Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: an O300
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 4:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9315
Nothing special but the x86 Solaris box was not all that exciting, so ...
Code:
johnny 1% hinv -vm
Location: /hw/module/001c02/node
       IP45_4CPU Board: barcode NCA592     part 030-1779-001 rev -C
Location: /hw/module/001c02/Ibrick/xtalk/14
             IO8 Board: barcode MMG442     part 030-1673-003 rev -G
Location: /hw/module/001c02/Ibrick/xtalk/15
             IO8 Board: barcode MMG442     part 030-1673-003 rev -G
4 500 MHZ IP35 Processors
CPU: MIPS R14000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.4
johnny 3% hinv -vm
Location: /hw/module/001c02/node
       IP45_4CPU Board: barcode NCA592     part 030-1779-001 rev -C
Location: /hw/module/001c02/Ibrick/xtalk/14
             IO8 Board: barcode MMG442     part 030-1673-003 rev -G
Location: /hw/module/001c02/Ibrick/xtalk/15
             IO8 Board: barcode MMG442     part 030-1673-003 rev -G
4 500 MHZ IP35 Processors
CPU: MIPS R14000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.4
FPU: MIPS R14010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 2.4
CPU 0 at Module 001c02/Slot 0/Slice A: 500 Mhz MIPS R14000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.4. Scache: Size 2 MB Speed 250 Mhz  Tap 0x1a
CPU 1 at Module 001c02/Slot 0/Slice B: 500 Mhz MIPS R14000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.4. Scache: Size 2 MB Speed 250 Mhz  Tap 0x1a
CPU 2 at Module 001c02/Slot 0/Slice C: 500 Mhz MIPS R14000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.4. Scache: Size 2 MB Speed 250 Mhz  Tap 0x1a
CPU 3 at Module 001c02/Slot 0/Slice D: 500 Mhz MIPS R14000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.4. Scache: Size 2 MB Speed 250 Mhz  Tap 0x1a
Main memory size: 2048 Mbytes
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Memory at Module 001c02/Slot 0: 2048 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 1 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 2 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 3 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
Integral SCSI controller 4: Version SAS/SATA LS1064
  Disk drive: unit 0 on SCSI controller 4 (unit 0)
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL12160, low voltage differential
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL12160, low voltage differential
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty3
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty4
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, module 001c02, pci 4
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1000, device 0x0050) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1216) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 4
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x11c1, device 0x5802) PCI slot 5
IOC3/IOC4 external interrupts: 1
HUB in Module 001c02/Slot 0: Revision 2 Speed 200.00 Mhz (enabled)
IP35prom in Module 001c02/Slot n0: Revision 6.145
USB controller: type OHCI


The only thing that's at all special is that I did a little butchery, used a scsi disk for boot and stuck a 500 gig sata disk in slot two for storage. That worked out nicely.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: an O300
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:46 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5162
Location: NC - USA
hamei wrote:
The only thing that's at all special is that I did a little butchery, used a scsi disk for boot and stuck a 500 gig sata disk in slot two for storage. That worked out nicely.
Nice - how about a photo or two of the mod when you get the chance?

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: an O300
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 5:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9315
recondas wrote:
Nice - how about a photo or two of the mod when you get the chance?

Can't see much through the baling wire right now ... plan is to replace the fans with quieter ones some time in 2012 and clean up the mess at that time.

It's hard to do anything nice without a Bridgeport and a surface grinder, isn't it ? I admire people who have the patience to sit there with a file for three days.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: an O300
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 5:30 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5162
Location: NC - USA
Did you use a 2.5" inch SATA drive? Looks like there's room for a SATA data/power cables to go under the SCA backplane <or through a hole filed/milled in the metal enclosure :D>, but it looks like a 3.5" drive mounted in the sled would be too close to the SCA backplane.

Those without an O300 can see the area we're discussing in this photo shamelessly borrowed from neko's hardware gallery. The hard drives are located in metal enclosure in the upper right corner, the LSI SAS/SATA host bus adapter would go into one of the PCI slots in the lower left corner:
Attachment:
O300.jpg
O300.jpg [ 195.78 KiB | Viewed 452 times ]

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: an O300
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9315
recondas wrote:
Did you use a 2.5" inch SATA drive? Looks like there's room for a SATA data/power cables to go under the SCA backplane <or through a hole filed/milled in the metal enclosure :D>, but it looks like a 3.5" drive mounted in the sled would be too close to the SCA backplane.

Slid the SCA backplane entirely out, dropped in the original boot disk from the Fuel. The scsi cable which used to connect to that backplane now connects directly to the boot disk. Added a two-to-one power splitter to a SATA disk in the other slot with a longish sata cord and away we go. I lost the hard drive activity lights doing it this way but those are mostly decorative anyhow. It would be possible to connect them elsewhere, I'm sure, but too much trouble for something that's going to be in a closed rack anyhow.

One thing I do notice is that MPlayer running remotely crashes. It starts up fine on the Origin, displaying on the Fuel, but as soon as it starts to play it locks up hard. Playing the same file over the network from MPlayer on the Fuel works fine. Anyone else with a similar setup care to test that ?

Should put a gigE card in also I suppose but so far the normal 10/100 connection is good enough.

Origin 300's are getting to be cheap. So far I like it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: an O300
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 1038
Location: constant traveler [nyc/london/berlin]
uhm, iirc it all takes a

Code:
jot /etc/sys_id

and "little richard" or "shakedown" (until you silence this rock n roller)

a propos, the sata hack that you guys came up with is wunderful, my next sgi gots to have one :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group