Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:05 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:37 am
Posts: 5735
Location: Renton, WA
Na, if anything it looks like a speaker from a stereo.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 10:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:22 am
Posts: 328
I have the same spec except only with 4GB of RAM. I gonna upgrade my RAM in the future to 8GB. Your case seems to be in very good condition with no scratch marks, great care you have


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:22 am
Posts: 328
I barely use VBOB and LUCID since I can't afford to buy DV deck atm. Do you spend alot on your RAM?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 8:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:22 am
Posts: 328
Does your wacom 4D Mouse works in IRIX?


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:22 am
Posts: 328
Mine does not come with 4D Mouse. I guess I will have to hunt around for it


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:22 am
Posts: 328
is it faster than the original sgi hdd? how much ian quote you? I might consider buying one of em


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:34 am
Posts: 5055
i switched to fujitsu myself last year and i'm quite pleased. silent, fast and not a single issue so far.
had cheetahs for years but they did not last as long as i expected for the price.
the old fc barracudas did well, too.

_________________
r-a-c.de


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9309
foetz wrote:
i switched to fujitsu myself last year and i'm quite pleased. silent, fast and not a single issue so far.

Tell you what I've been pleased as hell with - a $ 40 new 500GB Hitachi sata disk. Quiet as a mouse and seems to be just as fast as the scsi drives that came stock in the Fool.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:12 pm
Posts: 2724
Location: Kentucky, USA
I've had lots of scsi drives fail and only one ata drive fail, which is funny because I have a lot more ata and sata drives than scsi drives.

but scsi disks are made for the commercial environment and redundancy where if a disk fails it's not a big deal. so I guess they really aren't made to last. I kind of expect scsi disks to fail, but it was a real shock to have an ata-type drive die on me.

_________________
Image (8x3.0g) Image (2x1.4g) Image (vaio fit)
Previously: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Onyx:

"The Barbecue Ghost and Fernando Torres are friends."


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 6:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:12 pm
Posts: 2724
Location: Kentucky, USA
eMGee wrote:
Well, that certainly isn't my experience. Did you second-hand buy all those SCSI disks by any chance? The thing is, while mechanically speaking the drives may indeed suffer from the same sort of failures (bearings wearing out, to name something), SCSI and FC are often in the 10K and 15K+ RPM range, thus are better suited for RAID/LVM protection via mirroring and striping (being a lot faster).
I have a lot of second hand scsi disks and a lot of second hand sata disks. I rarely buy anything new.

eMGee wrote:
Aside reliability, about which opinions seem very mixed, the whole (P/S)ATA versus SCSI/FC discussion: You can't deny that SCSI and particularly FC outrun SATA easily. I haven't even mentioned iSCSI or SAS, the latter being an awkward hybrid of SCSI and SATA (in some regards) which appears to be making significant inroads...

imo, scsi for speed, sata for capacity and longevity.

Maybe because a 15k disk is double the speed of a 7.2 disk we can expect them to last half as long? That's certainly been my experience, anyways. YMMV.

_________________
Image (8x3.0g) Image (2x1.4g) Image (vaio fit)
Previously: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Onyx:

"The Barbecue Ghost and Fernando Torres are friends."


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:12 pm
Posts: 2724
Location: Kentucky, USA
I'm not comparing given MTBF failures or any concrete data... I just said I've seen a lot more SCSI disks fail than ATA disks. I also use a lot more ATA disks than SCSI disks. Most ATA disks I see are 10+ years old, my most recent SCSI faiure was at the end of July, in my octane, with a disk that I bought new in 2007.

However, if the silent fujitsu hype is to be believed I might pick up a pair for my PC.

_________________
Image (8x3.0g) Image (2x1.4g) Image (vaio fit)
Previously: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Onyx:

"The Barbecue Ghost and Fernando Torres are friends."


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 1038
Location: constant traveler [nyc/london/berlin]
eM, is the layout of your workspace still similar to the photos of your 1st post?

how's the noise coming out of the tez? can you work for more than 1h? could you do a quick+dirty vid w/ the mic being 1m away from it?

all the ones i've seen so far were in a separate room or inside a rack.

looks so dang seKsy!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9309
fu wrote:
looks so dang seKsy!

Oh-oh. fu's getting the itch :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:39 am
Posts: 1038
Location: constant traveler [nyc/london/berlin]
^ oh man! neko's tez thread did it

mr kowalski , me is a fool for colour voodoo


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9309
fu wrote:
mr kowalski , me is a fool for colour voodoo

Could you make a movie like that now, do you think ?

Good thing I'm poor ... don't think I could decide between an Onyx2, an Onyx 3200, a Tezro, or something home-made. Or a Reality Monster for the living room. Oh yeah.

You need a new SGI, fu. It's time to quit considering them as tools and just hold that Snap-On wrench in hand, marvel at its beauty. I have all Etalon mikes, just turning the thimbles gets me as hard as Chinese arithmetic.What to choose, what to choose ...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group