Iceberg: Tezro Rack 4xR16k 1Ghz 4GB, V10, USB, Audigy2 ZS

A place to post hardware inventories.
Forum rules
Please post your 'hinv' in the following format:

Topic: Kind of machine (O2, Octane, Tezro, Onyx2, etc.), CPU (R10k 250MHz, R12k 300MHz, R16k 1GHz, etc.), RAM, graphics option (Example: Tezro V12 4xR16K 700MHz 4GB)

Body: output of hinv -v (hinv -vm if possible) and /usr/gfx/gfxinfo.

Please wrap the output in BBCode "code" blocks to improve legibility.
User avatar
bri3d
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:08 am
Location: Boulder, CO

Iceberg: Tezro Rack 4xR16k 1Ghz 4GB, V10, USB, Audigy2 ZS

Unread postby bri3d » Thu Sep 25, 2008 6:48 pm

Fastest SGI MIPS CPU ever, plus a V10! Still looking for a V12... but too broke to buy any :(

hinv:

Code: Select all

4 1.0 GHZ IP35 Processors
CPU: MIPS R16000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.0
FPU: MIPS R16010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 3.0
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/0/a
CPU 0 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice A: 1.0 Ghz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 3.0. Scache: Size 16 MB Speed 333 Mhz  Tap 0x15
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/1/a
CPU 1 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice C: 1.0 Ghz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 3.0. Scache: Size 16 MB Speed 333 Mhz  Tap 0x15
Location: /hw/module/001c02/node/cpubus/0/a
CPU 2 at Module 001c02/Slot 0/Slice A: 1.0 Ghz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 3.0. Scache: Size 16 MB Speed 333 Mhz  Tap 0x15
Location: /hw/module/001c02/node/cpubus/1/a
CPU 3 at Module 001c02/Slot 0/Slice C: 1.0 Ghz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 3.0. Scache: Size 16 MB Speed 333 Mhz  Tap 0x15
Main memory size: 4096 Mbytes
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 16 Mbytes
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/memory
Memory at Module 001c01/Slot 0: 2048 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 512 MB (Premium) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 1 contains 512 MB (Premium) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 2 contains 512 MB (Premium) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 3 contains 512 MB (Premium) DIMMS (enabled)
Location: /hw/module/001c02/node/memory
Memory at Module 001c02/Slot 0: 2048 MB (enabled)
  Bank 0 contains 512 MB (Premium) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 1 contains 512 MB (Premium) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 2 contains 512 MB (Premium) DIMMS (enabled)
  Bank 3 contains 512 MB (Premium) DIMMS (enabled)
Integral SCSI controller 3: Version IDE (ATA/ATAPI) IOC4
  CDROM: unit 0 on SCSI controller 3
Integral SCSI controller 2: Version IDE (ATA/ATAPI) IOC4
  CDROM: unit 0 on SCSI controller 2
Integral SCSI controller 4: Version QL12160, low voltage differential
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 4 (unit 1)
  Disk drive: unit 2 on SCSI controller 4 (unit 2)
Integral SCSI controller 5: Version QL12160, low voltage differential
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL12160, low voltage differential
  Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
  Disk drive: unit 2 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 2)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL12160, single ended
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty3
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty4
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty5
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty6
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty7
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty8
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty9
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty10
Graphics board: V10
Gigabit Ethernet: tg1, module 001c02, PCI bus 1 slot 4
Integral Gigabit Ethernet: tg0, module 001c01, PCI bus 1 slot 4
Iris Audio Processor: version EMU revision A4, number 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x100a) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1216) PCI slot 3
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x14e4, device 0x1645) PCI slot 4
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x100a) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1216) PCI slot 3
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x14e4, device 0x1645) PCI slot 4
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1102, device 0x0004) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1102, device 0x7003) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1102, device 0x4001) PCI slot 1
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1033, device 0x0035) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1033, device 0x0035) PCI slot 2
  PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1033, device 0x00e0) PCI slot 2
IOC4 firmware revision 83
IOC4 firmware revision 83
IOC3/IOC4 external interrupts: 2
IOC3/IOC4 external interrupts: 1
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/hub
HUB in Module 001c01/Slot 0: Revision 2 Speed 200.00 Mhz (enabled)
Location: /hw/module/001c02/node/hub
HUB in Module 001c02/Slot 0: Revision 2 Speed 200.00 Mhz (enabled)
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/prom
IP35prom in Module 001c01/Slot n0: Revision 6.210
Location: /hw/module/001c02/node/prom
IP35prom in Module 001c02/Slot n0: Revision 6.210
USB controller: type OHCI
USB Human Interface Device: device id 3 type keyboard
USB Human Interface Device: device id 1 type mouse
USB Human Interface Device: device id 2 type keyboard
USB controller: type OHCI
USB Human Interface Device: device id 1 type tablet


and gfxinfo

Code: Select all

Graphics board 0 is "ODYSSEY" graphics.
        Unmanaged 1280x1024
        BUZZ version B.1
        PB&J version 1
        32MB memory
                Banks: 2, CAS latency: 3


recondas also asked me if I could post some more info since it's quite a unique beast - so without further ado-

serial all:

Code: Select all

Data                            Location      Value
------------------------------  ------------  --------
Local System Serial Number      NVRAM         M1234567
Reference System Serial Number  Attached L2   M1234567
Local Brick Serial Number       EEPROM        NGLxxx
Reference Brick Serial Number   NVRAM         NGLxxx


EEPROM      Product Name    Serial         Part Number           Rev  T/W
----------  --------------  -------------  --------------------  ---  ------
INTERFACE   2U_INT_53       NGL666        030_1809_005          A    00
IO9         IO9             NST803         030_1771_005          B    00
ODYSSEY     ASTODYB         MLV782         030_1725_001          F    00
RISER       2U_RISER        NRP608         030_1808_006          B    00
NODE        IP59_2CPU       NMM411         030_2059_002          A    00
SNOWBALL    no hardware detected
PS 1        no hardware detected
PS 2        DPS-500EBE      XPD0514006096  060-0178-003          S4

EEPROM     JEDEC-SPD Info           Part Number        Rev  Speed  SGI
---------- ------------------------ ------------------ ---- ------ --------
DIMM 0     7F7FFE000000000012003413 CM2203B1            2     8.0  N/A
DIMM 2     7F7FFE000000000012003412 CM2203B1            2     8.0  N/A
DIMM 4     no hardware detected
DIMM 6     no hardware detected
DIMM 1     7F7FFE000000000012003417 CM2203B1            2     8.0  N/A
DIMM 3     7F7FFE000000000012003416 CM2203B1            2     8.0  N/A
DIMM 5     no hardware detected
DIMM 7     no hardware detected


env:

Code: Select all

001c02:
Environmental monitoring is enabled and running.

Description    State       Warning Limits     Fault Limits       Current
-------------- ----------  -----------------  -----------------  -------
          1.8V    Enabled  10%   1.62/  1.98  20%   1.44/  2.16    1.763
           12V <not present>
        12V #2    Enabled  10%  10.80/ 13.20  20%   9.60/ 14.40   12.000
          3.3V    Enabled  10%   2.97/  3.63  20%   2.64/  3.96    3.320
        12V IO    Enabled  10%  10.80/ 13.20  20%   9.60/ 14.40   11.938
        5V AUX    Enabled  10%   4.50/  5.50  20%   4.00/  6.00    5.044
      3.3V AUX    Enabled  10%   2.97/  3.63  20%   2.64/  3.96    3.268
    PCI 5V AUX    Enabled  10%   4.50/  5.50  20%   4.00/  6.00    5.044
      PCI 3.3V    Enabled  10%   2.97/  3.63  20%   2.64/  3.96    3.285
      PCI 2.5V    Enabled  10%   2.25/  2.75  20%   2.00/  3.00    2.483
        PCI 5V    Enabled  10%   4.50/  5.50  20%   4.00/  6.00    4.966
  XIO 12V BIAS    Enabled  10%  10.80/ 13.20  20%   9.60/ 14.40   12.000
        XIO 5V    Enabled  10%   4.50/  5.50  20%   4.00/  6.00    4.966
      XIO 2.5V    Enabled  10%   2.25/  2.75  20%   2.00/  3.00    2.470
  XIO 3.3V AUX    Enabled  10%   2.97/  3.63  20%   2.64/  3.96    3.320
IP59 3.3V AUX    Enabled  10%   2.97/  3.63  20%   2.64/  3.96    3.285
   IP59 5V AUX    Enabled  10%   4.50/  5.50  20%   4.00/  6.00    5.044
      IP59 12V    Enabled  10%  10.80/ 13.20  20%   9.60/ 14.40   12.000
     IP59 VCPU    Enabled  10%   1.14/  1.40  20%   1.02/  1.52    1.297
     IP59 SRAM    Enabled  10%   2.25/  2.75  20%   2.00/  3.00    2.483
     IP59 1.5V    Enabled  10%   1.35/  1.65  20%   1.20/  1.80    1.480

Description     State       Warning RPM  Current RPM
--------------- ----------  -----------  -----------
FAN  0  EXHST 1    Enabled         1980         2311
FAN  1       PS    Enabled         3200         5192
FAN  2    PCI 1    Enabled         1980         2721
FAN  3    PCI 2    Enabled         1980         2556
FAN  4      ODY    Warning         1679            0
FAN  5  N0 LEFT    Enabled         1980         3191
FAN  6  N0 CNTR    Enabled         1980         2857
FAN  7 N0 RIGHT    Enabled         1980         2970

                              Advisory   Critical   Fault      Current
Description       State       Temp       Temp       Temp       Temp
----------------- ----------  ---------  ---------  ---------  ---------
0 INTERFACE 0       Enabled    [Autofan Control]    70C/158F   43C/109F
1 INTERFACE 1       Enabled    [Autofan Control]    70C/158F   45C/113F
2 INTERFACE 2       Enabled    [Autofan Control]    70C/158F   34C/ 93F
3 PCI RISER         Enabled    [Autofan Control]    70C/158F   36C/ 96F
4 ODYSSEY           Enabled    [Autofan Control]    70C/158F   44C/111F
5 NODE              Enabled    [Autofan Control]    70C/158F   37C/ 98F
6 BEDROCK           Enabled    [Autofan Control]    70C/158F   51C/123F

                     Zone Temp     Target    Current   Zone Fan   Curr/Min
Zone Name  State     Sensors       Average   Average   Index      Fan %
---------  --------  ------------  --------  --------  ---------  ---------
NODE        Enabled     0,1,2,5,6  47C/116F  42C/107F          0   18%/ 18%
PS          Enabled     0,1,2,5,6  47C/116F  42C/107F          1   55%/ 55%
PCI         Enabled             3  45C/113F  36C/ 96F        2,3   55%/ 55%
ODY         Enabled             4  48C/118F  44C/111F          4   55%/ 55%


In addition, I discovered something new about the Origin 350: It can have one of three types: Chimera Server (Origin350), Chimera Blade (Onyx350 IP?) - happens when V10 is inserted, and Rackmount WS (I assume this is a Tezro) - Activated by inserting the V10 and running "make rmws 1" on the L1.

This status can be viewed from the brick command, for example:

Code: Select all

rack: 001, slot: 01, partition: none, type: Rackmount WS [2MB flash], serial:NGLxxx, source: EEPROM
rack: 001, slot: 02, partition: none, type: Chimera Server [2MB flash], serial:NRTxxx, source: EEPROM


I was wrong - Rackmount WS sytems *can* learn serials from L2s - as long as the serial begins with a P rather than an M. Thanks to recondas for noticing this.

When a headless O350 has make rmws 1 set on it, its type is still "Chimera Server" but it gains the ability to also accept a P-prefix, allowing it to be linked to a headed system for a NUMA-linked Tezro. Sadly I think this configuration won't extend beyond 2 systems due to r-brick serial security - but I may be proven wrong again. I don't have an R-brick or enough O350-bricks to test with.

Details on the V10 hack can be found at: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16719768 for the curious.
Last edited by bri3d on Sun Jun 28, 2009 12:46 pm, edited 10 times in total.

User avatar
tjsgifan
Posts: 494
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 3:03 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby tjsgifan » Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:50 am

That rocks, good luck with pairing them up and with the hunt for graphics. You should be able to get a G-brick from an Onyx 3000 attached to it for graphics, or a V-brick if you can find one. It would be good to see how the CPU's perform on some of the benchmarks here. I just did Ian's Blender http://www.futuretech.blinkenlights.nl/blender.html benchmark on 8 CPU 500Mhz Origin 3200 (With V-brick) and got it to 61 seconds. I reckon that you might be able to shave a few seconds off that with the additional cache you have (But fewer CPU's). But then again, you've not got graphics yet, so we'll see......

Good luck though!
In order of use at the moment..... :Fuel: :O3000:

Currently looking to buy good :Fuel: and :O2: :O2+: machine.

User avatar
mmendez
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:03 pm
Location: Mons, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby mmendez » Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:26 am

Very cool!
SGI: :Indigo2IMP: :Fuel: :O2: :Octane2:
Sun: Ultra2, Ultra60, Sun Fire 4800
Apple: G3, Powermac G4 MDD, PowerMac G5, Mac Mini, iBook G4 12", MBP
Dec 3000
IBM RS/6000
AMD64 FreeBSD box

User avatar
indyman007
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 5:38 am
Location: North of England

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby indyman007 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:28 am

Sounds like a fast system!
:Indy: R4600PC 133 MHz

Mac Mini 2.5GHz 8GB RAM
Raspberry Pi

User avatar
bri3d
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:08 am
Location: Boulder, CO

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby bri3d » Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:39 pm

For those that don't know, I managed to mess my O350s up something amazing:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16719038

Thankfully I should have an L2 on the way soon and I'll be able to fix everything up (still looking for the L2 emulator, though, because it'd be nice to have around)...

Anyway, attaching a pic...
Attachments
O350.jpg

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby mapesdhs » Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:44 pm

I hope you can get it working again! Would be interesting to see how it compares to Toby's 8x500, though I don't think the
larger L2 will make much of a difference since the Blender test scene is pretty simple. I've been running a complex Alias test
which benefits from a larger L2 though, eg. Origin300/600MHz beats a dual-400 Octane2 (1/3rd of the speed difference is
due to the faster O3K RAM, 2/3rds of the increase is due to the 2X larger L2). By contrast, a different simple Maya test
scales more with basic clock speed, eg. Octane, Origin and Fuel are all pretty much the same with a 600MHz CPU.

The more complex the task, the better it will run on an O3K system.

One thing that does surprise me however, and a bit of a caveat for your O350: I see from the hinv that the L2 runs at
333MHz. With a 900MHz system, it runs at 450MHz. This might make a difference for some codes. Anyone have a
quad-1GHz Tezro to compare? Strange that SGI couldn't just make the L2 run at 500MHz.

Ian.

PS. Assuming you're successful in your repairs, any chance of some C-Ray results, etc.? 8)
(07/Mar/2015) FREE! (collection only) 16x Sagitta 12-bay dual-channel U160 SCSI JBOD units.
Email, phone or PM for details, or see my forum post.
mapesdhs@yahoo.com
+44 (0)131 476 0796

User avatar
bri3d
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:08 am
Location: Boulder, CO

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby bri3d » Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:38 pm

I'll benchmark the crap out of it as soon as I get it working again (whenever the L2 arrives... should be this week or early next...)

The L2 speed discrepancy is curious... I wonder why they did that, maybe the L2 barely doesn't run at 500Mhz or something so they had to use divisor 3 instead of 2 (that's totally stupid if it's true though)...

I might be getting IR4 for it as well (although it would probably end up being IR2 since part of me getting the IR4 involves selling the RM and getting a cheaper one)... we'll see how that goes.

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby mapesdhs » Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:28 am

bri3d wrote:The L2 speed discrepancy is curious... I wonder why they did that, maybe the L2 barely doesn't run at 500Mhz or something so they had to use divisor 3 instead of 2 (that's totally stupid if it's true though)...


Indeed. The L2 can run at 450 ok, so not much of a stretch to think of it running at 500. For some codes, the lower L2 speed might
be enough to offset some of the benefit of having a larger L2 and/or higher clock, eg. compared to an 800 with 8MB. Hard to say.
Does anyone have a Fuel, Tezro or Origin/Onyx3K with an 800 CPU? What is the speed of the L2?

For reference, a dual-700 Tezro uses 350MHz L2, while I already know a quad-1GHz Tezro also uses 333MHz L2. Rather ironic that
a Fuel/900 has a 35% faster L2 link.

Ian.

User avatar
tjsgifan
Posts: 494
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 3:03 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby tjsgifan » Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:41 am

Code: Select all

4 800 MHZ IP35 Processors
CPU: MIPS R16000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.2
FPU: MIPS R16010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 2.2
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/0/a
CPU 0 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice A: 800 Mhz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.2. Scache: Size 4 MB Speed 400 Mhz  Tap 0xa
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/0/b
CPU 1 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice B: 800 Mhz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.2. Scache: Size 4 MB Speed 400 Mhz  Tap 0xa
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/1/a
CPU 2 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice C: 800 Mhz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.2. Scache: Size 4 MB Speed 400 Mhz  Tap 0xa
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/1/b
CPU 3 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice D: 800 Mhz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 2.2. Scache: Size 4 MB Speed 400 Mhz  Tap 0xa


So 800Mhz = 400Mhz L2.

and as Ian says :

Code: Select all

4 1.0 GHZ IP35 Processors
CPU: MIPS R16000 Processor Chip Revision: 3.0
FPU: MIPS R16010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 3.0
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/0/a
CPU 0 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice A: 1.0 Ghz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 3.0. Scache: Size 16 MB Speed 333 Mhz  Tap 0x15
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/0/b
CPU 1 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice B: 1.0 Ghz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 3.0. Scache: Size 16 MB Speed 333 Mhz  Tap 0x15
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/1/a
CPU 2 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice C: 1.0 Ghz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 3.0. Scache: Size 16 MB Speed 333 Mhz  Tap 0x15
Location: /hw/module/001c01/node/cpubus/1/b
CPU 3 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice D: 1.0 Ghz MIPS R16000 Processor Chip (enabled)
  Processor revision: 3.0. Scache: Size 16 MB Speed 333 Mhz  Tap 0x15


So 1Ghz = 333Mhz L2.
In order of use at the moment..... :Fuel: :O3000:

Currently looking to buy good :Fuel: and :O2: :O2+: machine.

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby mapesdhs » Wed Dec 03, 2008 4:29 am

Ah well.

Anyone know what kinds of tasks/codes might be affected by the L2 speed? My site doesn't have any fp intensive tests
as yet, though I'm working on it, eg. Autodock, Alias, etc. Even then, fp tasks vary greatly as my SPEC95 pages show.
Perhaps hard to tease out the effects when, despite being slower, the L2 is 2X larger.

Ian.

User avatar
bri3d
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:08 am
Location: Boulder, CO

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby bri3d » Sun Dec 14, 2008 9:00 am

They're baack!

Got my L2 controller hooked up (after finding the power pinouts) and gave them new serials - running like a charm.

NUMALink still won't work though - I blame my cable; it's a NUMALink cable from Origin 2000, and I think NUMALink 3/4 cables might be different somehow. The L1s see each other and * pwr on from one L1 will power up both (even without the L2 involved or connected), but when the PROM probes NUMALink it just says "Network down" and only finds one node (itself). I've tried clearing partitions and everything but to no avail :(

Weirdly there's nothing about any kind of NUMALink error in any error log... you'd think that if I had a bad cable it either a) wouldn't work at all or b) would error somewhere, but instead it just works until the PROM tries it, then silently doesn't find the other system.

Here's what the L2 and L1s have to say:

Code: Select all

Iceberg-001-L2>cfg s
L2s: 1
L1s: 2
  C Bricks: 2

Iceberg-001-L2>cfg v
L2 192.168.1.103: - 001 (IR 80a80167, C 00000000) (LOCAL)
L1 192.168.1.103:1:0     - 001c02     (b2;p1;d2 /dev/sgil1_1)
L1 192.168.1.103:1:5     - 001c01     (b2;p1;d2 /dev/sgil1_1)
L1 192.168.1.103:0:0     - 001c01     (b1;p1;d2 /dev/sgil1_0)
L1 192.168.1.103:0:5     - 001c02     (b1;p1;d2 /dev/sgil1_0)

001c01-L1>cfg v
:0  * 001c01 (local)
:1  - not connected    (attached I/O)
:5  * 001c02 (attached C)
:6  - not connected    (attached I/O)

001c02-L1>cfg v
:0  * 001c02 (local)
:1  - not connected    (attached I/O)
:5  * 001c01 (attached C)
:6  - not connected    (attached I/O)



So the L1s and L2 are definitely communicating amongst themselves properly - the L2 sees both L1s, the L1s see each other as attached C-bricks via NUMALink, and all should be well.

But when I issue a pwr up, everything appears to be working until...

Code: Select all

Local hub NUMAlink is down.
*** Local network link down


And then both PROMs operate independently of each other and the systems don't acknowledge their connection (which confuses the crap out of the L2 system console function as well).

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby mapesdhs » Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:48 pm

I'm sure Toby can confirm, but yes, I would have thought you'd definitely need to have the O3K-type NumaLink3
cable to link the two O350s together.

Ian.
Last edited by mapesdhs on Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 2223
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:57 am
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
Contact:

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby joerg » Mon Dec 15, 2008 10:35 am

bri3d wrote:They're baack!

NUMALink still won't work though - I blame my cable; it's a NUMALink cable from Origin 2000, and I think NUMALink 3/4 cables might be different somehow.


Aeh... cant believe how you are able to connect a NUMALink 2 cable from an O2xx(x) to an O3xx based system :)

Numalink for O3xx(x)
Image
They have a huge massive connector


Numalink for O2xx(x)
Image
The pin layout looks similar but the connector doesnt match to another type.

Good to hear that your machine is back from the dead :).

Regards
Joerg

User avatar
bri3d
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:08 am
Location: Boulder, CO

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby bri3d » Mon Dec 15, 2008 1:54 pm

Well, like I said, I did, and the plugs fit, and it halfway works!

Basically once the pins on the side of the "huge" NUMALink 3 port are removed the "little" NUMALink2 cable will fit. And my O350s, for some reason or another, arrived with the pins in plastic baggies instead of actually screwed into the port, thus why I was able to plug my NUMALink2 cable in.

And, like I said, the L1<->L1 communication works, just not the whole transferring data part xD

User avatar
mapesdhs
Posts: 2299
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Two Origin 350 2xR16k 1Ghz 2GB

Unread postby mapesdhs » Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:08 pm

Hmm, are you perhaps connecting the cable to the older XIO port designed for O2K gfx options?

I cannot see how you'll ever get it to work if you continue to use an O2K cable. Find an O3K cable.

Ian.


Return to “SGI: hinv”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Krokodil and 0 guests