Sun Blade ram compatibility

Sun workstations/servers and operating systems (SunOS, Solaris and OpenSolaris)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
reid
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:44 am
Location: DC/MS

Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby reid » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:06 pm

I have two dead Sun Blade 1000s (I found that processors were screwed in too tight). I want to get my hands on a Sun Blade 2500, and I was wondering if the Blade 1000 ram would work in it.

Also, any ideas on what to do with these? Anyone know if the DVD drives will work in an Octane2 (Toshiba I *think*).

Thanks!
Sun Enterprise 420R: 4X450Mhz UltraSparc II, 4gb ram, Solaris
Sun Ultra 5: 360Mhz UltraSparc IIi, 256mb ram, OpenBSD

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
Contact:

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:19 pm

reid wrote:I have two dead Sun Blade 1000s (I found that processors were screwed in too tight). I want to get my hands on a Sun Blade 2500, and I was wondering if the Blade 1000 ram would work in it.


Not sure.
Look up the part number in http://docs.sun.com

reid wrote:Also, any ideas on what to do with these? Anyone know if the DVD drives will work in an Octane2 (Toshiba I *think*).

Thanks!


I only have SCSI CD drives in my Blade 1000 and the same model works on SGI.

What to do with these..
QuakeIII Team Arena, Blender, Sun Studio, MySQL, PHP, MediaWiki, xchat, PostgreSQL, Oracle..
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5269
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby recondas » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:22 pm

reid wrote:Anyone know if the DVD drives will work in an Octane2 (Toshiba I *think*).
*In* an Octane2? Not unless you do some metal work. But if they're SCSI DVD drives they should work fine *with* an Octane2 <which is what I think you actually meant anyway>. :D
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
zmttoxics
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby zmttoxics » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:29 pm

The blade 1000 ram is compatible with the 2000, but not the 2500. The IIIcu and IIIi cpus have different memory controllers. The 1500/2500/v250/v210/v240/v440 etc, all use DDR 1 PC2700 ECC Registered.
Stuff.

User avatar
reid
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:44 am
Location: DC/MS

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby reid » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:31 pm

recondas wrote:But if they're SCSI DVD drives they should work fine *with* an Octane2 <which is what I think you actually meant anyway>. :D
Yep, thanks.

PymbleSoftware wrote:
reid wrote:Also, any ideas on what to do with these?

What to do with these..
QuakeIII Team Arena, Blender, Sun Studio, MySQL, PHP, MediaWiki, xchat, PostgreSQL, Oracle..


They are dead, so I am thinking I will just part them out or sell them both for ultra cheap in the DC Metro area.
Sun Enterprise 420R: 4X450Mhz UltraSparc II, 4gb ram, Solaris
Sun Ultra 5: 360Mhz UltraSparc IIi, 256mb ram, OpenBSD

User avatar
reid
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:44 am
Location: DC/MS

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby reid » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:32 pm

zmttoxics wrote:The blade 1000 ram is compatible with the 2000, but not the 2500. The IIIcu and IIIi cpus have different memory controllers. The 1500/2500/v250/v210/v240/v440 etc, all use DDR 1 PC2700 ECC Registered.


Well I guess I will sell the ram to help pay for a 2500.
Sun Enterprise 420R: 4X450Mhz UltraSparc II, 4gb ram, Solaris
Sun Ultra 5: 360Mhz UltraSparc IIi, 256mb ram, OpenBSD

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 818
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:10 pm

PC2100 in my 2500 board if I remember correctly but it is standard ECC DDR, super cheap and easy to come by
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Octane2: :hpserv: :hpserv: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy: system info on my website

User avatar
zmttoxics
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby zmttoxics » Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:03 pm

D-EJ915 wrote:PC2100 in my 2500 board if I remember correctly but it is standard ECC DDR, super cheap and easy to come by

Thats true, sorry. I had a typo. 2100 is what the manual calls for. I do have 2700 / 3200 mixed in my 2500 at the moment though. :)
Stuff.

coredog64
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 5:02 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby coredog64 » Sat Mar 13, 2010 10:43 pm

How much ram and what are you asking for it? Just today I finally got off my duff and installed OpenSolaris on my SB1K. For some reason I thought it had 2G, but it's only 1G.

User avatar
gkl
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 9:49 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby gkl » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:22 am

D-EJ915 wrote:PC2100 in my 2500 board if I remember correctly but it is standard ECC DDR, super cheap and easy to come by


A word of warning--pay attention to your OpenBoot revision and the CAS latency. I believe all of these PC2100-based Suns are only spec'ed at CL2.0, which is a bit harder to find than the CL2.5 PC2100 ECC that's all over.

I've had little trouble actually running a Blade 1500 with CL2.5 PC2100 with OpenBoot 4.9.x, but upgrading to 4.14 or higher will prevent the system from booting on anything that's not CL=2.0. I had to downgrade from 5GB to 1GB for this reason :(
:Fuel: :O2: HP C8000, IBM RS/6000 43p 150, and lots of Suns in my collection

User avatar
mila
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:20 am
Location: Bålsta, Sweden

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby mila » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:53 am

gkl wrote:
D-EJ915 wrote:PC2100 in my 2500 board if I remember correctly but it is standard ECC DDR, super cheap and easy to come by


A word of warning--pay attention to your OpenBoot revision and the CAS latency. I believe all of these PC2100-based Suns are only spec'ed at CL2.0, which is a bit harder to find than the CL2.5 PC2100 ECC that's all over.

I've had little trouble actually running a Blade 1500 with CL2.5 PC2100 with OpenBoot 4.9.x, but upgrading to 4.14 or higher will prevent the system from booting on anything that's not CL=2.0. I had to downgrade from 5GB to 1GB for this reason :(

Strange that you did get more problems when upgrading openboot, I have had a 2500 since new with 16GB but at that time I hade 8 GB from Crucial and 8GB from Dataram which did not interleave fully, only the Dataram did work(CPU0) but after upgrading Openboot last summer the memory banks interleaves as they should which probably means that Openboot now properly reads the DRAM info from the DIMM.

============================ Memory Configuration ============================
Segment Table:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Base Address Size Interleave Factor Contains
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x0 8GB 16 BankIDs 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10, 11,12,13,14,15
0x1000000000 8GB 16 BankIDs 16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23 ,24,25,26,27,28,29,30,31

Bank Table:
-----------------------------------------------------------
Physical Location
ID ControllerID GroupID Size Interleave Way
-----------------------------------------------------------
0 0 0 512MB 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13 ,14,15
1 0 0 512MB
2 0 1 512MB
3 0 1 512MB
4 0 0 512MB
5 0 0 512MB
6 0 1 512MB
7 0 1 512MB
8 0 1 512MB
9 0 1 512MB
10 0 0 512MB
11 0 0 512MB
12 0 1 512MB
13 0 1 512MB
14 0 0 512MB
15 0 0 512MB
16 1 0 512MB 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13 ,14,15
17 1 0 512MB
18 1 1 512MB
19 1 1 512MB
20 1 0 512MB
21 1 0 512MB
22 1 1 512MB
23 1 1 512MB
24 1 1 512MB
25 1 1 512MB
26 1 0 512MB
27 1 0 512MB
28 1 1 512MB
29 1 1 512MB
30 1 0 512MB
31 1 0 512MB

Memory Module Groups:
--------------------------------------------------
ControllerID GroupID Labels Status
--------------------------------------------------
0 0 MB/DIMM0
0 0 MB/DIMM1
0 1 MB/DIMM2
0 1 MB/DIMM3
1 0 MB/DIMM4
1 0 MB/DIMM5
1 1 MB/DIMM6
1 1 MB/DIMM7

============================ Environmental Status ============================
Fan Status:
-------------------------------------------
Location Sensor Status
-------------------------------------------
MB dimm-fan okay
F1 CPU0 okay
F2 CPU1 okay
F3 Outtake okay
F0 Intake okay

Temperature sensors:
-----------------------------------------
Location Sensor Status
-----------------------------------------
HDD0 hard-disk0 okay
MB/0 Die okay
MB/1 Die okay
MB Ambient okay
MB Ambient okay
MB Ambient okay
MB Ambient okay

================================ HW Revisions ================================
ASIC Revisions:
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Path Device Status Revision
-------------------------------------------------------------------
/pci@1c,600000 pci108e,a801 okay 4
/pci@1d,700000 pci108e,a801 okay 4
/pci@1e,600000 pci108e,a801 okay 4
/pci@1f,700000 pci108e,a801 okay 4

System PROM revisions:
----------------------
OBP 4.30.3 2009/06/08 13:21 Sun Blade 2500 (Silver)
OBDIAG 4.30.3 2009/06/08 13:34



/michael
--
No Microsoft product was used in any way to write or send this text.
If you use a Microsoft product to read it, you're doing so at your own
risk.

User avatar
dukzcry
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:53 pm
Location: Moscow / Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby dukzcry » Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:18 am

Hey, folks!
I'm interesting what is practical memory room limit for Blade 2500 RED one?
I presume that 2500 both Red and Silver share the same components (at least I/O), and the fall of memory size in twice from Silver to Red (from 16bg total (two 2gb quadpairs) with both cpu utilization in Silver to total 8gb (two 1gb quadpairs) in Red) as referred by manual is only OpenBoot program limitation, or even manual says configurations for which Sun was really responsible, am i right? Does anybody checked it?

P.S.: Can anobody also tell me about what specifially dictate the CPU difference in Red and Silver? Device recognizing in OpenBoot FCode?
:rx2600: (CHNPP node), custom build PC (duckstar host), one dead PowerBook G4 (nokacheflush host)

More info at my web page!

User avatar
gkl
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 9:49 am
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby gkl » Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:40 am

dukzcry wrote:I'm interesting what is practical memory room limit for Blade 2500 RED one?

I have a strong suspicion that you can load up a Red 2500 to at least 8x2GB. I've put 2GB sticks in my Red 1500 and gotten it up to 5GB (2x2048 and 2x512) of working, addressable memory despite the max being listed as 4x1024.

dukzcry wrote:Can anobody also tell me about what specifially dictate the CPU difference in Red and Silver?

I'm pretty sure the only difference is a jumper on the motherboard. I would be very surprised if you couldn't put a 1.6GHz processor in a red's motherboard, switch that jumper setting, and have everything work fine. This is why I also suspect a red motherboard will take the full 16GB.
:Fuel: :O2: HP C8000, IBM RS/6000 43p 150, and lots of Suns in my collection

User avatar
mila
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:20 am
Location: Bålsta, Sweden

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby mila » Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:16 pm

I would guess that the reason for Sun said 4.1024MB in Red was due to there was only 1024 DIMMs at the time.

Both my 1500 and 2500 silver have 8GB per CPU, 1500(8GB) and 2500(16GB)

/michael
--
No Microsoft product was used in any way to write or send this text.
If you use a Microsoft product to read it, you're doing so at your own
risk.

alexott
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 1:59 am

Re: Sun Blade ram compatibility

Unread postby alexott » Sun Aug 04, 2013 3:30 am

All these
SPD reports DIMM cycle time is less than ... MHz
SPD reports DIMM has unsupported CAS latency value
SPD reports DIMM has unsupported SPD revision

et cetera errors are known.

You should either downgrade or upgrade (google through the patches descriptions and forums) the Openboot.

I've got the last error (after i changed the memory with another sticks). The problem is that my old Openboot version suports only SPD 0.0, while the new sticks have SPD 1.x.
Last edited by alexott on Sat Jan 18, 2014 12:19 am, edited 1 time in total.


Return to “Sun”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests