Fractal benchmark

IRIX/Nekoware development, porting and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Martin Steen
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:00 am
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Contact:

Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Martin Steen » Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:51 pm

Hello,

here is a little program that can be used as a benchmark in a multiprocessor environment.
It calculates three beautiful (?) fractal images:

http://www.martin-steen.de/sgi/frbatch.tar.gz

It makes heavy use of posix threads, so the programs benefits a lot of systems
with more than one CPU. Actually, it is a multithreaded floating-point benchmark.

Atfer unpacking, run the script "./run1.sh" to run a fast benchmark. "./run2.sh" runs a
slower benchmark that creates bigger images. The script uses four threads,
but you can adjust the scripts to use more threads or create even larger images
(8000x8000 pixel are no problem, but it takes a while).

When the benchmark has run, another small program converts the images from Targa
format to Jpeg. The programs are compiled for 64 bit machines (-64 -mips4).

On a SGI Fuel, the first script takes about 120 seconds.
fract_0088_8.jpg
fract_0088_8.jpg (48.88 KiB) Viewed 5164 times

Best regards,
Martin
Last edited by Martin Steen on Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
legalize
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 4:04 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby legalize » Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:31 pm

The executable in there is a MIPS/IRIX executable?

User avatar
Martin Steen
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:00 am
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Martin Steen » Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:20 pm

legalize wrote:The executable in there is a MIPS/IRIX executable?


Yes, the files "fractbatch" and "tga2jpeg" are 64-bit mips executables.

--
My collection so far ;)

:Fuel: :Octane:

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Geoman » Wed Jun 24, 2009 3:56 am

@Martin Steen: Thank you very much!
I didn't dare to ask you to publish the fractal generator from the "SGI Art Gallery" thread, thought you might want to keep that closed - but you finally released it :-D
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Geoman » Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:27 am

Here we go:

Code: Select all

Octane2 8% ./run1.sh
Fractal benchmark / by Martin Steen
Size   =256x256
Iter   =16384
Threads=4
Render 1 of 3: fract_0088_2.tga
InitThreads OK
....................................................
Render 2 of 3: fract_0088_8.tga
InitThreads OK
....................................................
Render 3 of 3: fract_0088_9.tga
InitThreads OK
....................................................

real    2m38.56s
user    2m37.17s
sys     0m0.18s


~159seconds on a dual R12K400 Octane.

concerning CPU-load, top gave me:

Code: Select all

2 CPUs: 47,6% idle, 51,6% usr,  0,8% ker,  0,0% wait,  0,0% xbrk,  0,0% intr
 PID       PGRP USERNAME PRI  SIZE   RES STATE    TIME WCPU% CPU% COMMAND
1399       1398 robert   +20 5472K 2864K run/1    0:27 96,3 96,23 fractba
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!

User avatar
Martin Steen
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:00 am
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Martin Steen » Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:30 am

Geoman wrote:~159seconds on a dual R12K400 Octane.

concerning CPU-load, top gave me:

Code: Select all

2 CPUs: 47,6% idle, 51,6% usr,  0,8% ker,  0,0% wait,  0,0% xbrk,  0,0% intr
 PID       PGRP USERNAME PRI  SIZE   RES STATE    TIME WCPU% CPU% COMMAND
1399       1398 robert   +20 5472K 2864K run/1    0:27 96,3 96,23 fractba



Hmmm.. looks like only one CPU is working. Unfortunately, I don't own a SGI with more than
one CPU. On my Linux computer with a phenom quadcore, all four cores are 96% busy
(using the same sourcecode).

So, since you have a dual-CPU Octane2, you have to be my betatester now ;)

Thank you for testing and best regards,
Martin

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Geoman » Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:44 am

Wait! :-)

Seems like Octane has to warmup ^_^ a little bit.
doing the 2nd script, your renderer uses both cpu's in stage 3:

Code: Select all

Octane2 10% ./run2.sh
Fractal benchmark / by Martin Steen
Size   =2048x2048
Iter   =16384
Threads=4
Render 1 of 3: fract_0088_2.tga
InitThreads OK
....................................................
Render 2 of 3: fract_0088_8.tga
InitThreads OK
.............^[[B.......................................
Render 3 of 3: fract_0088_9.tga
InitThreads OK
................


Code: Select all

2 CPUs:  1,3% idle, 94,8% usr,  3,3% ker,  0,1% wait,  0,0% xbrk,  0,5% intr
PID       PGRP USERNAME PRI  SIZE   RES STATE    TIME WCPU% CPU% COMMAND
1402       1401 robert   +20 5696K 3088K run/0  116:09  154 160,1 fractba
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!

User avatar
Martin Steen
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:00 am
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Martin Steen » Wed Jun 24, 2009 7:04 am

Geoman wrote:Wait! :-)

Seems like Octane has to warmup ^_^ a little bit.
doing the 2nd script, your renderer uses both cpu's in stage 3:

Code: Select all

2 CPUs:  1,3% idle, 94,8% usr,  3,3% ker,  0,1% wait,  0,0% xbrk,  0,5% intr
PID       PGRP USERNAME PRI  SIZE   RES STATE    TIME WCPU% CPU% COMMAND
1402       1401 robert   +20 5696K 3088K run/0  116:09  154 160,1 fractba


Thank you for the report. Seems like there is still an issue about threads that I have
to spot.

Best regards, Martin

User avatar
ShadeOfBlue
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:09 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby ShadeOfBlue » Wed Jun 24, 2009 7:08 am

I can give it a try on my 16CPU Origin tomorrow (hope the rainy weather continues :)).

Also, on MIPS (and other properly designed architectures), 64-bit apps actually run *slower* than 32-bit ones, so compile for 64-bit only if your app uses more than 2GB of memory.

User avatar
Martin Steen
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:00 am
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Martin Steen » Wed Jun 24, 2009 7:19 am

ShadeOfBlue wrote:I can give it a try on my 16CPU Origin tomorrow (hope the rainy weather continues :)).

Also, on MIPS (and other properly designed architectures), 64-bit apps actually run *slower* than 32-bit ones, so compile for 64-bit only if your app uses more than 2GB of memory.


That would be great! I can also give you the sourcecode so you can compile your own
version (MIPSpro compiler needed).

Best regards,
Martin

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Geoman » Wed Jun 24, 2009 7:29 am

Seems like there is still an issue about threads that I have
to spot.


Well, for me, your program works really smooth, even at 97,4% usr. I can still do work while rendering.

Seti, on the other hand, stalls the Octane while working on 2 datasets; it becomes totally unresponsive then.
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!

User avatar
joerg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2226
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:57 am
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby joerg » Wed Jun 24, 2009 12:23 pm

ShadeOfBlue wrote:I can give it a try on my 16CPU Origin tomorrow (hope the rainy weather continues :))...


You have a watercooled origin? :P

SCNR,
Joerg

User avatar
Martin Steen
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:00 am
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Martin Steen » Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:32 pm

joerg wrote:
ShadeOfBlue wrote:I can give it a try on my 16CPU Origin tomorrow (hope the rainy weather continues :))...


You have a watercooled origin? :P

SCNR,
Joerg


Hello Joerg, hello ShadeOfBlue, hello Geoman,

if you dare to run the app on your multiprozessor machines, here is the sourcecode for the
fractal batch programm:
http://www.martin-steen.de/sgi/fractbatch-source.tar.gz

Just type "make" to build the executable.
Run ./testrun.sh to create three (simple) fractals

This test is not a real challange for a machine with 16 cpus.
To make it more interesting, you can try:

Code: Select all

./fractbatch 8192 8192 1024 32 frects0089.txt


This creates the three images with a size of 8192x8192 pixels
and uses 32 threads.

Remarks:
- The limit for Targa pictures is 32768x32768 Pixels.
- maybe you know compiler switches for a faster executable

Best regards,
Martin

User avatar
ShadeOfBlue
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:09 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby ShadeOfBlue » Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:38 am

joerg wrote:
ShadeOfBlue wrote:I can give it a try on my 16CPU Origin tomorrow (hope the rainy weather continues :))...


You have a watercooled origin? :P

:lol:

These things are like little furnaces, the room heats up by 4°C in an hour. Excellent to have in winter, not so much when it's 35°C outside :)

Anyhow, the weather is favorable, I shall power it up and open the balcony, expect results soon :)

User avatar
Geoman
Donor
Donor
Posts: 824
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 3:37 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Fractal benchmark

Unread postby Geoman » Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:20 am

Thanks for sharing the sourcecode. It built on MIPSpro 7.4.4m without any error or warning.

Now I'm torturing the Octane with it:

Code: Select all

/fractbatch 8192 8192 1024 32 frects0089.txt


I get 187,8 CPU% right at the beginning.
:Indy: :O2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indigo2IMP: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2:
SGI - the legend will never die!!


Return to “SGI: Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GL1zdA and 2 guests