Power mac g3 beige to Power mac g3 yosemite cpu swap

Apple hardware/software and related topics.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
ninboy
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 6:34 pm

Power mac g3 beige to Power mac g3 yosemite cpu swap

Unread postby ninboy » Mon Jun 22, 2009 12:17 am

So here is what I currently have. Purchased a B&W G3 from a local thrift store yesterday. During the course of some upgrades and cleaning I managed to crack the CPU(doh!!!). I currently have a 300MHZ zif from a beige g3 but I don't belive it will work without changing the B&W bus speed. Has anyone ever tried this or managed to get it working ?

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4372
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Power mac g3 beige to Power mac g3 yosemite cpu swap

Unread postby pentium » Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:01 am

How on earth did you crack the processor?
Anyways, I have always assumed that if it's the same socket, it should work.
Try the other processor and see what it does anyways.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

pip
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 6:50 pm
Location: Long Beach, CA

Re: Power mac g3 beige to Power mac g3 yosemite cpu swap

Unread postby pip » Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:45 am

It'll probably work, but you need to change the jumper block to set the right bus speed, or you might overclock the processor. This page shows how the jumper block works
:Octane: R12K/300x2, MXE
:1600SW: :ChallengeL:

ninboy
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 6:34 pm

Re: Power mac g3 beige to Power mac g3 yosemite cpu swap

Unread postby ninboy » Mon Jun 22, 2009 6:47 pm

Pentium , not to sure how I cracked it but I have always had problems with the blue And whites
:O2: R10K/256/73GB :Octane2: R12K/2GB/V6 dead :(

ninboy
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 6:34 pm

Re: Power mac g3 beige to Power mac g3 yosemite cpu swap

Unread postby ninboy » Mon Jun 22, 2009 7:16 pm

nope, dropping it down to a 66mhz bus did not seem to help. So it looks like when the g3 was damaged it took the motherboard with it ( I know the zif i tried works since it boots the beiged it was pulled from just fine)
:O2: R10K/256/73GB :Octane2: R12K/2GB/V6 dead :(


Return to “Apple”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest