PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Have some gear for sale? Post it here!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:50 pm

So far as I know, all O2 mainboards will work with all CPU modules - the only real distinction is making sure your PROM is flashed to something recent. If it isn't, stuff a 180 in, boot, flash, swap, and bob's yer' uncle.
:O3000: <> :O3000: :O2000: :Tezro: :Fuel: x2+ :Octane2: :Octane: x3 :1600SW: x2 :O2: x2+ :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: x2 :Indigo: x3 :Indy: x2+

Once you step up to the big iron, you learn all about physics, electrical standards, and first aid - usually all in the same day

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby nekonoko » Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:55 pm

Richtom1 wrote: IIRC I have an O2 400 R1200 and a 300 R5000 (not a R5200)


If it's 300MHz, it's a RM5271 - there's no such thing as a R5000@300MHz. The O2 (and IRIX) will report it as a R5000, but that's just because it doesn't know any better ;)
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
deBug
Donor
Donor
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby deBug » Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:51 pm

Richtom1 wrote:
LOL, I think there were two lots of them... :twisted:

correction: selling the 500 MHz version in singles now

eBay: RM7000B-500T



Looks like they're over in ALtamonte Springs ( a couple hours east of me)

What O2 mainboard would these be compatible with? IIRC I have an O2 400 R1200 and a 300 R5000 (not a R5200)

Richard

If you have a 400MHz R12k then use it, its faster than the 600MHz R5200
As far as I know there isnt any 300MHz R5000
R5200 i incorrectly detected by hinv as R5000 so your 300Mhz is probably a R5200
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
edefault
Posts: 625
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby edefault » Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:36 pm

Hi there,

two more 600MHz CPU modules run 24/7 without heat sink below 37°C here...
... impatiently waiting for O2 owners willing to swap a RM5271 CPU module.

PM me if interested - there are 15 bare CPUs / SPROMs on stock again ;-)

Cheers
Valueing life is not weakness; disregarding it is not strength. -Mirage-
Image

User avatar
edefault
Posts: 625
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby edefault » Wed Oct 07, 2009 6:28 am

edefault wrote:PM me if interested - there are 15 bare CPUs[...]


Addendum: all SOLD OUT. No upgrades until someone points me to another batch of RM7000-600T CPUs.
Btw., I´m not going to buy a batch of 665 pcs. from China unless these are far less than a buck per piece :) .

Sorry.

Edit: No use to suggest 7035 and 7065 CPUs - these are not pin (ball :)) compatible with the RM5271.
Valueing life is not weakness; disregarding it is not strength. -Mirage-
Image

User avatar
canavan
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:19 am

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby canavan » Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:45 pm

Edit: No use to suggest 7035 and 7065 CPUs - these are not pin (ball :)) compatible with the RM5271.
The 7035 should be a perfect match for the rm5231 in the Cobalt Qube. I'll trade you one Qube2 for an upgrade :D

User avatar
mia
Posts: 1055
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 1:54 pm

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby mia » Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:07 pm

If somebody wants a 600Mhz working module for O2, I have one I could sell, just PM me with the right price.
:Onyx2:

User avatar
MisterDNA
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 2:23 am
Location: Brigham City, UT

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby MisterDNA » Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:15 pm

mia wrote:If somebody wants a 600Mhz working module for O2, I have one I could sell, just PM me with the right price.


ORLY? I wonder how your asking price compares to Ian's? This is tempting.
-- I'm a PeeCee and I can kick your ass. --
Slow PeeCee - i7 940 OC 4.1GHz, 20GB DDR3 OC 1.8GHz, 2x1TB WD RAID0, ATI 5870 1GB, 3008WFP
Dev PeeCee - IBM Intellistation A Pro - Dual Opteron 290 2.8GHz, 8GB ECC DDR, 500GB SATA, 8400GS, 2x1800FP
Slow PeeCee Cluster - 30x Opteron 275, 60.5GB RAM, 2.2TB, 2x1.5TB
Octane 2xR12K-300, 1.5GB, 36GB 10K, 73GB 10K, V8
Indigo2 195MHz, 1GB, 36GB, SI

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand Ternary. Those who don't. Those who could give a shit less.

User avatar
edefault
Posts: 625
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby edefault » Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:43 pm

It seems I was again too fast on the trigger ...
about half a dozen of O2 CPU modules which proved dysfunctional in the past will eventually take part in another attempt to be upgraded to 600MHz.
I´ll possibly get me some more bare CPUs from China or elsewhere where they are available by the hundreds.
For a small quantity of 10 prices vary between 15 and 35 bucks.

The staff at the repair shop told me that if BGA CPUs grow old unsoldered due to oxidation of contacts the soldering process becomes more difficult.
Anyway, it is controlled optically afterwards using x-ray; but one can´t use a bare CPU twice if there were short-cuts detected since reballing is much too expensive.

TBC
Valueing life is not weakness; disregarding it is not strength. -Mirage-
Image

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby hamei » Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:15 am

edefault wrote:The staff at the repair shop told me that if BGA CPUs grow old unsoldered due to oxidation of contacts the soldering process becomes more difficult.
Anyway, it is controlled optically afterwards using x-ray; but one can´t use a bare CPU twice if there were short-cuts detected since reballing is much too expensive.

How complex is that board, edefault ? There are hungry people in Guangdong these days. Those boards are a little rare and expensive, plus they are old. Complete new ones might be cheaper and better ? Not that hard to reverse engineer even a six-layer, throw them in a surface grinder and take off .010", photograph, take off another .010" and photograph, etc etc.

900's would be even spiffier tho :D

User avatar
edefault
Posts: 625
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby edefault » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:17 am

Yep, someone to reverse-engineer an O2 module would eventually want to use a more powerful CPU from the PMC MIPS series..
IMO not going to happen, though: there are not enough O2 owners out there willing to buy, say, a decent 1GHz CPU module.
Or are there? I´d gladly donate a module :-)
Another issue: now IRIX is discontinued, with no source code available ... would it be possible to get it running on non-SGI hardware?
Valueing life is not weakness; disregarding it is not strength. -Mirage-
Image

User avatar
MisterDNA
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 2:23 am
Location: Brigham City, UT

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby MisterDNA » Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:29 am

If I could get a bare CPU (or three) and the SPROM plus whatever else, I could try a conversion with one of my modules and work up a profile for the BGA soldering.

I've learned BGA rework over the past two years and have never had a single bridge. Granted, I use a Teradyne Summit 750 for re-flow so that helps a bit. I inspect with a Photon Dynamics x-ray.

I'm learning re-balling now.
-- I'm a PeeCee and I can kick your ass. --
Slow PeeCee - i7 940 OC 4.1GHz, 20GB DDR3 OC 1.8GHz, 2x1TB WD RAID0, ATI 5870 1GB, 3008WFP
Dev PeeCee - IBM Intellistation A Pro - Dual Opteron 290 2.8GHz, 8GB ECC DDR, 500GB SATA, 8400GS, 2x1800FP
Slow PeeCee Cluster - 30x Opteron 275, 60.5GB RAM, 2.2TB, 2x1.5TB
Octane 2xR12K-300, 1.5GB, 36GB 10K, 73GB 10K, V8
Indigo2 195MHz, 1GB, 36GB, SI

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand Ternary. Those who don't. Those who could give a shit less.

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby mapesdhs » Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:47 am

MisterDNA wrote:ORLY? I wonder how your asking price compares to Ian's? This is tempting.


I make a loss on my hobbyist pricing. Not managed to tempt any commercial sales yet though.

Ian.

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby mapesdhs » Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:50 am

edefault wrote:Yep, someone to reverse-engineer an O2 module would eventually want to use a more powerful CPU from the PMC MIPS series..


Not possible without the O2 PROM source (according to Joe) and SGI told me this will not be released. Unless Rackable
decides otherwise, 600 is it for O2.

Ian.

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10435
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: PMC RM7000C-600T CPUs on ebay

Unread postby hamei » Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:54 am

mapesdhs wrote:I make a loss on my hobbyist pricing.

That's why I was thinking brand new boards would be the way to go. Starting out with a $125 used board then going thru all the hand labour to de-populate it, then solder on another chip, then check and recheck because all the parts were used, that's got to be a lot more work than starting with new components.

The prom data would make this a real winner tho. I myself am kind of iffy at 600 but 900 ... I know, performance is not all about processor speed but still ...


Return to “Hardware For Sale/Trade”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MrWeedster and 1 guest