Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 97 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Posts: 327
Location: Seattle, WA
miod wrote:
But OS/2 1.x could run on a machine without an ABIOS - at least the version distributed by Microsoft. I am not sure IBM intended AIX 1 to be used on non-PS/2 machines.


It can. 1.2.1 was the first to ship with a separate install kernel (and boot disk) for ISA bus PCs. In fact the install can be run and completed on VPC6 but I never managed to get a full multi-user boot out of it afterward.

_________________
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:14 pm
Posts: 52
Location: New York
FWIW Virtual PC 2007 (6.0.192.0) can run AIX 1.3 again!... however you'll be plagued by constant hdr0 interrupt issues....

I guess I should just 'push thru' the install glitches backing up the vhd as I go...

At any rate I've also managed to get some SLIP routing with NT 4.0 .... Yeah I know it's crazy sounding, but it's a cheap router for the virtual world!

_________________
:Cube: O40-25Mhz!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:37 pm
Posts: 2917
Location: NZ
neozeed wrote:
... however you'll be plagued by constant hdr0 interrupt issues


That's really good emulation, just like my real PS/2 76i.

_________________
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5758
Location: Renton, WA
I wonder if VirtualBox will do it - Vbox can run OS/2 which is an achievement, maybe it will also run AIX PS/2.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 7:05 pm
Posts: 15
Confirming that AIX 1.3 can be installed on VPC 2007.
To avoid the hd interrupt problem I boot from floppy disks, however select to run os from hd and boot in multi user. Kernel loaded from floppy disks seems not to have this problem.

Now SLIP time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:51 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Berlin, Germany
how are you install AIX on VPC ?
i have VPC version 6.0.192.0, but if i try to boot from the SCSI Bootfloppy i got a kernel panic and if i try ESDI it hangs at "init generic site - not checking root"
if i try the bootimages from http://ps-2.kev009.com:8081/aixps2/PTF0013/ it hangs on "init generic site - not checking root" too

i got a IBM PS/2 55sx with a running AIX 1.3 on it, but i cant really make big things because the harddrive ist very small (40mb) :(
EDIT: it works after i set the date to 1.1.1990 :o
But now it hangs on making the minidisks/slices : bld_multi_disks failed in creating page, then i have again the installmenu :(

_________________
My SGI Machines :O2: :Indigo: :Octane: :Indy: :PI:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 7:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:14 pm
Posts: 52
Location: New York
you may want to go into the BIOS and disable the 32bit block updates for the IDE and anything else that makes it sound like a 'good idea' for performance.

_________________
:Cube: O40-25Mhz!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Posts: 4303
Location: Kamloops, BC
Bit of a stroke of luck.
I have located IBM's QIC tape option for the PS/2. If I recall, 1.3 came in both floppy and tape form, right?
What are the chances I can rebuild a distro tape?

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 10:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 7:47 pm
Posts: 327
Location: Seattle, WA
pentium wrote:
Bit of a stroke of luck.
I have located IBM's QIC tape option for the PS/2. If I recall, 1.3 came in both floppy and tape form, right?
What are the chances I can rebuild a distro tape?


That depends on what you expect "distro tape" means.

_________________
:OnyxR: :IRIS3130: :IRIS2400: :Onyx: :ChallengeL: :4D220VGX: :Indigo: :Octane: :Cube: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Posts: 818
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
You guys know if this would run on a Thinkpad 720? It's MCA

_________________
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Octane2: :hpserv: :hpserv: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy: system info on my website


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:56 pm
Posts: 2
D-EJ915 wrote:
You guys know if this would run on a Thinkpad 720? It's MCA


Heck yes. http://ps-2.kev009.com:8081/ohlandl/AIX ... Index.html
PTF0024 (if not PTF0013) includes:
IX44807 Support has been added for the ThinkPAD Model 720/720c.
IX44850 Kernel enhancements for ThinkPAD 700 support.
IX45731 Add support for ThinkPAD 750/750c
IX36900 Support has been added for Thinkpad models. AIX 130 now supports the following Micro Channel Bus Architecture notebooks: N51 SX/SLC, CL57 SX, 700, 700C


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Posts: 4303
Location: Kamloops, BC
Was IBM's 8-port MCA serial adapter compatible with 1.3? I have a Model 80 here that looks like a perfect rig to run on and hang loads of terminals off that.

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:14 pm
Posts: 52
Location: New York
You may want to run this through the translation filters... but it can be installed onto Bochs now.....!

http://ludens.elte.hu/~gomba/

_________________
:Cube: O40-25Mhz!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:57 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Lausanne
Hi there, I'm trying to get AIX 1.3 to install using virtualization (32 Megs of ram, 512Meg HDD image, using the VMX extension for vbox) on my vaio laptop:

- Using virtualbox4, with the VM set up as an OS/2 machine and the HDD either as a SCSI or IDE drive, I can't get beyond the initial green AIX screen, after having inserted the 2 boot and 1 install floppy (PTF0024 or basic versions).

- Using bochs I can't even get the floppy images to be read! It'll read OpenBSD or FreeDOS ones though. It just calls the floppy a non-bootable device. I'm stumped and that Hungarian Bochs Install page doesn't offer any clues as it "just works" for that guy.

Has anyone got a suggestion on what I may need to change to be able to install this quite curious OS ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AIX 1.3
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 11:36 pm
Posts: 1846
Location: Nor Cal
AIX probably expects a PS/2 Microchannel machine, which probably neither Bochs, vmware, nor virtualbox emulate since it's 20+ yr old HW.

_________________
"Was it a dream where you see yourself standing in sort of sun-god robes on a
pyramid with thousand naked women screaming and throwing little pickles at you?"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 97 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group