Account needed on network connected SGI (with SGI-CC)

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
rschultz
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:49 am

Account needed on network connected SGI (with SGI-CC)

Unread postby rschultz » Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:56 am

Greetings,

the next release of Ayam (a free 3D modelling environment) is due shortly.
Since I feel this is an important milestone in terms of features, stability,
and security, I would like to include an official IRIX binary with many
plugins in the release.
Unfortunately I lost access to SGI machines some years ago.
Could you help me out with an account on a network connected
machine with officially licensed SGI-CC?
HD space needed is around 1GB (for all the sources of Ayam and
libraries needed by Ayam and the plugins).
Honourable mention of your noble deed in documentation and WWW
is, of course, guaranteed.

kind regards,
Randolf

Pontus
Posts: 630
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Account needed on network connected SGI (with SGI-CC)

Unread postby Pontus » Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:02 am

Check out www.polarhome.com they (or rather, he) offers free accounts on multiple platforms and has an Indigo2 I think. Not sure if you can get 1GB though... but ask, the admin is a nice fella.
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se

SAQ
Posts: 5789
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Account needed on network connected SGI (with SGI-CC)

Unread postby SAQ » Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:40 am

SGI offers development access to an Origin with all the goodies (O3400 I think), all you need to do is ask politely. I know there are some other people around here with big iron that might oblige as well. My biggest beast is a O200 2x225MHz, but if you need it for a couple days I can fire it up and get you a shell.

www.cray-cyber.org has a O2000 as well, not sure exactly what versions of the MIPSpro compilers are on it - info says 7.2.1, but that's pretty old. If that's what it has then it won't support -c99 :(
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: Account needed on network connected SGI (with SGI-CC)

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Wed Jun 10, 2009 4:37 pm

SAQ wrote:SGI offers development access to an Origin with all the goodies (O3400 I think), all you need to do is ask politely. I know there are some other people around here with big iron that might oblige as well. My biggest beast is a O200 2x225MHz, but if you need it for a couple days I can fire it up and get you a shell.

http://www.cray-cyber.org has a O2000 as well, not sure exactly what versions of the MIPSpro compilers are on it - info says 7.2.1, but that's pretty old. If that's what it has then it won't support -c99 :(


Cray-cyber hasn't fired the o2000 for like months..if at all this year.. and then it is only available Saturday Munich time.
The desktop cyber is able the only thing they run 24/7 nowadays.

Regan
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

rschultz
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:49 am

Re: Account needed on network connected SGI (with SGI-CC)

Unread postby rschultz » Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:16 am

Greetings,

thank you for all your kind replies and help.

I got what I wanted.

best regards,
Randolf


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests