Need to replace Mac, need advice

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Frapazoid
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:49 am
Location: Poznan, Poland
Contact:

Need to replace Mac, need advice

Unread postby Frapazoid » Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:30 pm

I managed to leave my Mac Mini on a train.

It was not turned into lost and found.

I want to scrounge up the cheapest thing I can get that will let me compile things for that iPhone gadget.

I learned I can use the SDK on OS X 10.5, and that 10.5 will run on a G4 872mhz+, and that there are dual G4 872mhz on Allegro.pl for like 500 złoty.

Is there any reason this is a horrible idea?
Maverick 3: Athlon X2 7750, 2gb, Windows Vista
Frank Dux: SGI Octane2 R12k 400mhz 1.5gb

"Chief, look! I learned to make fire! Who knows what we could do with this... We should learn to control it!"

"Ridiculous. How can you justify wasting time and effort on this so-called 'fire' when our children are freezing to death at night?"

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2984
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Need to replace Mac, need advice

Unread postby josehill » Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:21 pm

Frapazoid wrote:I learned I can use the SDK on OS X 10.5, and that 10.5 will run on a G4 872mhz+, and that there are dual G4 872mhz on Allegro.pl for like 500 złoty.

Is there any reason this is a horrible idea?

Hey, Frapazoid, welcome back! Long time, no see!

I guess that some of the older versions of the SDK could partially work on a G4, but the iPhone SDK is officially supported only on Intel cpus, and the Simulator won't run at all on PPC.

Save your złotys for an Intel Mac. :D

User avatar
Frapazoid
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:49 am
Location: Poznan, Poland
Contact:

Re: Need to replace Mac, need advice

Unread postby Frapazoid » Tue Jan 26, 2010 5:31 pm

Thanks! I had no idea it wouldn't go on PPC. Good thing I asked!
Maverick 3: Athlon X2 7750, 2gb, Windows Vista
Frank Dux: SGI Octane2 R12k 400mhz 1.5gb

"Chief, look! I learned to make fire! Who knows what we could do with this... We should learn to control it!"

"Ridiculous. How can you justify wasting time and effort on this so-called 'fire' when our children are freezing to death at night?"

SAQ
Posts: 5758
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Need to replace Mac, need advice

Unread postby SAQ » Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:57 pm

josehill wrote:Save your złotys for an Intel Mac. :D


Or Hacintosh yourself.
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
Frapazoid
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:49 am
Location: Poznan, Poland
Contact:

Re: Need to replace Mac, need advice

Unread postby Frapazoid » Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:29 am

Will that work on AMD64?
Maverick 3: Athlon X2 7750, 2gb, Windows Vista
Frank Dux: SGI Octane2 R12k 400mhz 1.5gb

"Chief, look! I learned to make fire! Who knows what we could do with this... We should learn to control it!"

"Ridiculous. How can you justify wasting time and effort on this so-called 'fire' when our children are freezing to death at night?"

User avatar
QuicksilverG4
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: West of Philadelphia Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: Need to replace Mac, need advice

Unread postby QuicksilverG4 » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm

There seem to be AMD64 compatible install images floating around.

User avatar
foetz
Posts: 5436
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Need to replace Mac, need advice

Unread postby foetz » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:16 pm

yes but i would highly recommend intel cpu and nvidia gfx
r-a-c.de

SAQ
Posts: 5758
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Need to replace Mac, need advice

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:49 pm

foetz wrote:yes but i would highly recommend intel cpu and nvidia gfx


Get it as close to an Apple model as you can - makes things much easier.
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: NZ

Re: Need to replace Mac, need advice

Unread postby porter » Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:44 pm

Frapazoid wrote:I want to scrounge up the cheapest thing I can get that will let me compile things for that iPhone gadget.


Can you compile on an iPad?
Land of the Long White Cloud and no Software Patents.

User avatar
ShadeOfBlue
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 1:09 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Need to replace Mac, need advice

Unread postby ShadeOfBlue » Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:00 am

Frapazoid wrote:Will that work on AMD64?

A friend runs 10.5 on a quad-core AMD64 PC. It works fairly well (minor instability problems here and there), but some OS upgrades break, since I imagine not much testing is done on AMD CPUs.
As foetz and SAQ mentioned, get a configuration that's as close to stock Apple specs as possible.


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest