Avid TrueVision drivers

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4226
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby GeneratriX » Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:00 pm

QuicksilverG4 wrote:Old thread I know, but I must have skipped over this before. Diego, how weer you able to get the Targa cards working under Win 2K? They weren't supported past NT and all the questions I've ever seen regarding running them under 2000 were responded to with the answer that it was impossible.


Hey there, QuicksilverG4.

Well... to be honest, you'll not need to do nothing special at all. The fact is, that Win2KPro does not seem to reckon the Targa as a Plug-N-Play device, so the resources are basically unassigned... so, the key is simply try your board with every assgination of resources available on the Multimedia Tabs from Win2KPro, while you try all of those combinations with each free PCI slot.

[EDIT] ...and eventually you'll find a given setup that works as expected! [/EDIT]

Lots of users fail to obtain any success simply because the mainboard that they are using is assigning the PCI resources on a different way than the expected by the driver. But believe me... this is the only trick.

[EDIT] ...and I fail to see a fix for such kind of situations, but I'm sure they are a weird minory. [/EDIT]

At some point there was some kind of unnofficial couple of *.dll and *.sys files, to replace some original files... but none of them worked for me. Despite the fact that with those files the Targa board effectively appeared listed in the Hardware Explorer, as soon as any app using the board was launched, the driver crashed every time.

Please, bear in mind that I'm talking about things experimented by me about 12 years ago... but since I've offered support for a few customers, I'm completely sure that this was the way in which worked. Just try it, and if you happen to find any problem, feel free to drop me a P.M.

Also, it is not as if the Targa were the more stable A/V board over the planet... but I guess it behaved the same either under WinNT or Win2K... the video quality was simply outstanding, but the stability (to my humble opinion) was shamely poor.

[EDIT] ...summarizing, I guess it is a clear case where if you hold a bit of patience, you'll be paid. But it works. You can capture, play to video, and if you're lucky enough, also print the real time desktop to video.If you can't find the right combination of PCI slot and config, some features will be disabled. [/EDIT]

User avatar
QuicksilverG4
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: West of Philadelphia Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby QuicksilverG4 » Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:58 pm

Thanks, if I come across another one cheap I'll try it with Win 2K. There's always OS 9 on the Mac too but I don't know if anything on that really takes advantage of the Targa 2000 like MCXpress and Discreet Edit on the PC.

Pentium, did you ever get anywhere with your Avid cards? That would be the OS 9 option I guess.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4364
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby pentium » Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:25 pm

I managed to get teh breakout cables so I can actually use the card for video I/O but alas, the extensions/drivers/software still eludes me. :(
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
QuicksilverG4
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: West of Philadelphia Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby QuicksilverG4 » Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:28 pm

OK, well here's ISOs of the Windows and Mac drivers, etc for the Targa 1000/2000 in case you need them. It won't help with the other Avid boards but it should allow you to do captures at least.

http://home.comcast.net/~tmbannon/TARGA/TARGA_WIN.iso
http://home.comcast.net/~tmbannon/TARGA/TARGA_MAC.iso

I've come across posts from people who have tried to get Avid boards working in Macs but nothing too helpful yet. I saw a set of boards and dongles on ebay for something like $25 and that got me looking into this again.

User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4226
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby GeneratriX » Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:16 am

Well, I'll be over here if anyone needs something else about Targa over Win2KPro! ;)
I can't say it enough times, the video quality from Targa is impressive. I never finished to understand why the heck they don't pushed the drivers and the software side a bit more. Also, never tried any of them, but I guess the latest 3xxx Series from Targa should be something amazing to work with, and the driver model should be something more recent too. But probably they will score some higher $$$ to.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4364
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby pentium » Sat Feb 20, 2010 8:56 pm

You sure those disc images work?
I'm writing them to a disc using Nero and my mac is not detecting them and Ubuntu is complaining about a bad FS type and not mounting them.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4226
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby GeneratriX » Mon Feb 22, 2010 8:49 am

pentium wrote:You sure those disc images work?
I'm writing them to a disc using Nero and my mac is not detecting them and Ubuntu is complaining about a bad FS type and not mounting them.


I've tried the first one and it was fine. The second one instead, appears without content of any kind. But I don't know if it is a bad image or what...

SAQ
Posts: 5758
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:45 pm

pentium wrote:You sure those disc images work?
I'm writing them to a disc using Nero and my mac is not detecting them and Ubuntu is complaining about a bad FS type and not mounting them.


Try mounting the images using the loopback driver. Try running "file" on the images.
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
QuicksilverG4
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: West of Philadelphia Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby QuicksilverG4 » Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:57 pm

I'll redo the Mac version but I can't at the moment since the CDs have paper labels and the iMac's slot load drive doesn't like them. I'm working on getting another system up and running now.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4364
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby pentium » Mon Mar 08, 2010 8:09 pm

Thanks Quicksilver. It's still weird that it won't burn right. Are you able to amke toast images I know I can mount those directly.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
QuicksilverG4
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: West of Philadelphia Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby QuicksilverG4 » Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:37 pm

Sorry for the delay but some on the files on the CD seem to be corrupt. But I think all the important stuff is OK.

http://home.comcast.net/~tmbannon/TARGA/TARGAMAC.iso

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4364
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby pentium » Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:08 am

Okay, I'll give that a burn and see if that works any better.

Edit: Someone needs to if this latest image works and how they burned it as once again I'm given a disc that nothing wants to mount.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
QuicksilverG4
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: West of Philadelphia Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby QuicksilverG4 » Sat May 01, 2010 6:30 pm

It mounts fine for me in 10.5. Can't run anything of course but it mounts. Don't have an Classic-capable system at the moment.

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4364
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby pentium » Sun May 09, 2010 5:10 pm

That's probably my problem than as I'm trying to mount it on OS9.
That and I'm burning the iso to a CD-RW on a PC to read in my mac.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
QuicksilverG4
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: West of Philadelphia Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: Avid TrueVision drivers

Unread postby QuicksilverG4 » Mon May 10, 2010 8:37 pm

I think there may be an OS 9-capable Mac at work. I'll take my CD-R in there and see what I can do. I don't have the original CDs anymore.


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests