Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Bill622
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:47 am
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Contact:

Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby Bill622 » Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:04 am

Hi,
I work at the University of Sherbrooke (Canada) and I have found someone with an old Softimage 3.8 CD. Since I have a O2, I was really curious to see how Softimage runs on Irix. Unfortunatly, it is an old CD and while installing it, I have a corrupted file.

This is a test:

Code: Select all

bash-2.05a$ uncompress Minerva.tar.Z
Minerva.tar.Z: corrupt data, unable to decompress
bash-2.05a$


I was wondering if anyone could help me with this. I TOTALLY understand the Nekochan goals is not to encourage piracy. I just want to know if anyone have the same version installation CD and could send me this file, not the whole software.

Thanks! and if this post is against any rule, I understand it can be deleted.
Strangly, girls talks to me when I walk with my O2?!
Image R12k @ 300MHz, 384Mb Ram

dc_v01
Posts: 796
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby dc_v01 » Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:37 pm

Bill622 wrote:I understand it can be deleted.

Counting down.....

SAQ
Posts: 5769
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby SAQ » Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:52 pm

What exactly is Minerva? I'm not a SI|3D person, but it sure sounds like it might be a sample/example/demo type file, and SI might run just fine without it.
Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!

Living proof that you can't keep a blithering idiot down.

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
SiliconClassics
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby SiliconClassics » Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:09 pm

Looks like it contains a whole bunch of .hrc and .cus command files and plug-ins for modeling - definitely necessary for a working SI3D installation. It's 26MB.

To the OP: does your O2 really get you attention from women? The girls that have seen mine have been pretty indifferent toward it.

User avatar
Bill622
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:47 am
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Contact:

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby Bill622 » Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:15 pm

SAQ wrote:What exactly is Minerva? I'm not a SI|3D person, but it sure sounds like it might be a sample/example/demo type file, and SI might run just fine without it.


Don't know the content, but it is needed for the Base installation.

ajerimez wrote:To the OP: does your O2 really get you attention from women? The girls that have seen mine have been pretty indifferent toward it.


When I brought home my O2, I talked to 3-4 girls from my office to my car in the parking lot. They were all like:"wow, what is this? is it a computer? it is so cute!" Seriously, I create the same effect on chicks when I'm shopping with my 3 month old baby girl.
Strangly, girls talks to me when I walk with my O2?!
Image R12k @ 300MHz, 384Mb Ram

User avatar
henrycault
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:30 am
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby henrycault » Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:46 pm

Bill622 wrote:When I brought home my O2, I talked to 3-4 girls from my office to my car in the parking lot..


Really??? When i brought home my O2k, people were fleeing the streets in fear that the poor toyota echo would lose brakes.

I have to admit thought, that an O2k is not that cute, being somewhat a metallic cube 2 to 3 times the size of the car engine... Not much "wow factor".
:Octane: 270Mhz SI 384Mb ram :Octane2: 2x360Mhz V6 1.5Gb ram
:O2000: Death by flooding... :(
Amiga A3000D / Full ECS, Kickstart 3.1, 2Mb CHIP/24Mb FAST with 2+18Gb SCSI HD
Amiga A1200 starting to work on this one.

User avatar
Bill622
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:47 am
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Contact:

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby Bill622 » Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:52 pm

henrycault wrote:
Bill622 wrote:When I brought home my O2, I talked to 3-4 girls from my office to my car in the parking lot..


Really??? When i brought home my O2k, people were fleeing the streets in fear that the poor toyota echo would lose brakes.


I guess Canadian chicks are more opened mind :lol:
Strangly, girls talks to me when I walk with my O2?!
Image R12k @ 300MHz, 384Mb Ram

User avatar
guardian452
Posts: 2990
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby guardian452 » Tue Nov 03, 2009 6:01 pm

henrycault wrote:I have to admit thought, that an O2k is not that cute



borat wrote:I get iPod, he only get iPod Mini. Everybody know it for girls.
You eat Cadillacs; Lincolns too... Mercurys and Subarus.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5783
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby foetz » Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:06 pm

did you try to copy the cd to disk first? sometimes it's just a read error although the cd is fine
r-a-c.de

User avatar
Bill622
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:47 am
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Contact:

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby Bill622 » Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:16 pm

foetz wrote:did you try to copy the cd to disk first? sometimes it's just a read error although the cd is fine


Yup, I tried that, same result. Actually, the CD is in bad shape, it take a while to copy its content and I often hear a "repetition" noise from the drive. You know, when the drive tries and tries to read something... the corruption seams to be only on this file.
Strangly, girls talks to me when I walk with my O2?!
Image R12k @ 300MHz, 384Mb Ram

User avatar
zmttoxics
Posts: 894
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby zmttoxics » Thu Nov 05, 2009 6:24 pm

You could try and repair the CD. There are polish kits you can buy and I have had some good luck in the paste with them.
Stuff.

User avatar
henrycault
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:30 am
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Corrupted Softimage 3.8 installation CD

Unread postby henrycault » Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:48 am

sybrfreq wrote:
borat wrote:I get iPod, he only get iPod Mini. Everybody know it for girls.



:lol: :lol: :lol: I love my ipod.
:Octane: 270Mhz SI 384Mb ram :Octane2: 2x360Mhz V6 1.5Gb ram
:O2000: Death by flooding... :(
Amiga A3000D / Full ECS, Kickstart 3.1, 2Mb CHIP/24Mb FAST with 2+18Gb SCSI HD
Amiga A1200 starting to work on this one.


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest