NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

HP/DEC/Compaq workstations/servers and operating systems (HP-UX, Tru64, OpenVMS, NonStop, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby kshuff » Tue Sep 06, 2011 10:20 am

Anyone have experience installing NextStep 3.3 on an old HP 9000/735? I'm trying to install 3.3 on this machine and it keeps hanging at the same point...

Code: Select all

Loading NEXTSTEP
Loading mach_kernel

Reading NEXTSTEP configuration
Reading configuration file '/private/Drivers/hppa/HPPANGLEFrameBuffer.config/Default.table'
Reading configuration file '/private/Drivers/hppa/HILKeyboard.config/Default.table'
Reading configuration file '/private/Drivers/hppa/GeckoKeyboard.config/Default.table'
Reading configuration file '/private/Drivers/hppa/eci596.config/Default.table'
Starting NEXTSTEP
NeXT Mach 3.3: Tue Feb 14 20:55:37 PST 1995; root(rcbuilder) :mk-172.3.32.obj~5/RC_hppa/RELEASE_HPPA
physical memory = 208.00 megabytes
using 255 buffers containing 1.99 megabytes of memory
available memory = 198.48 megabytes.  vm_page_free_count = 633e


...and that's where it sits. Primary boot path is set to scsi.4.0 and I have a 9.1Gb drive configured for ID4, the Alternate booth path is set to scsi.5.0, the Console path is graphics, and the Keyboard path is HIL. I am using a serial terminal since I have no HIL keyboard. Potential boot devices are as follows:

P0 scsi.4.0 HP 9.10GB B 80-8C02
P1 scsi.3.0 Toshiba XM-4101TASUNSLCD

Any help, hints, pointers?
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby kjaer » Tue Sep 06, 2011 1:04 pm

kshuff wrote:...and that's where it sits. Primary boot path is set to scsi.4.0 and I have a 9.1Gb drive configured for ID4, the Alternate booth path is set to scsi.5.0, the Console path is graphics, and the Keyboard path is HIL. I am using a serial terminal since I have no HIL keyboard.


I am pretty sure that NEXTSTEP won't use a serial terminal as a console.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby kshuff » Tue Sep 06, 2011 1:12 pm

kjaer wrote:
kshuff wrote:...and that's where it sits. Primary boot path is set to scsi.4.0 and I have a 9.1Gb drive configured for ID4, the Alternate booth path is set to scsi.5.0, the Console path is graphics, and the Keyboard path is HIL. I am using a serial terminal since I have no HIL keyboard.


I am pretty sure that NEXTSTEP won't use a serial terminal as a console.


It should still install right? I get no activity after the message displayed above, no disk or cdrom activity.
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:57 pm

I know NextSTEP was particular about a stick of ram in my SS20 that Sol7 wasn't but I don't think that's what's the problem here. Everything in Next is GUI though so I agree that you need to get a keyboard and mouse.
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby kshuff » Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:36 am

D-EJ915 wrote:you need to get a keyboard and mouse.


Not as easy as you think, been looking for quite some time.
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby kjaer » Wed Sep 07, 2011 10:11 am

kshuff wrote:It should still install right?


I don't believe it will. I could do some experimentation for you, but it will take me some weeks to get around to.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
zmttoxics
Posts: 894
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby zmttoxics » Wed Sep 07, 2011 10:38 am

Yeah, in my experience (which includes 0 NeXT) the software needs to know that its outputting to serial. If the installer is pure gui (or loads from the gui) then chances are you wont get it to output to the serial.
Stuff.

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby kshuff » Wed Sep 07, 2011 11:14 am

zmttoxics wrote:Yeah, in my experience (which includes 0 NeXT) the software needs to know that its outputting to serial. If the installer is pure gui (or loads from the gui) then chances are you wont get it to output to the serial.



Damn :(
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
uridium
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:05 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby uridium » Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:28 am

I've had it running on a King Gecko 712/100 with 192mb ram. It can spawn a getty on a serial console, but requires a frame buffer for the install. Also, you'll later need to do the two-step boot to get it to not try and log into a NIS domain.. afair it defaults to one and you finish the install and suddenly buggar! you can't log in :)

Frame buffer required to the best of my knowledge. Sorry for the bad news.
Al Boyanich
adb -w -P "world> " -k /dev/meta/galaxy/ksyms /dev/god/brain

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby kshuff » Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:17 am

uridium wrote:I've had it running on a King Gecko 712/100 with 192mb ram. It can spawn a getty on a serial console, but requires a frame buffer for the install. Also, you'll later need to do the two-step boot to get it to not try and log into a NIS domain.. afair it defaults to one and you finish the install and suddenly buggar! you can't log in :)

Frame buffer required to the best of my knowledge. Sorry for the bad news.


I've got a video card in one of the systems so that's not a problem, and I managed to get a keyboard and mouse so, we'll give it another try.
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
uridium
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:05 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby uridium » Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:27 pm

Nice! looking forward to hearing more of your adventures. :)
Al Boyanich
adb -w -P "world> " -k /dev/meta/galaxy/ksyms /dev/god/brain

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby kshuff » Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:20 am

Finally got around to installing NextStep last night. After trying to get the system to use the framebuffer instead of outputting to serial, it finally installed. But, I still have issues. Sometimes when I power it up, it still outputs to serial and I get this on the terminal:

Code: Select all

Loading NEXTSTEP
Loading mach_kernel

Reading NEXTSTEP configuration
Reading configuration file '/private/Drivers/hppa/HPPANGLEFrameBuffer.config/Default.table'
Reading configuration file '/private/Drivers/hppa/HILKeyboard.config/Default.table'
Reading configuration file '/private/Drivers/hppa/GeckoKeyboard.config/Default.table'
Reading configuration file '/private/Drivers/hppa/eci596.config/Default.table'
Starting NEXTSTEP
NeXT Mach 3.3: Tue Feb 14 20:55:37 PST 1995; root(rcbuilder) :mk-172.3.32.obj~5/RC_hppa/RELEASE_HPPA
physical memory = 208.00 megabytes
using 255 buffers containing 1.99 megabytes of memory
available memory = 198.48 megabytes.  vm_page_free_count = 633e


which just sits there and does nothing. If I push the reset button a few times I can get it to come up using the framebuffer, I get the nice NEXTSTEP splash screen on the monitor which says starting nextstep, but that has been sitting there like that since last night, no messages on serial. ???
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
zmttoxics
Posts: 894
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby zmttoxics » Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:44 am

Sounds like the system is having troubles discovering the framebuffer OR you have a toast nvram battery. Again, i have 0 next experience and its showing. :)
Stuff.

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby kshuff » Fri Aug 24, 2012 12:22 pm

zmttoxics wrote:Sounds like the system is having troubles discovering the framebuffer OR you have a toast nvram battery. Again, i have 0 next experience and its showing. :)



Replaced the battery before I did the install.
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<

User avatar
kshuff
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:13 pm
Location: Jonas, PA USA
Contact:

Re: NeXTSTEP on HP PA-RISC

Unread postby kshuff » Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:28 pm

May have fixed it. Tracked down the service manual online and according to the diagnostic LED's I came up with an HPMC due to a bus error. Turns out the system I/O board was the culprit and replacing it with a spare board from another 735 did the trick, I'm no longer getting an HPMC. But, turns out the super block on the drive is trashed, so running fsck now, let you guys know how I make out.
-ks

:Onyx: :Onyx: :Crimson: :O2000: :Onyx2: :Fuel: :Octane: :Octane2: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :320: :540: :O3x0: :1600SW: :1600SW: :hpserv:

See them all >here<


Return to “HP/DEC/Compaq”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests