Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Contact:

Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby Adrenaline » Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:31 pm

Got a Rj45->DB9 cable so I could setup my Sunfire V100, the usual boot up started and it appears to be trying to boot off of the hard drive that was in there, except it keeps throwing this message:

Code: Select all

Cannot mount root on /pseudo/md@0:0,10,blk fstype ufs

panic[cpu0]/thread=10408000: vfs_mountroot: cannot mount root

0000000010407970 genunix:vfs_mountroot+70 (10436000, 0, 0, 10438f68, 10, 14)
  %l0-3: 0000000010436000 00000000104398c8 00000000de000000 0000000010436418
  %l4-7: 0000000000000000 0000000010413878 00000000000bc27c 000000000000027c
0000000010407a20 genunix:main+8c (104101d0, 2000, 10407ec0, 10408030, fff2, 10051178)
  %l0-3: 0000000000000001 0000000000000001 0000000000000015 0000000000000f01
  %l4-7: 0000000010429190 00000000104623c8 00000000000d44d0 00000000000004d0

skipping system dump - no dump device configured
rebooting...
Resett
LOM event: +1d+1h52m5s host reset
ing ...


So naturally I popped a Solaris 11 Express CD into the cd-rom drive and attempted to stop-a the boot process in order to do a boot cdrom.

However, Hitting Stop-A on my Sun keyboard doesn't bring me to the LOM prompt, is there something I'm missing?
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby porter » Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:58 pm

What terminal are you using? I use "minicom" which lets you send a proper "break".
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby Adrenaline » Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:03 pm

Using PuTTY, but I will try Minicom and see if that does it, thanks for the suggestion!
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

User avatar
zmttoxics
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby zmttoxics » Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:03 pm

SPARC 101. If it booted with out the keyboard, it will not recognize the keyboard when you plug it in. It has to be present at power on.

Your terminal emulator should have a method of sending a break getting around the keyboard. I would check the man page.
Stuff.

mmk
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:13 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby mmk » Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:01 am

Go back to the LOM by pressing #. in the serial console instead of using the additional keyboard. In there you can just issue the break, obviously with the 'break' command, and then return to the console with 'console'..
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :O200: :O200: :O3x0: :Onyx2R:

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby Adrenaline » Sat Aug 27, 2011 5:46 pm

No dice using XShell 4 with or without a keyboard I can't seem to get it to recognize a break.
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

User avatar
zmttoxics
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby zmttoxics » Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:38 pm

If you pull all boot devices, it should boot to the ok prompt. Then you could do a `setenv auto-boot? false` so the next time it boots with the disk installed, it will stop at the ok.
Stuff.

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby Adrenaline » Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:43 pm

Now I get this:

Code: Select all

Boot device: net  File and args:                                     
Link hasn't comeup yet.
Will try to communicate anyway.
Network Link Setup Failed.
Please Check Cable and Try Again.
Network Link Setup Failed.
Please Check Cable and Try Again.
ARP/RARP send failed.  Check Ethernet cable and transceiver.
Network Link Setup Failed.
Please Check Cable and Try Again.
Network Link Setup Failed.
Please Check Cable and Try Again.
ARP/RARP send failed.  Check Ethernet cable and transceiver.
Network Link Setup Failed.
Please Check Cable and Try Again.
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby porter » Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:25 pm

Is your network connected?

Is your terminal actually recognized at all?
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
zmttoxics
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby zmttoxics » Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:36 am

Ah, forgot it goes to net boot first... My bad. You could setup a JET jumpstart server fairly easily, I have a post on here somewhere with the instructions.

More importantly, your terminal emulator should be able to send a break. Sometimes you need to send the first character twice though. I use `tip` on my solaris boxes and i believe `picocom` on linux.
Stuff.

User avatar
Adrenaline
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Sunfire V100 - Not booting properly

Unread postby Adrenaline » Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:16 pm

Thanks all, it ended up being my Serial Cable extension cable. Not thinking about the pinouts being slightly different for Sun/Cisco for the RJ45->Serial connection.

Did a straight connection and a boot cdrom, getting FreeBSD on it now.
:Indigo: 33mhz R3k/48mb/XS24 :Indy: 150mhz R4400/256mb/XL24 :Fuel: 600mhz R14kA/2gb/V10 Image 8x1.4ghz Itanium 2/8GB :O3x08R: 32x600mhz R14kA/24GB :Tezro: 4x700mhz R16k/8GB/V12/DCD/SAS/FC/DM5 (2x) :O3x0: 4x700mhz R16k/4GB :PrismDT: 2x1.6ghz 8mb/12gb/SAS/2xFGL


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest