Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:18 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:02 am
Posts: 63
Location: Westerlo, Belgium
This looks like an interesting machine: "http://www.terrasoftsolutions.com/store/index.php?submit=hardware&submitimg[hardware][powerstation]"


{Edit by moderator josehill: for urls like the one above, you might consider converting it to a tinyurl, e.g. http://tinyurl.com/686xjd }


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 818
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Not a bad price, too bad you more than likely couldn't run AIX on it.

Here's a regular link.

_________________
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Octane2: :hpserv: :hpserv: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy: system info on my website


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:19 am
Posts: 301
Location: Slovakia
D-EJ915 wrote:
Not a bad price, too bad you more than likely couldn't run AIX on it.

Here's a regular link.


to me it looks like rebranded ibm workstation. imo aix would run on it

_________________
:Indigo2IMP: :Octane: This post was typed using dvorak keyboard layout - http://www.dvzine.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:20 am
Posts: 162
Location: South of Germany
This seems to be nothing more than an IBM IntelliStation POWER 185 Express:
http://www-03.ibm.com/systems/intellist ... specs.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:19 am
Posts: 301
Location: Slovakia
Ebbi wrote:
This seems to be nothing more than an IBM IntelliStation POWER 185 Express:
http://www-03.ibm.com/systems/intellist ... specs.html


not true, the machine in link is quad core for ~1900$

the ibm intellistation power 185 express is either single or dual core.
http://www-03.ibm.com/systems/intellist ... rowse.html
also the price $5k+ is quite different

_________________
:Indigo2IMP: :Octane: This post was typed using dvorak keyboard layout - http://www.dvzine.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:20 am
Posts: 162
Location: South of Germany
Of course they do not sell identical machines, but the base is the same.
They just put in newer dual core CPUs, similar to Apple's G5:
http://www.apple-history.com/body.php?p ... order=DESC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:02 am
Posts: 63
Location: Westerlo, Belgium
If only they were available in Europe :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 9648
{Edit by moderator josehill: for urls like the one above, you might consider converting it to a tinyurl, e.g. http://tinyurl.com/686xjd }

I don't think you need to anymore, Jose. I've noticed that with this newer version of phpBBS any long url's one enters automatically get abbreviated in the middle.

Sample :

http://cgi.ebay.com/Xerox-Phaser-860_W0 ... dZViewItem

that one's as long as a US passenger train but should show up with the middle ellided. (Is ellided a word ?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 818
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
hamei wrote:
{Edit by moderator josehill: for urls like the one above, you might consider converting it to a tinyurl, e.g. http://tinyurl.com/686xjd }

I don't think you need to anymore, Jose. I've noticed that with this newer version of phpBBS any long url's one enters automatically get abbreviated in the middle.

Sample :

http://cgi.ebay.com/Xerox-Phaser-860_W0 ... dZViewItem

that one's as long as a US passenger train but should show up with the middle ellided. (Is ellided a word ?)

it's ellipsis, so ellipsised? I don't think you can turn it into a verb. Anyway, the weird formatting prevented it from being automatically made into a URL anyway, this board does do that right? I can never remember

_________________
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Octane2: :hpserv: :hpserv: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy: system info on my website


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:53 pm
Posts: 2915
Location: USA
D-EJ915 wrote:
hamei wrote:
I don't think you need to anymore, Jose. I've noticed that with this newer version of phpBBS any long url's one enters automatically get abbreviated in the middle. {stuff deleted}

it's ellipsis, so ellipsised? I don't think you can turn it into a verb. Anyway, the weird formatting prevented it from being automatically made into a URL anyway, this board does do that right? I can never remember

Hi hamei,
I changed the url not because of length, but because the url contained brackets, like "[" and "]," which phpBB misinterprets as BBCode. I guess the other option would have been to disable BBCode on the post, but the thought didn't occur to me at the time. In any event, I should have been clearer about what I meant by "urls like the one above." :)

PS. hamei, ellided isn't an English word (though it suggests something Icelandic), but elided is. Almost works, too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 11:35 am
Posts: 32
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Well the motherboard is for sure different from the IBM one - this has PCI-E slots. As well they say that it supports up to 32G RAM, while 185 supports up to 8G (or IBM just dont support 4G modules? and have the same amount of 8 memory slots?).
I was keeping an eye on the YDL powerstation for a while and I notice now that they changed the video adapter to a Radeon one. I'm 100% sure that some weeks before (before the shipping started) it was XGI. They had some open source drivers for it and this was part of the advertisiment - that everything was open.

_________________
[OpenVMS 8.3 Cluster @ Digital Personal WorkStation 600a & Digital AlphaServer 1200] [IRIX 5.3 @ SGI Indy] [Solaris 9 @ Sun Ultra 1 Creator3D] [Solaris 10 @ Sun Ultra 30 Creator 3D] [System 7 @ Macintosh Plus] [System 7 @ Macintosh Performa 630] [MAC OS 10.3 @ PPC Mac Mini] [Debian 4.0 @ PC]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 818
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
It certainly was that other brand's card before, the X10 or something like that. ATi under ruling from AMD opened up its drivers although I don't know much more than that.

_________________
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Octane2: :hpserv: :hpserv: :O2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy: system info on my website


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 2:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:19 am
Posts: 301
Location: Slovakia
Can anyone compare horsepower of YDL powerstation to any xeon/opteron comparable station?
is powerstation worth money?

_________________
:Indigo2IMP: :Octane: This post was typed using dvorak keyboard layout - http://www.dvzine.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:48 pm
Posts: 1887
Location: P.O. Box 121, Pymble, Sydney, NSW 2073, Australia.
toxygen wrote:
Can anyone compare horsepower of YDL powerstation to any xeon/opteron comparable station?
is powerstation worth money?


By what metric do you measure performance...?
Drystones, graphics, I/O throughput, database transactions per second, etc...?

I don't have a YDL powerstation but I do have a POWER 4+ 1.45GHz running Fedora Core 9, if you want me to run a specific benchmark, I'd be happy to post it.

It seems amazing fast on somethings and glacial on others ... POST takes like 5 minutes.

RR.

_________________
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

@PymbleSoftware
Current Apps -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware
Visit http://www.pymblesoftware.com
Search for "Pymble", "InstaElf", "CryWhy" or "Cricket Score Sheet" in the iPad App store or search for "Pymble" or "CryWhy" in the iPhone App store.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: IBM Powerstation
Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:19 am
Posts: 301
Location: Slovakia
PymbleSoftware wrote:
By what metric do you measure performance...?
Drystones, graphics, I/O throughput, database transactions per second, etc...?


I was mainly interested in compile times and I/O.

PymbleSoftware wrote:
I don't have a YDL powerstation but I do have a POWER 4+ 1.45GHz running Fedora Core 9, if you want me to run a specific benchmark, I'd be happy to post it.

maybe this one: http://www.phystech.com/ftp/ubench-0.32.tar.gz

PymbleSoftware wrote:
It seems amazing fast on somethings and glacial on others ... POST takes like 5 minutes.
RR.


you mean HTTP POST or which POST?

marian

_________________
:Indigo2IMP: :Octane: This post was typed using dvorak keyboard layout - http://www.dvzine.org


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group