Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 10:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:27 pm
Posts: 28
Hello everybody,
I must work with IRIX 6.5 running on an O² platform.

Two questions.

1- I accidentally closed the Console icon (which appears on the desktop every time the system is booted). The Toolchest is still visible but I can't find any menu option to open the Console icon again. How do I invoke it without rebooting the system? (sigh...)

2- I opened the Desk Clock from the Desktop tools, but then I am unable to close the damn thing (just the opposite problem as above!). In the "Desktop User's Guide", page 173, I read:

Quote:
Desk Clock appears on the screen as a borderless window. To display a window menu, position the cursor over Desk Clock, hold down the Alt key, and press the right mouse button. This lets you size, move, or quit Desk Clock, or use any other feature of the window menu.


It does not work. No such menu appears. :shock:

_________________
"Once genius is submerged by bureaucracy, a nation is doomed to mediocrity." (Richard Nixon)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Posts: 492
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
I don't use the default Toolchest anymore, but there should an option there somewhere to "Start New Console". As for the clock, that's odd... Still, it does have the window manager's border on the edge? hold the right mouse button on that on that. If all else fails, just bring up a terminal and kill it. Come to think of it, the window manager menus don't stay open with just a click, you have to hold the button....

Edit: Just for you, I checked with the default toolchest; it's System > Utilities > Start New Console

Edit2: Also, (left) alt-space brings up the menu.

Bit of a scatterbrain today I fear, sorry :-)

_________________
:Octane: halo, octane
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:27 pm
Posts: 28
Thank you for the hint... but the F@*%ing clock does not close!! I tried left Alt+space, tried left Alt+F4, but nothing happens... To kill the damn thing from the console requires to know the PID associated with it:

Quote:
SYNOPSIS

kill [-signal] pid. . .
kill -l


I tried the -l option, to try to spot the clock:

Quote:
When invoked with the -l option, kill will print a list of symbolic
signal names. The details of the kill are described in kill(2). For
example, if process number 0 is specified, all processes in the process
group are signaled.


But it returns a list of umpteen acronyms, 3 to 6 character long, among which I am unable to find something resembling a clock... uhm... :roll:

_________________
"Once genius is submerged by bureaucracy, a nation is doomed to mediocrity." (Richard Nixon)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Posts: 492
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Interesting. I seem to recall something about selecting which mode the window manager runs in, but alas all I get are memory faults. :-)
In any case, to list the processes running use ps -u username where username is your user name of course.

_________________
:Octane: halo, octane
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:35 am
Posts: 3830
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
The radar guy wrote:
Thank you for the hint... but the F@*%ing clock does not close!!

right click on the window -> exit

or the generic: right click on the window border -> exit

that was easy :mrgreen:

_________________
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:27 pm
Posts: 28
jan-jaap wrote:
The radar guy wrote:
Thank you for the hint... but the F@*%ing clock does not close!!

right click on the window -> exit

or the generic: right click on the window border -> exit

that was easy :mrgreen:


As I explained above, there is NO border, and right-clicking (with or without Alt) does not produce anything!

_________________
"Once genius is submerged by bureaucracy, a nation is doomed to mediocrity." (Richard Nixon)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:27 pm
Posts: 28
duck wrote:
Interesting. I seem to recall something about selecting which mode the window manager runs in, but alas all I get are memory faults. :-)
In any case, to list the processes running use ps -u username where username is your user name of course.


But when the system starts I am not asked to login! So, what username should I use with "ps"?... :?:

_________________
"Once genius is submerged by bureaucracy, a nation is doomed to mediocrity." (Richard Nixon)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Posts: 492
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
heh, gosh. Try whoami.

_________________
:Octane: halo, octane
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:27 pm
Posts: 28
Hey folks, at last I could kill the clock from console (I spotted the PID and it worked!).
But something definitely odd appears... I CAN'T SEE THE "FRONT PANEL"! I am unable to bring it up. And if I can't see the Front Panel, I can't even launch the File Manager!!! SOB!!! :(

_________________
"Once genius is submerged by bureaucracy, a nation is doomed to mediocrity." (Richard Nixon)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Posts: 492
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Well, I'm stumped. I have no idea what front panel you're talking about.

_________________
:Octane: halo, octane
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 4:10 pm
Posts: 920
Location: IRL
For future reference, the program 'xkill' gives you a 'killer cursor' that will close the next window you click on. Its easier than having to find out the pid and use the command line.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 347
Location: Texas
Also, a handy trick to find PIDs without browsing through the entire ps output is to use:

ps x | grep clock

where clock is the substring from the program name you wish to search for.

ps x |grep irefox

will find firefox and Firefox for example.

Then the old kill -9 PID will do the trick!

_________________
--
:Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Fuel: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Posts: 492
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Anyone happen to remember what/where that setting I was half-remembering was? MWM emulation vs something else or something?

_________________
:Octane: halo, octane
N.B.: I tend to talk out of my ass. Do not take it too seriously.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 551
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Sounds to me like the window manager has died?

_________________
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:12 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:53 pm
Posts: 2879
Location: USA
Any possibility that your mouse is misconfigured? See http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/ ... Under_IRIX


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group