AIX 1.3

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby kjaer » Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:16 pm

miod wrote:But OS/2 1.x could run on a machine without an ABIOS - at least the version distributed by Microsoft. I am not sure IBM intended AIX 1 to be used on non-PS/2 machines.


It can. 1.2.1 was the first to ship with a separate install kernel (and boot disk) for ISA bus PCs. In fact the install can be run and completed on VPC6 but I never managed to get a full multi-user boot out of it afterward.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
neozeed
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:14 pm
Location: New York

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby neozeed » Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:54 pm

FWIW Virtual PC 2007 (6.0.192.0) can run AIX 1.3 again!... however you'll be plagued by constant hdr0 interrupt issues....

I guess I should just 'push thru' the install glitches backing up the vhd as I go...

At any rate I've also managed to get some SLIP routing with NT 4.0 .... Yeah I know it's crazy sounding, but it's a cheap router for the virtual world!
:Cube: O40-25Mhz!

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby porter » Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:32 am

neozeed wrote:... however you'll be plagued by constant hdr0 interrupt issues


That's really good emulation, just like my real PS/2 76i.
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

SAQ
Posts: 5758
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby SAQ » Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:13 am

I wonder if VirtualBox will do it - Vbox can run OS/2 which is an achievement, maybe it will also run AIX PS/2.
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

tenox
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 7:05 pm

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby tenox » Wed May 26, 2010 12:09 pm

Confirming that AIX 1.3 can be installed on VPC 2007.
To avoid the hd interrupt problem I boot from floppy disks, however select to run os from hd and boot in multi user. Kernel loaded from floppy disks seems not to have this problem.

Now SLIP time.

User avatar
chiaki
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby chiaki » Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:07 am

how are you install AIX on VPC ?
i have VPC version 6.0.192.0, but if i try to boot from the SCSI Bootfloppy i got a kernel panic and if i try ESDI it hangs at "init generic site - not checking root"
if i try the bootimages from http://ps-2.kev009.com:8081/aixps2/PTF0013/ it hangs on "init generic site - not checking root" too

i got a IBM PS/2 55sx with a running AIX 1.3 on it, but i cant really make big things because the harddrive ist very small (40mb) :(
EDIT: it works after i set the date to 1.1.1990 :o
But now it hangs on making the minidisks/slices : bld_multi_disks failed in creating page, then i have again the installmenu :(
My SGI Machines :O2: :Indigo: :Octane: :Indy: :PI:

User avatar
neozeed
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:14 pm
Location: New York

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby neozeed » Tue Oct 05, 2010 7:31 am

you may want to go into the BIOS and disable the 32bit block updates for the IDE and anything else that makes it sound like a 'good idea' for performance.
:Cube: O40-25Mhz!

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4362
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby pentium » Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:33 pm

Bit of a stroke of luck.
I have located IBM's QIC tape option for the PS/2. If I recall, 1.3 came in both floppy and tape form, right?
What are the chances I can rebuild a distro tape?
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
kjaer
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby kjaer » Sat Oct 23, 2010 10:25 pm

pentium wrote:Bit of a stroke of luck.
I have located IBM's QIC tape option for the PS/2. If I recall, 1.3 came in both floppy and tape form, right?
What are the chances I can rebuild a distro tape?


That depends on what you expect "distro tape" means.
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 818
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:22 am

You guys know if this would run on a Thinkpad 720? It's MCA
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Octane2: :hpserv: :hpserv: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy: system info on my website

ohland
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby ohland » Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:09 pm

D-EJ915 wrote:You guys know if this would run on a Thinkpad 720? It's MCA


Heck yes. http://ps-2.kev009.com:8081/ohlandl/AIX ... Index.html
PTF0024 (if not PTF0013) includes:
IX44807 Support has been added for the ThinkPAD Model 720/720c.
IX44850 Kernel enhancements for ThinkPAD 700 support.
IX45731 Add support for ThinkPAD 750/750c
IX36900 Support has been added for Thinkpad models. AIX 130 now supports the following Micro Channel Bus Architecture notebooks: N51 SX/SLC, CL57 SX, 700, 700C

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4362
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby pentium » Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:20 pm

Was IBM's 8-port MCA serial adapter compatible with 1.3? I have a Model 80 here that looks like a perfect rig to run on and hang loads of terminals off that.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
neozeed
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:14 pm
Location: New York

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby neozeed » Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:18 pm

You may want to run this through the translation filters... but it can be installed onto Bochs now.....!

http://ludens.elte.hu/~gomba/
:Cube: O40-25Mhz!

User avatar
noth
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:57 pm
Location: Lausanne

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby noth » Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:05 am

Hi there, I'm trying to get AIX 1.3 to install using virtualization (32 Megs of ram, 512Meg HDD image, using the VMX extension for vbox) on my vaio laptop:

- Using virtualbox4, with the VM set up as an OS/2 machine and the HDD either as a SCSI or IDE drive, I can't get beyond the initial green AIX screen, after having inserted the 2 boot and 1 install floppy (PTF0024 or basic versions).

- Using bochs I can't even get the floppy images to be read! It'll read OpenBSD or FreeDOS ones though. It just calls the floppy a non-bootable device. I'm stumped and that Hungarian Bochs Install page doesn't offer any clues as it "just works" for that guy.

Has anyone got a suggestion on what I may need to change to be able to install this quite curious OS ?

User avatar
R-ten-K
Posts: 1850
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 11:36 pm
Location: Nor Cal

Re: AIX 1.3

Unread postby R-ten-K » Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:31 pm

AIX probably expects a PS/2 Microchannel machine, which probably neither Bochs, vmware, nor virtualbox emulate since it's 20+ yr old HW.
"Was it a dream where you see yourself standing in sort of sun-god robes on a
pyramid with thousand naked women screaming and throwing little pickles at you?"


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest