O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:36 pm

Thanks for the replies!!

So what about using the core from an Octane 360 module, putting it into an original O2 R12K/300 module? Could this then be adjusted to give an O2/425 or better?

I could move the resulting spare 300 core into an O2 250 module and either leave it at 300 or maybe oc a little.

I wondered whether using an original O2/300 module to hold a core from an Octane/360 would make changing the clock to 400+ easier compared to trying
to put anything quicker than a 300 into a 250 module.

However, atm I'm stuck anyway because I still don't know what resistors to move in order to attain a 3.5X multiplier on an O2 module.

Ian.
(07/Mar/2015) FREE! (collection only) 16x Sagitta 12-bay dual-channel U160 SCSI JBOD units.
Email, phone or PM for details, or see my forum post.
mapesdhs@yahoo.com
+44 (0)131 476 0796

User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:37 pm

The problem I believe is the 360's and 400's are soldered to the board and are not removable. The R12k-360 is basically a binned R12k-400, so basically if you're overclocking these you are limited to how far you can push the chips.

I have a dead O2 module that has had the 350 hack which surfaced recently, I will try to take a pic tomorrow and post it up for comparison.
:O3000: <> :O3000: :O2000: :Tezro: :Fuel: x2+ :Octane2: :Octane: x3 :1600SW: x2 :O2: x2+ :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: x2 :Indigo: x3 :Indy: x2+

Once you step up to the big iron, you learn all about physics, electrical standards, and first aid - usually all in the same day

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Thu Dec 02, 2010 1:25 am

Dr. Dave wrote:The problem I believe is the 360's and 400's are soldered to the board and are not removable. The R12k-360 is basically a binned R12k-400, so basically if you're overclocking these you are limited to how far you can push the chips.


Oh!! I thought the soldered ones started at 400. Ah well.


Dr. Dave wrote:I have a dead O2 module that has had the 350 hack which surfaced recently, I will try to take a pic tomorrow and post it up for comparison.


Ok, thanks! 8)

Ian.

User avatar
Alver
Posts: 760
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:46 pm
Location: Zele, Belgium
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby Alver » Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:55 pm

Can't believe I actually missed this thread; silly to resurrect it like this, but... has anyone got proper/clear instructions on how to overclock an r12k 300MHz to 350MHz in an O2? I'm reading a multiplier needs to be set at 3.5 from a stock 3.0, but $random_deity knows were or how... :)
while (!asleep()) sheep++;

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:33 pm

Alver wrote:Can't believe I actually missed this thread; silly to resurrect it like this, but... has anyone got proper/clear instructions on how to overclock an r12k 300MHz to 350MHz in an O2? I'm reading a multiplier needs to be set at 3.5 from a stock 3.0, but $random_deity knows were or how... :)



If relevant bits were copied to the wiki, we would have a reference point for this topic.

R.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Fri Jan 13, 2012 6:06 pm

I still don't know what the resistor positions are for the 350 setting. Got a stack of 250s to mod.

Ian.
(07/Mar/2015) FREE! (collection only) 16x Sagitta 12-bay dual-channel U160 SCSI JBOD units.
Email, phone or PM for details, or see my forum post.
mapesdhs@yahoo.com
+44 (0)131 476 0796

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:24 pm

(bump)

Does anyone happen to have pics showing the correct resistor positions for setting 350MHz on an O2 R12K CPU module?

Ian.

robespierre
Posts: 808
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby robespierre » Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:35 am

I thought that the R10K/R12K set its clock frequency (PClk, a multiple of the SysClk signal from the board) based on a 64-bit word written by the chipset at reset time. So I don't understand how moving resistors can affect that. The multiplier is part of the data contained in the serial ROM on the module, I thought.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

hamei
Posts: 10104
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby hamei » Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:49 am

robespierre wrote: The multiplier is part of the data contained in the serial ROM on the module, I thought.

And I thought a DM 10 was something special :)

In reality, the resistors change the multiplier just like on a old peecee .... been there, done that.

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:07 pm

Yep, but I'm still not sure what the resistor positions should be to set a 350Mhz clock. Does anyone know? Or
preferably have pics? Searching the archive doesn't help, web/image link refs are defunct.

I've done a 300, worked fine, but I'd like to try a 350.

Ian.
(07/Mar/2015) FREE! (collection only) 16x Sagitta 12-bay dual-channel U160 SCSI JBOD units.
Email, phone or PM for details, or see my forum post.
mapesdhs@yahoo.com
+44 (0)131 476 0796

User avatar
Alver
Posts: 760
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:46 pm
Location: Zele, Belgium
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby Alver » Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:41 am

Also still interested in this. My O2 already is a 300MHz, so 50 extra wouldn't kill it... but I don't want to risk blowing it up for lack of proper instructions. :)
while (!asleep()) sheep++;

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: O2 250MHz R10K Modded/Overclocked to a 350MHz R12K

Unread postby mapesdhs » Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:34 am

(another bump...)

Dr. Dave, did you ever have a chance to take a pic of that dud 350 module which you found?
Are you still here? Or can someone else with a working 350 mod supply a pic showing the
resistor positions?


I've just completed five R12K/300 mods for O2 (ie. moving 300 cores into 250 modules, moving
resistors to give 300MHz), but alas the 6th mod did not work (red light). Digging around, I found
an R10K/225 module. Moving the 300 core over gave a module which boots ok to the PROM,
but an IRIX boot fails just about when it starts to mount file systems (screen goes black, then after
a pause the display changes to the prompt saying it's ok to turn off the system). I can boot into
single user mode, but there's nothing in the SYSLOG.

I tried changing the crystal speed to make the CPU run at 250 instead, but the behaviour persists.
Shows up ok in hinv as R12K/250. As I type I'm running the ide tests (so far it's passed icache1,
icache2, dcache1, fpu, and scache1 to scache3; currently running scache4).

Any ideas anyone?

Ian.


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests