks for the heads up, I figured their support system could be waste of time altogether...

Thank you for your feedback!

Best regards from Croatia,

Bubba

_________________
"If you lie to the compiler,
it will get its revenge."
Henry Spencer
2.718281828459045235360287471352662497757247093699959574966967627.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 10:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:48 pm
Posts: 1887
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
Bubba wrote:
Quote:
Mine was admin/admin or admin/root or something equally lame on it. Maybe try a few obvious choices. See if you can wipe it and try admin/blank. I haven't had to mess around with the ALOM since I re-installed Solaris on it. Mine was set to auto power on, once you have the ok prompt what more do you need?
Oh, I tried, God knows I did. :D

I'd like to have it under control, plus the fact I can access machine on bare metal level, without a need to actually leave comfort of my cozy room. :) And it provides other cool features; well, anyway, I have it and I want it, if nothing else. ;)


in the SUN document number 816-728-10 it is wrote:
About the System Configuration Card
The system configuration card (SCC) contains unique network identity information, including the Ethernet MAC addresses and host ID (stored in idprom), the OpenBoot firmware configuration (stored in nvram), and ALOM system controller user and configuration data. It supplants the NVRAM module used on previous Sun systems. The SCC is housed in a slot behind the system doors, next to the system Power button (see “Locating Front Panel Features” on page 7).
(My emphasis added)

It looks like a credit card with a smart card chip, next to the power button If you could acquire a blank one, duplicate and wipe ALOM fields. It would probably ask you to set the password. You might also try the serial port on the ALOM card. The same document states something to the effect of the ALOM network ports are secure but the serial is not.


R.

_________________
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:07 am
Posts: 8
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
PymbleSoftware wrote:
It looks like a credit card with a smart card chip, next to the power button
I even tried copying serial number from that card as a potential password. Didn't help. :)

Quote:
If you could acquire a blank one, duplicate and wipe ALOM fields.
I thought of reading and writing to that card via some 3rd party hardware tool. Do you know any?

Quote:
It would probably ask you to set the password.
Hopefully. I wouldn't like to blow the whole machine just for that card, since they seem to be quite expensive, at least on Ebay.

Perhaps when someone with similar machine would provide dumb of card content, I might get some idea where the users and passwords are written...

Quote:
You might also try the serial port on the ALOM card. The same document states something to the effect of the ALOM network ports are secure but the serial is not.
Well, I *am* doing everything through the serial port. :)

_________________
"If you lie to the compiler,
it will get its revenge."
Henry Spencer
2.718281828459045235360287471352662497757247093699959574966967627.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 11:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:11 am
Posts: 892
To reset the ALOM password, read this: http://blog.mc-thias.org/?title=sun_ser ... &tb=1&pb=1

The default password should be no password or `changeme`

_________________
Stuff.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 12:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:07 am
Posts: 8
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
zmttoxics wrote:
To reset the ALOM password, read this: http://blog.mc-thias.org/?title=sun_ser ... &tb=1&pb=1

The default password should be no password or `changeme`
I'm pretty sure I have the same problem as the last guy that commented on this entry - there are plenty of options, but non that would hardly resemble on the one about erasing the password. I'll give it a try once again, though...

BTW, I measured power consumption (2x 1.28 GHz CPU, 4GB RAM, 2x 72 GB 10k RPM HDD, 2x Quad Gigabit Ethernet cards):
Attachment:
File comment: Sun V440 power consumption - standby
SunV440---standby.jpg
SunV440---standby.jpg [ 182.32 KiB | Viewed 931 times ]

Attachment:
File comment: Sun V440 power consumption - idle
SunV440---idle.jpg
SunV440---idle.jpg [ 184.87 KiB | Viewed 931 times ]

Attachment:
File comment: Sun V440 power consumption - full load (diagnostics)
SunV440---FullLoad.jpg
SunV440---FullLoad.jpg [ 178.14 KiB | Viewed 931 times ]

Voltmeter: http://www.uni-trend.com/UT70D.html
Ammeter: http://www.thainovation.com/download/th ... manual.pdf
http://2.718281828459045235360287471352 ... ption.html

_________________
"If you lie to the compiler,
it will get its revenge."
Henry Spencer
2.718281828459045235360287471352662497757247093699959574966967627.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 3:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:48 pm
Posts: 1887
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
Bubba wrote:
I wrote:
If you could acquire a blank one, duplicate and wipe ALOM fields.
I thought of reading and writing to that card via some 3rd party hardware tool. Do you know any?



Software (WindowsXP) :
http://www.ic-prog.com/download.html

The hardware is pretty simple: 3 x 74HC04s, a serial connector, a card reader slot, a handful of resistors and capacitors and two crystals.


Bubba wrote:

I wrote:
It would probably ask you to set the password.
Hopefully. I wouldn't like to blow the whole machine just for that card, since they seem to be quite expensive, at least on Ebay.


Perhaps when someone with similar machine would provide dumb of card content, I might get some idea where the users and passwords are written...


The hardware exists but I don't trust the software and hardware enough not to trash or corrupt the card, thus I am reluctant to pull my card out of my v440 (or my credit card!) to test with, until i have more confidence in the reader/writer and software. I think I have a card out of a SunRay 100 but I would have to find that card 1st.



R.

_________________
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:21 pm
Posts: 85
Location: UK
Sorry is that 217/218W?

It's just that I run a (DL560G1) Quad 3GHZ HP box that idles around 237W (according to a plug-in power meter) and I was always suspicious this was very low.... especially for a Quad Box with two fast SCSI 320 drives and 6GB.

217W seems real low (as does 237W)... according to specs I was imagining small/midsize boxes would consume 500-600W and this was what initially putting me off buying one.

Thanks!

PS. Can't the ALOM password be reset from within Solaris? Think that's how I did it on my old V210!

_________________
"Scud" East
Sun Blade 2500 'Silver' Workstation - Dual 1.6 USIIIi, 4GB, 146GB SCSI, Solaris 10U9
Sun V210, 2x1.33 USIIIi, 8GB, 73GB 15K, Solaris 10U9
Sun V100, USIIi 550, 1.5GB, 40GB, Debian Lenny 5.X


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 3:47 am
Posts: 426
Location: Flynn's Arcade
you can reset the alom password with the scadm utility from inside solaris. it can be installed via the SUNWrsc package.

http://freesourcetech.wordpress.com/200 ... 0v250v440/

_________________
no plan


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group