Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:32 am
Posts: 6
Hi, all!
I am new to this board, so don't beat me if something goes wrong :D .
I have obtained the machine mentioned in the subject. It is setup terribly, because it was formerly in a network. Now I want to reinstall IRIX, but have some questions before.
The seller told me that there should be two disks in the machine, 1 of 16 and 1 of 72 GB. I started "hinv" at the boot prompt and it gave me 3 disks. "fx" did show 2 partitions on the first disk of 16 and 69 GB, / and /data01. Seems the volume manager has being started.
Now my questions:
How can I find out how many disks of which size are mounted in the machine? And can I replace the disks with my 36 GB disks with SCA connectors? And how do I open the Octane correctly when needed?
TIA for your thoughts and answers.

\\// Frank


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:04 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5190
Location: NC - USA
Hello Frank, welcome to nekochan.

SGI maintains a Technical Publications library. Included is the Octane Owner's Guide, you should find most of your hardware related answers there - including how to pull the hard drives and/or disassemble your Octane. http://techpubs.sgi.com/library/tpl/cgi ... /Octane_OG

Your 36GB SCA drives should work. If you remove the current drives from the drive sleds, be sure to save the drive mounting screws. They're a less common size.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:53 am
Posts: 225
Location: Boston, MA
Another good guide:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uuX-WarC4ns

_________________
:O2000: :Indigo: :Indy: x2 :Octane: :O2: :Fuel:WIP :1600SW:x2


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Posts: 494
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
About the 36GB drives, remember that SCSI tribal issues of course apply. The internal bus of the Octane is single ended, so most drives will work (ISTR someone mentioning there were LVD-only drives now, but typically higher-capacity?) (for the tribes reference: http://www.scsifaq.org/SCSIcommandments.html)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5749
Location: Renton, WA
duck wrote:
About the 36GB drives, remember that SCSI tribal issues of course apply. The internal bus of the Octane is single ended, so most drives will work (ISTR someone mentioning there were LVD-only drives now, but typically higher-capacity?) (for the tribes reference: http://www.scsifaq.org/SCSIcommandments.html)


They'd be very rare and not completely standards-compliant. What you can have now are drives that don't support narrow (8-bit) transfers, as that requirement was dropped from recent SCSI standards.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Posts: 662
Location: Lynnwood, WA
If you do loose the screws I found great success with the box of pan head #6-32, 3/8" long screws I picked up from the hardware store. Easy enough in the US, maybe harder to find in other regions.

I just swapped a few drives and found some longer screws on my sleds. At least on some 146gig HP branded drives the 1/2" long screws seemed like they might interfere with the PCB on the drive in some corners.

recondas wrote:
Your 36GB SCA drives should work. If you remove the current drives from the drive sleds, be sure to save the drive mounting screws. They're a less common size.

_________________
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: <--challenge S


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group