o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
User avatar
tomo
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:53 am
Location: Europe, Slovakia - Trencin
Contact:

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby tomo » Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:35 am

I don't think that the changing of oscillator on MB changes also CPU frequency - since (as I'v read http://www.futuretech.blinkenlights.nl/o2cpumod.html in part PROM) CPU module uses it's own oscillator at 100MHz.

So it seems oscillator change changes only MRE - memory multiplexer/ demultiplexer frequency (it is in my opinion 99% possible that it also changes multiplexer - ram sticks frequency)

But I think frequency between CPU - MRE will stay on 100MHz
So it made another question it is good for anything to have main memory speed bit faster with CPU still on "slow bus"
Attachments
ip32.gif
O2 architecture - thanks to Ian's page
:O2: R7000/600 576MB Ram CDRW 18+9Gb HDD
http://www.tomosgi.co.cc

User avatar
omelett
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:42 am
Location: berlin, Germany GmbH

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby omelett » Sun Apr 19, 2009 12:34 pm

Can't find a 100Mhz O. on the CPU of an O2.
In the Graphics , You see the Cpu - freq. from 80-100Mhz.
You see also the 133Mhz Freq. is the 'base' and it comes from the MB.
the MRE gives it to the IOE and so on. The freq. is used as reference, and the other freq. are made of that.
there is a nice hack (matthias?) how to boost an O2@180Mhz to 200Mhz. just change the resistors on the CPU board.
but, on Your CPU-board, those resistors are the maximum. I assume then, You will have to change the 'main-clock', which I assume resides on the MB=133 vs.150
But, dear tomo, I'm not a technician ;(
my knowledge is so naiv and limited.
I'm only building those stuff in mind, without real knowledge.........
I hope, we will push the discussion forward......because we love our silicon graphics grandma-s-pa-s;)
hopefully, someone can help with the oscilators-for testing- an O2 MB isn't a problem
in germany, its difficult to get one, You have to buy at least 100 of them & those are made exactly for your needs.... have had a telephone call with one guy in the past. maybe we bring that one step further.
and than----RM9000 would be also interesting, but it seem to be not possible right now (2009 / 04/19)
best greetings, and again, I have no technical knowledge, only love the silicon graphics and this forum:)
omelett

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby mapesdhs » Sun Apr 19, 2009 2:52 pm

omelett writes:
> In my Opinion, 50% more speed on the L3 sounds not very spectaculary.

Not so at all. The person at IBM told Joe it would make a significant difference.


> But the CPU support 8MB L3 cache. That mod would be much more interesting, but as far as I know, such chips don't exist....

Joe & I had originally been planning to offer 16MB.

Ian.

User avatar
omelett
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:42 am
Location: berlin, Germany GmbH

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby omelett » Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:09 pm

hi Ian,
what I ment was the effort- cost- thing.
is it the only thing to make a grand efford to get this increase in speed ?
could we go further to make this thing more balanced ----> cost--speed_increase.
I mean, if there is a possibility, to bring the L3 cache of the O2 at more speed, does it match also the allover costof that, or shall we investigate a bit further-......and make an upgrade thats worth it at all.
that was my only opinion about it. anyway , thank You for comment and (You receive my PM) good luck & nice spring days! of cause to All in this forum too ;)
omelett

User avatar
mattst88
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:54 am
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Contact:

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby mattst88 » Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:21 pm

What are the part numbers of the appropriate L3 cache chips? I would guess that many eyes searching for them would have a better chance of turning something up than only a few.
My computers (incomplete)

User avatar
omelett
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:42 am
Location: berlin, Germany GmbH

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby omelett » Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:40 pm

thats a good hint!
here the part nr. of the L3 cache chip out of my box :
ibm 9314
84364BSLAC
81L3394 7
A07043XT PQ

anyway, we start again for a O2 speedup, thanks much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:)
omelett

User avatar
omelett
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:42 am
Location: berlin, Germany GmbH

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby omelett » Sun Apr 19, 2009 3:43 pm

anyone who can provide a 150Mhz crystal for the MB? testing?
help appreciated, omelett

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby mapesdhs » Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:15 pm

omelett writes:
> I mean, if there is a possibility, to bring the L3 cache of the O2 at more speed, does it match also the all
> over cost of that, ...

I don't know, and whether or not doing all this is worth it in terms of cost is a very personal opinion. It's
worth whatever you're willing to pay, which for some will be a lot more than others.

Given we already have an upgrade that works ok (the 600), I personally wouldn't bother with all the hassle of changing
the L3 speed/size unless the clock went up a lot aswell, and for that we need the PROM source. Joe & I had originally
been thinking of the R9K and/or the Sandcraft 1.5GHz, but this was way back. I think Joe would be happy if we could
just manage an 866.

Ian.

User avatar
omelett
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:42 am
Location: berlin, Germany GmbH

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby omelett » Sun Apr 19, 2009 6:14 pm

yes, lets go on.
we need no 'no go'
for 50% L3 cache speed increase we take a look.
for what a nekochan member can put into effort we take a look.
lets communicate!
nice to meet You again in this matter, Ian.
can I make any bench for Your archive? can I help You in any way?
thanks in advance and best spring and love
omelett

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby mapesdhs » Sun Apr 19, 2009 6:44 pm

omelett wrote:can I make any bench for Your archive? can I help You in any way?


Thanks for the offer, but no need - I'm expecting to receive a number of 600 modules soon. 8)

Ian.

User avatar
indyman007
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 5:38 am
Location: North of England

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby indyman007 » Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:43 pm

mapesdhs wrote:
omelett wrote:can I make any bench for Your archive? can I help You in any way?


Thanks for the offer, but no need - I'm expecting to receive a number of 600 modules soon. 8)

Ian.

I am guessing that they are quite expensive.
:Indy: R4600PC 133 MHz

Mac Mini 2.5GHz 8GB RAM
Raspberry Pi

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby mapesdhs » Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:49 am

indyman007 wrote:I am guessing that they are quite expensive.


That depends on your point of view. They're a lot less than R12K/400 modules, eg. I can sell an R12K/400 O2 with basic RAM/disk
for almost 700 UKP, and most of that value is the CPU.

Companies wouldn't want to use the 600 (unofficial product), so for me it's a way to enable hobbyists to get access to R12K/400-level
speed at less than half the cost.

Ian.

User avatar
tomo
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 2:53 am
Location: Europe, Slovakia - Trencin
Contact:

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby tomo » Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:16 am

mapesdhs wrote:
indyman007 wrote:I am guessing that they are quite expensive.


That depends on your point of view. They're a lot less than R12K/400 modules, eg. I can sell an R12K/400 O2 with basic RAM/disk
for almost 700 UKP, and most of that value is the CPU.

Companies wouldn't want to use the 600 (unofficial product), so for me it's a way to enable hobbyists to get access to R12K/400-level
speed at less than half the cost.

Ian.

Hi Ian.
In this case, companies have problem with warranty or they don't want it becouse it is not original part and may be buggy?
:O2: R7000/600 576MB Ram CDRW 18+9Gb HDD
http://www.tomosgi.co.cc

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2516
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby mapesdhs » Tue Apr 21, 2009 8:53 am

tomo wrote:... or they don't want it becouse it is not original part and may be buggy?


Correct. All one can do to help introduce them to the option of this CPU is offer a long warranty (12 months+),
but to do that would mean higher cost, which negates the point of using it in the 1st place (for a company I mean).

For commercial use, the speed needs to be higher for the cost to be worthwhile, ie. not just the same as an R12K/400
for a lot better, which at the moment just isn't the case.

Ian.

User avatar
mattst88
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:54 am
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Contact:

Re: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

Unread postby mattst88 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:58 pm

Subject: o2 R7k 600MHz 1GB

omelett wrote:thats a good hint!
here the part nr. of the L3 cache chip out of my box :
ibm 9314
84364BSLAC
81L3394 7
A07043XT PQ

anyway, we start again for a O2 speedup, thanks much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
:)
omelett


I've found some pretty readily available parts that use the following cache chips in capacities of 1MB (and 2MB I think, but I cannot confirm)
Cache from System 1 wrote:IBM 9314
041841QLAD
01L4989 5
U33096XT PQ

Also, in another system in capacities of 1MB:
Cache from System 2 wrote:IBM 9314
041841QLAD
01L4988 4
U29008XT PQ

Also, in a system identical to System 2 in capacities of 1MB:
Cache from System 3 wrote:Motorola (the M with a circle around it)
MCM69R818AZP5
QQQAC9842
TNRXQ

Are these usable in the O2 CPU modding project? Are these the chips that are 50% faster?

I hope that knowing that the Motorola chip is available makes this project more do-able.

I'm not ready to divulge where these chips can be found, out of fear of people scalping this hardware for its cache chips.
My computers (incomplete)


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests