Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:19 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 6:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:38 pm
Posts: 102
Location: The Death Star for vacations
Hi all,
I need the Sgi Cube logo (file readable in 3ds Max).
Iv' found only one here for blender :(
Any help will be very very nice.
Thanks a lot

_________________
Octane2 Irix 6.5.28f.
PC_Linux Redhat.
Smoke Artist.


Last edited by fvador59 on Tue May 13, 2008 7:24 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 6:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 7:57 am
Posts: 2223
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
In the early days of 3dmax there was a SGI cube plugin. With 2 simple mouse clicks it was possible to create the cube.

IIRC we have already a thread about somewhere.

Look at http://forums.nekochan.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=15126&p=118857&hilit=sgi+plugin#p118857l

regards
Joerg

_________________
http://www.irixworld.net
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 6:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:38 pm
Posts: 102
Location: The Death Star for vacations
Yes Joerg i saw it ;)
But this kind of plugins was for veryyy old MAX release.

I've seen one time on the web an Sgi cube file for 3ds but didn't download it and now can't remember where it was ...argggg :oops:

_________________
Octane2 Irix 6.5.28f.
PC_Linux Redhat.
Smoke Artist.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 6:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:42 am
Posts: 786
Location: Frankfurt (Rhein-Main Area) / Germany
Not that I know much of blender or 3dmax anyway, but I would look for a more neutral format like obj or vrml, I am sure that both can read and write them.

Welcome to the wonderful world of file formats.

Matthias

_________________
Life is what happens while we are making other plans


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 7:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:38 pm
Posts: 102
Location: The Death Star for vacations
I've found all i needed. ;)
Thx again.

_________________
Octane2 Irix 6.5.28f.
PC_Linux Redhat.
Smoke Artist.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:51 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Posts: 2931
Location: Maryland, USA
Care to share?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:38 pm
Posts: 102
Location: The Death Star for vacations
of course men ;)
PM if u need it.
This is the final result.Hope you will like it :
http://fr.youtube.com/watch?v=cujNLAu6YaI

_________________
Octane2 Irix 6.5.28f.
PC_Linux Redhat.
Smoke Artist.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 1:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:50 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Bristol. UK
fvador59 wrote:
of course men ;)
PM if u need it.
This is the final result.Hope you will like it :
http://fr.youtube.com/watch?v=cujNLAu6YaI


Very Nice! (Although I can't speak a word of French!)

Can you provide a short bit on the construction of the vid? What programs, hardware, timescales etc?

Jacques.

_________________
No SGI box currently...Snif!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:38 pm
Posts: 102
Location: The Death Star for vacations
Thank you for your nice comments.

3DS MAX, photoshop, After Effects and Premiere were used for this project.
A very simple clip was asked this time.
That's what SGI wanted and this is the result the needed.

_________________
Octane2 Irix 6.5.28f.
PC_Linux Redhat.
Smoke Artist.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 7:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:30 am
Posts: 3
YEAH! :D
i like it, now we have to wait 20 years more ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:00 am
Posts: 158
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
I know, I am late - but here is a cube I made with Wings3D:

http://www.martin-steen.de/sgi/sgi-logo.3ds

Best regards, Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 1:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 4:41 am
Posts: 1
What is a Boolean in 3D STUDIO MAX? I’m a student in school and got a final 2morro. Our text book sucks and doesn’t explain anything. Can someone tell me what a Boolean is? And what it does? In 3D STUDIO MAX

_________________
Keyword Software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max
Unread postPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Posts: 4226
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina
lomaany wrote:
What is a Boolean in 3D STUDIO MAX? I’m a student in school and got a final 2morro. Our text book sucks and doesn’t explain anything. Can someone tell me what a Boolean is? And what it does? In 3D STUDIO MAX


Do you mean a Boolean Operation? This is to add, intersect, or substract two or more objects between them, getting a third object which is the addition, intersection, or substraction of those elements... (I'm not a big fan for 3DS Max anymore since lots of years, but I really enjoy Blender a lot! ;) B.T.W.: ...I hope this short and humble intro helps a bit!)

_________________
Oh!, let me write that!

https://www.facebook.com/GeekTronix
https://geekli.st/GeekTronixShop
https://www.rebelmouse.com/GeekTronixShop/
http://twitter.com/GeekTronixShop
http://www.youtube.com/GeekTronixStream


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group