Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:15 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:59 am
Posts: 2
I know I know , it has been widely discussed here about 5.6 as the last IRIX edition, Case CLosed ...
But today, walking on the sgi site to have a better knowledge of the IRIX 6.5 commands, i find this emulator, softwin , which emulates windows 95;
"DESCRIPTION
SoftWindows 95 is a software emulation of an IBM PC using an
Intel 80586 MMX processor. It allows direct execution of
DOS and MS-Windows applications on Unix Workstations and
includes interfaces to allow the use of host facilities such
as the Unix file system, CD-ROM drives, networking, printers
and comms ports. SoftWindows 95 uses the X Window System,
Version 11 Release 6
"

If this emulation works as good, it could be a way to have LW 8.0 , particle system, dynamics, endomorphs and the fast render (10 times better than the 5.6). One of the nekochan member made tests of softwin with the win 98 system. I think it could be a good idea to test softwin/LW on our machines. I sure dont want the Krosoft win95 system on my octane, just lightwave..... what do you think about it ?


http://techpubs.sgi.com/library/tpl/cgi ... at1/swin.z


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 10:38 am
Posts: 739
Location: avignon ,provence, france
stop to dream..... if you can launch LW8.0 on softwin (i don"t think so..) it be realy slow...

Laurent

_________________
SGI or die !!!
:O2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :PI: :Crimson: :PWRSeries: :Onyx: :O2000R:
HP proliant DL 585 Quad Opteron dual core 2.5Ghz 16Gb


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:07 pm
Posts: 1380
Location: New York
Ditto. Assuming that LW8 would even run under SoftWindows, it would be unbearably slow.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9458
ajerimez wrote:
Ditto. Assuming that LW8 would even run under SoftWindows, it would be unbearably slow.

Windows 3.1 apps run pretty good tho. I've been using DesignView recently. Not bad.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 10:38 am
Posts: 739
Location: avignon ,provence, france
to be more realist, a windows benchmark give me a 586 w MMX at 10-12Mhz....with a 600Mhz R14k....

let's be serious

Laurent

_________________
SGI or die !!!
:O2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :PI: :Crimson: :PWRSeries: :Onyx: :O2000R:
HP proliant DL 585 Quad Opteron dual core 2.5Ghz 16Gb


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9458
fzalfa wrote:
to be more realist, a windows benchmark give me a 586 w MMX at 10-12Mhz....with a 600Mhz R14k....

I actually got work done on a 4.7 mhz 286 :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Posts: 7970
Location: Pleasanton, California
hamei wrote:
actually got work done on a 4.7 mhz 286 :)


Yeah, that's why I'm thinking your Windows 3.X software would actually work out pretty well - back then, a 10-12MHz processor was quite common (my first Windows 3.0 machine was a 12MHz 286).

_________________
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 10:38 am
Posts: 739
Location: avignon ,provence, france
i must try a bench with win3.1 on old iron running softwindows2...

Laurent

_________________
SGI or die !!!
:O2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :PI: :Crimson: :PWRSeries: :Onyx: :O2000R:
HP proliant DL 585 Quad Opteron dual core 2.5Ghz 16Gb


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 am
Posts: 367
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
hamei wrote:
fzalfa wrote:
to be more realist, a windows benchmark give me a 586 w MMX at 10-12Mhz....with a 600Mhz R14k....

I actually got work done on a 4.7 mhz 286 :)



So have I. I still wanted to kill myself.

_________________
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Octane: Pachyrhinosaurus
:Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides MacBookPro: mamoru_oshii MacMini Server: microceratops


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9458
scottE wrote:
So have I. I still wanted to kill myself.

:D Some stuff worked fine tho. First Choice was not slow. In fact, it was quicker and more reliable than Word 2007. Footprintworks was nice and fast. The web browsed just as fast on a 486 and Webexplorer as it does on a Fuel with Fireflop 2. Agreed, there wasn't as much garbage on the web then. And graphical stuff was pretty bad ... but this compulsion to use the new ! improved ! jumbo-sized ! software today ... hell, the PhotoShop 3 on Irix does 90% of what we want to do (and 110% of what we need to do) in CS 4 today. And now I am getting .docx files. Someone should shoot those bastards then burn down Redmond to make sure they can't rise from their crypts.

Funny thing .. when you can get all the latest software you want for next to nothing, you discover that it's usually not all it's cracked up to be. Many times the older faster stuff is nicer to use. I wish they'd do bug fixes instead of adding useless new "functionality."


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:20 am
Posts: 367
Location: Homer, not so close to super Indian Food
hamei wrote:
:D Some stuff worked fine tho. First Choice was not slow. In fact, it was quicker and more reliable than Word 2007. Footprintworks was nice and fast. The web browsed just as fast on a 486 and Webexplorer as it does on a Fuel with Fireflop 2. Agreed, there wasn't as much garbage on the web then. And graphical stuff was pretty bad ... but this compulsion to use the new ! improved ! jumbo-sized ! software today ... hell, the PhotoShop 3 on Irix does 90% of what we want to do (and 110% of what we need to do) in CS 4 today. And now I am getting .docx files. Someone should shoot those bastards then burn down Redmond to make sure they can't rise from their crypts.

Funny thing .. when you can get all the latest software you want for next to nothing, you discover that it's usually not all it's cracked up to be. Many times the older faster stuff is nicer to use. I wish they'd do bug fixes instead of adding useless new "functionality."


Wow I remember the PFS stuff. Been years since I even recalled using it, but yeah, that stuff worked pretty well. (But I also remember using PageMaker with Windows on a 286--that I don't miss.)

Agreed about the Photoshop stuff. Adobe's product seems calculated more to annoy me than make me productive. But the 16-bit RGBA support pretty much meant I had to go beyond 3.0.1.

I've just downloaded some demo stuff from the ftp site here on nekochan, just to fool around with it a bit. (Never used Houdini before, so...hey)

_________________
Scott Elyard cgfx.us
:Octane2: Sarcosuchus_imperator :Octane: Liopleurodon :Octane: Pachyrhinosaurus
:Indigo2: Carcharodon :Indy: Helicoprion :Indigo: Paradoxides MacBookPro: mamoru_oshii MacMini Server: microceratops


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:49 pm
Posts: 1
Does 3D Studio Max 7 run (install) on Windows Vista? I am planning to purchase a new computer, the pre-assembled computer from hp/dell come with a vista installed in them. i am studying architecture and i intensively use 3d studio max 7. can someone please tell me if the program will run on the new operating system if not is there any plug-in that is required to have max running.

_________________
market samurai ~ marketsamurai ~ marketsamurai.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5190
Location: NC - USA
kayanat wrote:
Does 3D Studio Max 7 run (install) on Windows Vista?
Hello kayanat, welcome to nekochan.net.

You've asked your question(s) in the wrong place. This particular forum is dedicated Computer Graphics Software that runs on an SGI system that runs the IRIX operating system. There are a number of 3D Studio Max forums available that would be a better venue for your question.

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group