Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Searching for hard-to-find gear? A post in here might just shake something loose!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
henrycault
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:30 am
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec
Contact:

Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby henrycault » Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:59 am

I just purchased an Origin300, and by the seller, there wont be any hard drives inside.

So, while i am waiting for the machine, i would need a pair of rails.

Located in quebec, canada, thanks
:Octane: 270Mhz SI 384Mb ram :Octane2: 2x360Mhz V6 1.5Gb ram
:O2000: Death by flooding... :(
Amiga A3000D / Full ECS, Kickstart 3.1, 2Mb CHIP/24Mb FAST with 2+18Gb SCSI HD
Amiga A1200 starting to work on this one.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5442
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby recondas » Tue Aug 23, 2011 12:02 pm

The O300 used an off the shelf drive sled, so an identical sled from an Intel-based server can sometimes be found on eBay.

However, I'd suggest waiting until your O300 arrives before you purchase some. Even it doesn't have hard drives installed, it may still have a drive sled (or two, if you're lucky) - in drive slots without hard drives installed SGI used the drive sled (with a plastic baffle in place of the hard drive) to control air flow. Since there's no hard drive to remove for security purposes, sometimes the sled/baffle gets left in place.

Details on the sled, baffle, and OEM drive sled assembly numbers (the sled part number common to SGI and other systems like those made or sold by Intel) are in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16725116
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
henrycault
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:30 am
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby henrycault » Tue Aug 23, 2011 12:47 pm

Ooh. So unless it really had hard drives that were pulled, there is a chance the sleds are already inside... That is interesting.
:Octane: 270Mhz SI 384Mb ram :Octane2: 2x360Mhz V6 1.5Gb ram
:O2000: Death by flooding... :(
Amiga A3000D / Full ECS, Kickstart 3.1, 2Mb CHIP/24Mb FAST with 2+18Gb SCSI HD
Amiga A1200 starting to work on this one.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5442
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby recondas » Tue Aug 23, 2011 12:56 pm

henrycault wrote:Ooh. So unless it really had hard drives that were pulled, there is a chance the sleds are already inside... That is interesting.

Since the seller is asking $46 per sled for the only examples currently on eBay, I'd say it's worth waiting to see if there are any in your O300 (or until some more are listed on eBay).
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1678
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby smj » Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:27 pm

And as a reminder, if anybody has any equivalent non-SGI part numbers for the O300 drive sled, please post them here or in the thread recondas referenced, and we'll get it into the relevant part of the wiki. Thanks!
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

kais58
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:04 pm

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby kais58 » Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:06 am

Are the O300 caddies the same as O350? If so I have some non sgi part numbers that would work.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5442
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby recondas » Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:49 am

kais58 wrote:Are the O300 caddies the same as O350?

The O300 and O350 sleds aren't the same - though it is possible to modify an O350 sled so it will work in an O300. Here's a photo of the two side by side: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16725116&p=7338842&#p7338842

...and a link to bplaa.yai's post on modifying the (cheaper and easier to source) O350-style sled for use in an O300: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16719820&

kais58 wrote:If so I have some non sgi part numbers that would work.

The nekowiki lists a few of the part numbers used by Intel - if you have any others please add them to the wiki or post them here.
http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/ ... e_Carriers

smj - This appears to be the same sled used in the O300 - it carries Intel part number 746797-001.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
henrycault
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:30 am
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby henrycault » Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:54 am

I just received The O300, and Recondas you were right, it does have a pair of air baffles that are actually plastic covers screwed on a standard caddy.

And as a bonus the O300 came with a Fibre channel card SGI PN: 9210200

Gotta go play with it now!
:Octane: 270Mhz SI 384Mb ram :Octane2: 2x360Mhz V6 1.5Gb ram
:O2000: Death by flooding... :(
Amiga A3000D / Full ECS, Kickstart 3.1, 2Mb CHIP/24Mb FAST with 2+18Gb SCSI HD
Amiga A1200 starting to work on this one.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5442
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby recondas » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:07 am

henrycault wrote:I just received The O300, and Recondas you were right, it does have a pair of air baffles that are actually plastic covers screwed on a standard caddy.

And as a bonus the O300 came with a Fibre channel card SGI PN: 9210200

Gotta go play with it now!
If it has two, it probably means it was a slave/expansion unit in a multi-module set up.

If so the L1 and LCD display will have a slot number numerically higher than 001c01 - where 001 is the rack number, c is the brick/module type, and 01 is the slot number. As long as it has an IO8 (and most O300 expansion modules usually do have an IO8), there's no major harm or foul as far as running a single O300 goes.

If it is something other than 001c01, and you ever add a second O300 (or just want to be by-the-book correct), you can change the slot number to 01 with the the L1 command "brick slot 01". "help brick" at the L1 command prompt or "l1cmd help brick" in an IRIX root prompt will give you syntax details. On the odd chance you don't already know, the O300's the console port communicates at 38400/8/N/1; a "control t" key-press gets you into the L1, "control d" to switch to power-on diagnostics, the PROM or IRIX.

Looking forward to an hinv post. :D
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
henrycault
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:30 am
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby henrycault » Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:28 pm

Yes, i already changed the slot number to 01, when i first powered it, it was set to 001c14 meaning it came from one hell of a setup...

Yes there is an IO8 inside, only slight problem i might have in the near future, is the log was full with FAN1 failures, and there is a noisy fan inside (well more noisy than the rest...)

Tonight i should get Irix loaded and an hinv ready.
:Octane: 270Mhz SI 384Mb ram :Octane2: 2x360Mhz V6 1.5Gb ram
:O2000: Death by flooding... :(
Amiga A3000D / Full ECS, Kickstart 3.1, 2Mb CHIP/24Mb FAST with 2+18Gb SCSI HD
Amiga A1200 starting to work on this one.

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 4953
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby jan-jaap » Thu Aug 25, 2011 1:06 pm

Since you probably want to replace that faulty fan, you might as well change them all, which will make the thing *much* more quiet: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16718040
:PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2+: Image :Fuel: :Tezro: :4D70G: :Skywriter: :PWRSeries: :Crimson: :ChallengeL: :Onyx: :O200: :Onyx2: :O3x02L:
To accentuate the special identity of the IRIS 4D/70, Silicon Graphics' designers selected a new color palette. The machine's coating blends dark grey, raspberry and beige colors into a pleasing harmony. (IRIS 4D/70 Superworkstation Technical Report)

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5442
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby recondas » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:22 pm

henrycault wrote:Yes, i already changed the slot number to 01, when i first powered it, it was set to 001c14 meaning it came from one hell of a setup.
SGI's default assignment of slot numbers sometimes seems counter-intuitive - the slot number doesn't necessarily reflect the number of bricks or modules installed in a rack.

There are 17 rack units (or slots in SGI-speak) in a short rack, 39 in a tall rack (each rack unit, or "U", is 1.75"; an O300 is 2U high). The rack units/slot numbering start at the bottom. In the case of SGI O3x0/O3k racks, the slot numbers are stamped into the front and rear rack rail uprights.

SGI didn't always completely fill racks, and didn't always configure rack systems starting at the bottom of the rack (slot 01). Except for the master module, all modules in a rack are numbered based upon the slot number (in the rack) they physically occupy - regardless of how many slots below might have been left unused.

For instance, while the master O300 in the attached photo was 001c01 (you can ignore ikitsune, and no, I didn't take the photo), the second, third and fourth O300 were 001c18, 001c22 and 001c24. The Router Module was 001r20, and the PCI Expansion Module (physically installed below the master O300/001c01) was 001p14.
Attachments
O300 at Huntsville.jpg
If you haven't had the pleasure, that's ikitsune in the photo.....
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1678
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby smj » Sat Sep 03, 2011 6:49 pm

recondas wrote:smj - This appears to be the same sled used in the O300 - it carries Intel part number 746797-001.

I did some more poking around and created an Origin 300 HDD carrier page that's now included in the main Origin 300 wiki page, similar to what I did for the O350.

However the assembly number from SGI units has not always been useful when searching for replacement parts in the Internet. It is believed based on visual similarities that Intel part number 746797-001 may be the same OEM part, but to date this has not been verified. If true, this part number is referenced in some sources as being used on Intel's SR1200/2200 and ISP2150G servers. However images from eBay auctions appear more similar to the SGI Origin 350-style drive sled, and indeed the Intel product guide for the SR1200 has diagrams showing a unit more similar to that used in the SGI Origin 350.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1678
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby smj » Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:34 pm

Update: For kicks, I ordered a 746797-001 off of ePay -- it fits the O300 just fine. Updated this wiki page to reflect this.

I also noticed an auction for "GATEWAY Hard Drive Blank Caddy 741202-001" that from the pictures looks to be an identical part. Added that to the wiki as speculative.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1678
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: Wanted: O300 hard drive rails

Unread postby smj » Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:38 pm

And hey, if you haven't found it yet you should check out this thread Drive sleds for Origin300.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:


Return to “Hardware Wanted”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yandex [Bot] and 2 guests