Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:01 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:29 pm
Posts: 414
Location: San Francisco, California
D-EJ915 wrote:
those cards are pretty easy to find on ebay (or were)


I saw a couple when I was trying to figure out what it was. They wanted $50 or so. That is about ten times more then I'd probably pay for one. You also have to find a EVC to svga adapter and the HP ones seem to be fetching $40 as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Posts: 4300
Location: Kamloops, BC
leaknoil wrote:
D-EJ915 wrote:
those cards are pretty easy to find on ebay (or were)


I saw a couple when I was trying to figure out what it was. They wanted $50 or so. That is about ten times more then I'd probably pay for one. You also have to find a EVC to svga adapter and the HP ones seem to be fetching $40 as well.

Damn, exactly what I was afraid of. Unless I either get lucky or pay about $100 I'm going to have on my hands a nice rack full of hardware and the only way I can communicate with it is over terminals. Actually, that does not sound half bad.

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5758
Location: Renton, WA
Don't worry about the graphics cards. HP liked to crow about their Visualize graphics (they liked to say that Visualize/FX was "better than anything SGI has on the desktop"), but really there isn't much out there that uses it. Stock HP X11 works just fine in an 8-bit setup, and unless you have some of the CADAM software that really sold the fancy Visualize workstations (look up the HP Corvette Box to see about it) there won't be anything that actually uses the graphics except, possibly, some freeware software (Blender doesn't even have a HP-UX binary). I had Visualize/FX in a B1000L (faster than anything you can get in the GSC/HSC connected cards) and I wound up pulling it to save on the power and heat output. Run it to a remote X server - you won't miss much. HP didn't ship much of the stuff that SGI did to help you use their graphics - just OpenGL libraries.

What you might miss is the special 25(?)th line where HP does their F-key mapping and suchlike. It's supported on real HP terminals and the glass console, but doesn't work right with Wyse/DEC/other types of terminal. Good news, though - you can get a free Windows HP terminal emulator here http://www.aics-research.com/qcterm/index.html .

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:29 pm
Posts: 414
Location: San Francisco, California
SAQ wrote:
Good news, though - you can get a free Windows HP terminal emulator here http://www.aics-research.com/qcterm/index.html .


That's nifty. Thanks for the tip.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 8:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Posts: 5758
Location: Renton, WA
BTW you probably need a HSC form-factor card rather than the horizontal form factor card. Check the HP products guide.

_________________
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

There are those who say I'm a bit of a curmudgeon. To them I reply: "GET OFF MY LAWN!"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Posts: 4300
Location: Kamloops, BC
Awesome! Thanks SAQ. I have been looking for a decent HP terminal emulator.
Okay, so I guess unless Ia actually do find a framebuffer I'll just live with terminals for now which I guess is the better idea anyways as I don't see myself putting this thing in any places where I could easily setup a desk next to it. (closets can be pretty small ;) )

EDIT: Awesome! I have located yet another HP terminal! :D

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:15 pm
Posts: 65
Man, this brings back memories of my old 735 with a screaming graphics card. That Parrot pic in my Avatar was at 24 bit depth, and the PEX 3D demo made the DirectX spinning cube look lame.

I'd use the old 8-bit card for now, but if you get the chance, get the higher end card. I still couldn't believe what my old 735 could do, and it was a bit older and less powerful than the Leviathan you lucked up on.

I hope one day to find another HP-UX machine. Unfortunately I sold mine after it broke down, but I hear its new owner is making progress on it and the old HP 318 I had.

_________________
Macintosh IIfx running A/UX 3, 160mb hd, 8 mb ram, Radius Truecolor 24 Graphics Accelerator
Macintosh SE/30 running A/UX 3
Apple iMac DV+ 450mhz, 256mb ram, Panther
Compaq Presario 1210 Laptop dual-Booting choice of Win 98 or Damn Small Linux
Compaq Evo T20 former Thin Client running Damn Small Linux
Sun Ultra 5 ,270mhz , 256mb ram, Solaris 9
Acer Aspire 5734z, 2.3ghz Pentium 4500 dual core, 3gb Ram, Dual booting Windows 7 or Zorin Linux
HP Laptop, 1.1 ghz Duron cpu, 384mb ram, Puppy Linux
Power Mac G4, 450mhz, 768mb ram, OS 10.4.11


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 8:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Posts: 4300
Location: Kamloops, BC
A grapics card would be nice but I don't see many good ones that are affordable....
I'm still struggling to find a rack to put this back into. It's just so large. I have never worked with anything so enormous. Also, it seems it was not a good idea for me to leave the PDU in the last rack. Without it I can't really use the UPS system (which with a bit of work I got plugged into my dryer outlet and watched power up and charge the batteries enough to suffice it is worth keeping).

_________________
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group