SGI hardware in movies

Open discussion on or around SGI; software/hardware related posts should go in the appropriate subforum.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Arabski
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:03 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby Arabski » Mon Feb 02, 2009 8:46 pm

I don't know if it was posted before, but in case it wasn't - it's time for a little quiz. What movie is this?

screenshot.png


It's not a fake :D

p.s. I've seen this movie several times, and only now noticed.
Image * Image

User avatar
fatal_error
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:41 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby fatal_error » Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:58 pm

Ummm, I have no idea but is it Mission to Mars?
:Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy:

User avatar
Arabski
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:03 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby Arabski » Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:39 am

fatal_error wrote:Ummm, I have no idea but is it Mission to Mars?


Oh come on! Was it that obvious? ;) Yes It is...
Image * Image

User avatar
fatal_error
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:41 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby fatal_error » Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:30 am

I havent actually seen it but thought that the Mars surface could relate to that movie (and the movie has also some other sgi-periphelia also?)..
:Octane: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy:

User avatar
skywriter
Posts: 3102
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 6:22 am
Location: living in a linux-blunderland
Contact:

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby skywriter » Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:38 am

i just watched mission to mars a couple of weeks ago. i thought for sure that one would have been mentioned before.

i also watch "Sphere". although there isn't any hardware, they make liberal use of 4DWM in monitor windows.

kind tough to search for reposts...
:Skywriter:

DECUS Member 368596

User avatar
un_
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 6:00 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby un_ » Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:15 am

I'm just surprised anyone would watch Mission to Mars more than once, voluntarily. :D
:540: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: NeXTStation x 2, A4, A7000, RISC PC

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2246
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 5:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby mapesdhs » Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:55 pm

I just wish some channel would show, "The Martian Chronicles" again. Not seen that in years. The kind of thing SciFi should
show, but instead most of their output is junk.

Best movie of decent quality I've come across recently is, "The Quiet Earth" (2003). Sadly, movies as of late have not been
that good, except for occasional gems like, "Pitch Black".

As for spotting SGI stuff in movies, sometimes it's best avoided. The shameless plug in, "Lost In Space" is seriously
cringeworthy (the Jupiter2 control room has many SGI displays). Interesting trivia from the IMDB though: "In the original
script and movie adaptation, it wasn't Silicon Graphics who co-sponsored the Jupiter mission, it was Coca-Cola."

Ian.

User avatar
indyman007
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 5:38 am
Location: North of England

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby indyman007 » Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:17 pm

In the new series of ncis i saw anew sgi flat panel monitor, not a 1600sw
:Indy: R4600PC 133 MHz

Mac Mini 2.5GHz 8GB RAM
Raspberry Pi

User avatar
Dr. Dave
Posts: 2311
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 11:37 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada >burp<

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby Dr. Dave » Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:19 am

mapesdhs wrote:I just wish some channel would show, "The Martian Chronicles" again. Not seen that in years. The kind of thing SciFi should
show, but instead most of their output is junk.

Best movie of decent quality I've come across recently is, "The Quiet Earth" (2003). Sadly, movies as of late have not been
that good, except for occasional gems like, "Pitch Black".

As for spotting SGI stuff in movies, sometimes it's best avoided. The shameless plug in, "Lost In Space" is seriously
cringeworthy (the Jupiter2 control room has many SGI displays). Interesting trivia from the IMDB though: "In the original
script and movie adaptation, it wasn't Silicon Graphics who co-sponsored the Jupiter mission, it was Coca-Cola."

Ian.


I have that one (The Quiet Earth) DVD, one of the newer Anchor Bay releases. Also have "The Man Who Fell to Earth". However, "The Quiet Earth" came out in 1985...
:O3000: <> :O3000: :O2000: :Tezro: :Fuel: x2+ :Octane2: :Octane: x3 :1600SW: x2 :O2: x2+ :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: x2 :Indigo: x3 :Indy: x2+

Once you step up to the big iron, you learn all about physics, electrical standards, and first aid - usually all in the same day

User avatar
zackwatt
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Kentucky

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby zackwatt » Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:29 am

As said before Jurassic Park, here are some more pics.

Indigo Elan
Image

Crimson
Image

Others
Image
Image
Image
:Octane2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :O2: :O2+:

Octane2 2x600 V12 8GB
- Octane2 600 V12 2GB - Octane 2x400 V10 2GB
Indigo² 195 Max Impact 386MB - Indigo² 250 Extreme 386MB
O2 350 CRM 256MB - O2+ 400 CRM 512MB

"I'm totally unappreciated in my time. You can run this whole park from this room, with minimal staff, for up to three days. You think that kind of automation is easy? Or cheap? You know anybody who can network eight Connection Machines and de-bug two million lines of code for what I bid this job? Because if you can, I'd love to see him try."

noisetonepause
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 6:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby noisetonepause » Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:13 pm

Macintosh Quadra 700 on Nedry's desk there. Easily one of the most attractive computers ever, IMO. Wish the drive cage didn't sit over the RAM slots, but you can't have everything...

User avatar
japes
Posts: 711
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby japes » Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:45 pm

noisetonepause wrote:Macintosh Quadra 700 on Nedry's desk there. Easily one of the most attractive computers ever, IMO. Wish the drive cage didn't sit over the RAM slots, but you can't have everything...


I'd like to get my hands on a Q700. I put a yearbook together on one (barely) in high school, was really pushing it's capabilities. I'd like to mess around on one again. I thought I had a line on one, but never got connected.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: <--challenge S

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4362
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby pentium » Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:06 pm

japes wrote:
noisetonepause wrote:Macintosh Quadra 700 on Nedry's desk there. Easily one of the most attractive computers ever, IMO. Wish the drive cage didn't sit over the RAM slots, but you can't have everything...


I'd like to get my hands on a Q700. I put a yearbook together on one (barely) in high school, was really pushing it's capabilities. I'd like to mess around on one again. I thought I had a line on one, but never got connected.

You can have mine if you can locate a Quadra 950. ;)

Thanks for those Jurassic Park shots. I'm actually quite amazed how few I could find that were high quality like yours.
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
jan-jaap
Posts: 4007
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby jan-jaap » Mon Mar 02, 2009 2:31 am

zackwatt wrote:Image

This system cannot be a Crimson because that 'gr_osview' shows CPU0 ... CPU3 usage. It's probably from a 4D/340 or similar system.

The box under the desk is obviously a Crimson. We've been tricked :lol:
Now this is a deep dark secret, so everybody keep it quiet :)
It turns out that when reset, the WD33C93 defaults to a SCSI ID of 0, and it was simpler to leave it that way... -- Dave Olson, in comp.sys.sgi

Currently in commercial service: Image :Onyx2:(2x) :O3x02L:
In the museum: almost every MIPS/IRIX system.
Wanted: GM1 board for Professional Series GT graphics (030-0076-003, 030-0076-004)

noisetonepause
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 6:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark

Re: SGI hardware in movies

Unread postby noisetonepause » Mon Mar 02, 2009 2:48 am

Wasn't there something about the boxes on-screen were never actually on because of noise?


Return to “SGI: Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest