What IBM hardware do we have..?

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
vishnu
Posts: 2031
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby vishnu » Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:32 pm

XenT wrote:Hahah you saw good, IBM Total Storage lanyard, and in the backgroud an InfoWindow keyboard :)

The Big Blue hardhat definitely wins the prize though! You've gotta crop that into a headshot and put it in as your avatar... :D

I stuck a maxtor LXT-200 234 megabyte drive into my PS/2 50z in October 2001, I shudder to think about what I must have paid for it:

Code: Select all

===============================================================================
                       MAXTOR MODEL LXT-200S SCSI DRIVE
===============================================================================

              Interface: SCSI                  RLL 1,7 Encoding

Capacity, Unformatted                Capacity, Formatted ESDI Compatible

Per Drive (Mbytes)  : 234.00         Per Drive (Mbytes)  :  201.00
Per Surface (Mbytes):                Per Surface (Mbytes):  29.60
                                     Per Sector (Bytes)  :  512

Parameters                           Performance Specifications

Cylinders  :  Physical=1320          Transfer rate. Mbits/sec      :  10
           :  Logical=1314           Access Time (Average)         :  15msec
           :  Sectors/Track(6 Zones) Access Time (Track-To-Track)  :  3msec
           :  Zone 1=33              Access Time Maximum)          :  30msec
           :  Zone 3=53
Data Heads :  7
Pre-Comp   :  NONE

MTBF:  50,000 Hours (POH)            Dimensions (Inches): 1.625"x4.0"x5.750"

I also upgraded the RAM to 4 meg. I shudder to think what that expenditure must have been too... :roll:

I think I still have the original teensy hard disk it came with, if anyone wants it give me a holler, I think it sports a DOS 6.22
installation... :shock:

Oh and the original IBM keyboard is indestructible, it's plugged into my 200 MHz Pentium Pro, running Slackware 13.0, doing duty as the firewall between the Internet and my LAN. Numerous NMB keyboards have bit the dust over the period of time that this keyboard has been performing flawlessly. It's built like a Sherman Tank, from the era before the keyboard industry became comoditized...
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

SAQ
Posts: 5758
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby SAQ » Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:23 pm

vishnu wrote:Oh and the original IBM keyboard is indestructible, it's plugged into my 200 MHz Pentium Pro, running Slackware 13.0, doing duty as the firewall between the Internet and my LAN. Numerous NMB keyboards have bit the dust over the period of time that this keyboard has been performing flawlessly. It's built like a Sherman Tank, from the era before the keyboard industry became comoditized...


Must be a Model M. Quite possibly the best keyboard ever made.
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

pepinho
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby pepinho » Thu Dec 23, 2010 2:54 pm

I have an IBM XT (8088) with a 20 MB MFM hard disk and 640 KB of RAM. I plan to test PC/IX in this machine.

I also have an IBM PS/1 with a 486SX @ 20 MHz, 32 MB RAM and 500 MB hard disk. I plan to run Xenix in this machine.

nigwil
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:39 pm
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby nigwil » Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:57 pm

    AS/400 9404-E20 V3R2
    AS/400 9401-P03 V3R1
    AS/400 9401-150 V4R4
    AS/400 9406-720 V5R1?
    PS/2 55SX (both dead, floppy drive faults)
    IBM Thinkpads

I have happily collected several AS/400s, have not powered the 720 yet due to the special power cabling requirements (15A mains), and one of the 150s is sick (showing a SRC 00000003 - short in PSU?), the others work well, managed to get Token Ring network between the E20 and the P03.

A friend has a IBM 3430 tape drive off a System/38 and I understand that adding a SPD 2644 to the E20 and some suitable bus/tag/terminator cables between them and it might work.

https://picasaweb.google.com/1182472902 ... directlink

If anyone has spare bus/tag cables and terminators that are surplus to their needs would be interested in discussing shipping options.
:Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Cube: :pdp8e:
Unisys A7-111, Unisys A4/System 80/7E, IBM AS/400 9404-E20, 9401-P03, 9401-150, 9406-720, SUN 3,IPX,Ultra,SS, Transputers

thunng8
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: My personal update with regard to IBM, let me also say..

Unread postby thunng8 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 8:06 pm

ilukeberry wrote:I have to disagree with you... There is a lot of opensource software being compiled and packaged in .rpms for AIX.. and it's fairly up2date http://www.perzl.org/aix/
Also my 9111-285 is build like a tank and it works very well.. currently the fastest RISC box i own.


Looking to getting back into UNIX workstations and the 285 caught my eye .. and maybe learn AIX as well :) PCs and Macs are so boring ...

Its down to trying to get a HP c8000 or a IBM 9111-285. How does HP-UX and AIX compare?

Also, how fast the 285 for general use .. eg. using Firefox 3.5/3.6? If you don't mind, trying running this javascript benchmark on your machine:

http://www.webkit.org/perf/sunspider-0. ... river.html

Thanks!
My Systems:
Apple MacBookPro, 2.66Ghz Dual Core i7, Nvidia 330M GT, 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD + 750GB (optibay)
AMD Phenom II X4 3.4Ghz, Nvidia 9800GT, 8Gb RAM, 2TB + 1.5TB
Apple iBook G4, 1.2ghz G4, ATI 9200, 768MB RAM, 80GB.
HP c8000, 1.1Ghz Dual Core PA-8900, ATI FireGL X3, 6GB RAM, 2x73GB

SAQ
Posts: 5758
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: My personal update with regard to IBM, let me also say..

Unread postby SAQ » Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:31 am

thunng8 wrote:Looking to getting back into UNIX workstations and the 285 caught my eye .. and maybe learn AIX as well :) PCs and Macs are so boring ...

From a hardware standpoint yes, they're all based around the same commodity ASICs, but from a software standpoint they do have some interesting tricks. Definitely common, but that's not always bad.

Its down to trying to get a HP c8000 or a IBM 9111-285. How does HP-UX and AIX compare?



Given the choice of the two I'd go AIX, no questions. HP-UX is pretty plain SysV+Veritas, while AIX still has some neat tricks in it that other systems don't necessarily add (going off of what I've skimmed, as my systems are all old MCA-based so I've not played with 5.3, 6.1 or 7). If you know of a specific reason for you to go HP-UX that may swing things, but otherwise it's not too interesting.

It also doesn't hurt that POWERs are still being produced whereas PA-RISC has been on the dump pile for a few years. If you do go HP-UX I'd recommend looking for a Itanium so you're at least at the current version on current hardware. On the additional bump note there you can try out OpenVMS as well, and get the feel for another OS with some very innovative/well implemented features that may sadly be dying.
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

thunng8
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:35 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: My personal update with regard to IBM, let me also say..

Unread postby thunng8 » Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:24 am

SAQ wrote:
Given the choice of the two I'd go AIX, no questions. HP-UX is pretty plain SysV+Veritas, while AIX still has some neat tricks in it that other systems don't necessarily add (going off of what I've skimmed, as my systems are all old MCA-based so I've not played with 5.3, 6.1 or 7). If you know of a specific reason for you to go HP-UX that may swing things, but otherwise it's not too interesting.

It also doesn't hurt that POWERs are still being produced whereas PA-RISC has been on the dump pile for a few years. If you do go HP-UX I'd recommend looking for a Itanium so you're at least at the current version on current hardware. On the additional bump note there you can try out OpenVMS as well, and get the feel for another OS with some very innovative/well implemented features that may sadly be dying.


I ended up getting a c8000. I wanted a IBM 285, but none were listed in Australia and shipping from overseas would've costed a fortune. I'll definitely keep an eye out for a 285 and maybe also get back in SGI as well :)
My Systems:
Apple MacBookPro, 2.66Ghz Dual Core i7, Nvidia 330M GT, 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD + 750GB (optibay)
AMD Phenom II X4 3.4Ghz, Nvidia 9800GT, 8Gb RAM, 2TB + 1.5TB
Apple iBook G4, 1.2ghz G4, ATI 9200, 768MB RAM, 80GB.
HP c8000, 1.1Ghz Dual Core PA-8900, ATI FireGL X3, 6GB RAM, 2x73GB

MDBenson
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:47 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby MDBenson » Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:23 pm

You were saying about the 285...?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/pixel_maso ... 863218653/

I has one !!

pip
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 6:50 pm
Location: Long Beach, CA

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby pip » Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:20 am

Just in case anyone didn't see this on the sun-rescue list today:
there's a whole bunch of brand-new in-box 2-way IntelliStation 285s on eBay UK right now for GBP 150!

Amazing price, I wish I could get one in the US for that much
:Octane: R12K/300x2, MXE
:1600SW: :ChallengeL:

User avatar
rem
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:58 am

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby rem » Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:35 pm

43p-150 375MHz, 512mb, 2x9gb
630 6c4 2way 1.45ghz, 16gb, 2x36
Moto Powerstack 167mhz, 128mb, 2gb
Image Image Image Image Image
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image Image

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Fri Nov 09, 2012 7:35 am

So I never posted here. My AIX boxen are a 2-way POWER6 Power 520, which is my main server, and an Apple Network Server, running AIX 6.1TLmumble and 4.1.5 respectively. I've thought about getting an old RS/6000 workstation with 3.2.5 to relive the glory days, since I administered a passle of 3.2.5 machines in my previous career.

Other than that, my other real honest-to-Watson hardware is a beat-up old Aptiva which I don't know why I've kept all these years, and a couple of PCjrs which were the only PCs I actually liked because the Peanut was an appealing little machine. I even have the hard case for it.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 800MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT (full hinv pending)
probably posted from Image bruce, 2x2x2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 8GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

tingo
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby tingo » Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:59 am

bluecode wrote:
kev009 wrote:Hardware member, though I do wish I kept the P/390 to throw in an RS/6000.


Curioser and curiouser...what did you mean by this? Can you put an RS/6000 board in a P/390? And what can you do with it?

I believe it is the other way around; you put the 390 board into an RS/6000. :mrgreen:
Torfinn

User avatar
miod
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:44 am
Location: Orgerus (France)
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby miod » Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:37 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:I've thought about getting an old RS/6000 workstation with 3.2.5 to relive the glory days, since I administered a passle of 3.2.5 machines in my previous career.

The glory days? Looks like you've never had to put an AIX 3 machine in an YP network... :evil:
:Indigo:R4000 :Indigo:R4000 :Indigo:R4000 :Indigo2:R4400 :Indigo2IMP:R4400 :Indigo2:R8000 :Indigo2IMP:R10000 :Indy:R4000PC :Indy:R4000SC :Indy:R4600 :Indy:R5000SC :O2:R5000 :O2:RM7000 :Octane:2xR10000 :Octane:R12000 :O200:2xR12000 :O200: - :O200:2x2xR10000 :Fuel:R16000 :O3x0:4xR16000 :A350:
among more than 150 machines : Apollo, Data General, Digital, HP, IBM, MIPS before SGI, Motorola, NeXT, SGI, Solbourne, Sun...

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sat Nov 10, 2012 4:10 pm

No, we weren't a YP/NIS shop. And thank goodness. :lol:
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 800MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, R10000, Solid IMPACT (full hinv pending)
probably posted from Image bruce, 2x2x2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 8GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * HP C8000 * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4348
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: What IBM hardware do we have..?

Unread postby pentium » Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:06 pm

Porn Bump.
Attachments
CRW_7793.JPG
CRW_7793.JPG (52.18 KiB) Viewed 1104 times
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests