IBM Powerstation

IBM workstations/servers/mainframes and operating systems (AIX, OS/2, etc.)
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
tunkaflux
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Westerlo, Belgium
Contact:

IBM Powerstation

Unread postby tunkaflux » Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:54 am

This looks like an interesting machine: "http://www.terrasoftsolutions.com/store/index.php?submit=hardware&submitimg[hardware][powerstation]"


{Edit by moderator josehill: for urls like the one above, you might consider converting it to a tinyurl, e.g. http://tinyurl.com/686xjd }

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:59 am

Not a bad price, too bad you more than likely couldn't run AIX on it.

Here's a regular link.
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:

User avatar
toxygen
Posts: 309
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 2:19 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby toxygen » Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:14 pm

D-EJ915 wrote:Not a bad price, too bad you more than likely couldn't run AIX on it.

Here's a regular link.


to me it looks like rebranded ibm workstation. imo aix would run on it
:Indigo2IMP: :Octane: This post was typed using dvorak keyboard layout - http://www.dvzine.org

User avatar
Ebbi
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:20 am
Location: South of Germany

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby Ebbi » Wed Jun 11, 2008 12:52 pm

This seems to be nothing more than an IBM IntelliStation POWER 185 Express:
http://www-03.ibm.com/systems/intellist ... specs.html

User avatar
toxygen
Posts: 309
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 2:19 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby toxygen » Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:05 pm

Ebbi wrote:This seems to be nothing more than an IBM IntelliStation POWER 185 Express:
http://www-03.ibm.com/systems/intellist ... specs.html


not true, the machine in link is quad core for ~1900$

the ibm intellistation power 185 express is either single or dual core.
http://www-03.ibm.com/systems/intellist ... rowse.html
also the price $5k+ is quite different
:Indigo2IMP: :Octane: This post was typed using dvorak keyboard layout - http://www.dvzine.org

User avatar
Ebbi
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:20 am
Location: South of Germany

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby Ebbi » Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:32 pm

Of course they do not sell identical machines, but the base is the same.
They just put in newer dual core CPUs, similar to Apple's G5:
http://www.apple-history.com/body.php?p ... order=DESC

User avatar
tunkaflux
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:02 am
Location: Westerlo, Belgium
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby tunkaflux » Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:53 am

If only they were available in Europe :(

hamei
Posts: 10099
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby hamei » Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:07 pm

{Edit by moderator josehill: for urls like the one above, you might consider converting it to a tinyurl, e.g. http://tinyurl.com/686xjd }

I don't think you need to anymore, Jose. I've noticed that with this newer version of phpBBS any long url's one enters automatically get abbreviated in the middle.

Sample :

http://cgi.ebay.com/Xerox-Phaser-860_W0 ... dZViewItem

that one's as long as a US passenger train but should show up with the middle ellided. (Is ellided a word ?)

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:22 pm

hamei wrote:{Edit by moderator josehill: for urls like the one above, you might consider converting it to a tinyurl, e.g. http://tinyurl.com/686xjd }

I don't think you need to anymore, Jose. I've noticed that with this newer version of phpBBS any long url's one enters automatically get abbreviated in the middle.

Sample :

http://cgi.ebay.com/Xerox-Phaser-860_W0 ... dZViewItem

that one's as long as a US passenger train but should show up with the middle ellided. (Is ellided a word ?)

it's ellipsis, so ellipsised? I don't think you can turn it into a verb. Anyway, the weird formatting prevented it from being automatically made into a URL anyway, this board does do that right? I can never remember
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3044
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby josehill » Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:58 pm

D-EJ915 wrote:
hamei wrote:I don't think you need to anymore, Jose. I've noticed that with this newer version of phpBBS any long url's one enters automatically get abbreviated in the middle. {stuff deleted}

it's ellipsis, so ellipsised? I don't think you can turn it into a verb. Anyway, the weird formatting prevented it from being automatically made into a URL anyway, this board does do that right? I can never remember

Hi hamei,
I changed the url not because of length, but because the url contained brackets, like "[" and "]," which phpBB misinterprets as BBCode. I guess the other option would have been to disable BBCode on the post, but the thought didn't occur to me at the time. In any event, I should have been clearer about what I meant by "urls like the one above." :)

PS. hamei, ellided isn't an English word (though it suggests something Icelandic), but elided is. Almost works, too.

kenashkov
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:35 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby kenashkov » Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:34 am

Well the motherboard is for sure different from the IBM one - this has PCI-E slots. As well they say that it supports up to 32G RAM, while 185 supports up to 8G (or IBM just dont support 4G modules? and have the same amount of 8 memory slots?).
I was keeping an eye on the YDL powerstation for a while and I notice now that they changed the video adapter to a Radeon one. I'm 100% sure that some weeks before (before the shipping started) it was XGI. They had some open source drivers for it and this was part of the advertisiment - that everything was open.
[OpenVMS 8.3 Cluster @ Digital Personal WorkStation 600a & Digital AlphaServer 1200] [IRIX 5.3 @ SGI Indy] [Solaris 9 @ Sun Ultra 1 Creator3D] [Solaris 10 @ Sun Ultra 30 Creator 3D] [System 7 @ Macintosh Plus] [System 7 @ Macintosh Performa 630] [MAC OS 10.3 @ PPC Mac Mini] [Debian 4.0 @ PC]

User avatar
D-EJ915
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:07 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby D-EJ915 » Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:44 am

It certainly was that other brand's card before, the X10 or something like that. ATi under ruling from AMD opened up its drivers although I don't know much more than that.
:Indy: :rx2600: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indy: :Indy:

User avatar
toxygen
Posts: 309
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 2:19 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby toxygen » Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:26 am

Can anyone compare horsepower of YDL powerstation to any xeon/opteron comparable station?
is powerstation worth money?
:Indigo2IMP: :Octane: This post was typed using dvorak keyboard layout - http://www.dvzine.org

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1887
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Thu Aug 07, 2008 5:19 am

toxygen wrote:Can anyone compare horsepower of YDL powerstation to any xeon/opteron comparable station?
is powerstation worth money?


By what metric do you measure performance...?
Drystones, graphics, I/O throughput, database transactions per second, etc...?

I don't have a YDL powerstation but I do have a POWER 4+ 1.45GHz running Fedora Core 9, if you want me to run a specific benchmark, I'd be happy to post it.

It seems amazing fast on somethings and glacial on others ... POST takes like 5 minutes.

RR.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
toxygen
Posts: 309
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 2:19 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: IBM Powerstation

Unread postby toxygen » Thu Aug 07, 2008 5:29 am

PymbleSoftware wrote:By what metric do you measure performance...?
Drystones, graphics, I/O throughput, database transactions per second, etc...?


I was mainly interested in compile times and I/O.

PymbleSoftware wrote:I don't have a YDL powerstation but I do have a POWER 4+ 1.45GHz running Fedora Core 9, if you want me to run a specific benchmark, I'd be happy to post it.

maybe this one: http://www.phystech.com/ftp/ubench-0.32.tar.gz

PymbleSoftware wrote:It seems amazing fast on somethings and glacial on others ... POST takes like 5 minutes.
RR.


you mean HTTP POST or which POST?

marian
:Indigo2IMP: :Octane: This post was typed using dvorak keyboard layout - http://www.dvzine.org


Return to “IBM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest