Sgi cube for 3ds max

3D/2D CGI and the tools used in their creation (Maya, Photoshop, Blender, GIMP, etc.).
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
fvador59
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: The Death Star for vacations

Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby fvador59 » Mon May 12, 2008 6:10 am

Hi all,
I need the Sgi Cube logo (file readable in 3ds Max).
Iv' found only one here for blender :(
Any help will be very very nice.
Thanks a lot
Last edited by fvador59 on Tue May 13, 2008 7:24 am, edited 2 times in total.
Octane2 Irix 6.5.28f.
PC_Linux Redhat.
Smoke Artist.

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 2223
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:57 am
Location: In an origin rack - Germany
Contact:

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby joerg » Mon May 12, 2008 6:31 am

In the early days of 3dmax there was a SGI cube plugin. With 2 simple mouse clicks it was possible to create the cube.

IIRC we have already a thread about somewhere.

Look at http://forums.nekochan.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=15126&p=118857&hilit=sgi+plugin#p118857l

regards
Joerg

User avatar
fvador59
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: The Death Star for vacations

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby fvador59 » Mon May 12, 2008 6:35 am

Yes Joerg i saw it ;)
But this kind of plugins was for veryyy old MAX release.

I've seen one time on the web an Sgi cube file for 3ds but didn't download it and now can't remember where it was ...argggg :oops:
Octane2 Irix 6.5.28f.
PC_Linux Redhat.
Smoke Artist.

Brombear
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:42 am
Location: Frankfurt (Rhein-Main Area) / Germany
Contact:

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby Brombear » Mon May 12, 2008 6:38 am

Not that I know much of blender or 3dmax anyway, but I would look for a more neutral format like obj or vrml, I am sure that both can read and write them.

Welcome to the wonderful world of file formats.

Matthias
Life is what happens while we are making other plans

User avatar
fvador59
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: The Death Star for vacations

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby fvador59 » Tue May 13, 2008 7:25 am

I've found all i needed. ;)
Thx again.
Octane2 Irix 6.5.28f.
PC_Linux Redhat.
Smoke Artist.

User avatar
squeen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2932
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 6:10 am
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby squeen » Mon Jul 07, 2008 4:51 am

Care to share?

User avatar
fvador59
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: The Death Star for vacations

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby fvador59 » Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:12 am

of course men ;)
PM if u need it.
This is the final result.Hope you will like it :
http://fr.youtube.com/watch?v=cujNLAu6YaI
Octane2 Irix 6.5.28f.
PC_Linux Redhat.
Smoke Artist.

JacquesT
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:50 am
Location: Bristol. UK

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby JacquesT » Tue Jul 15, 2008 1:11 am

fvador59 wrote:of course men ;)
PM if u need it.
This is the final result.Hope you will like it :
http://fr.youtube.com/watch?v=cujNLAu6YaI


Very Nice! (Although I can't speak a word of French!)

Can you provide a short bit on the construction of the vid? What programs, hardware, timescales etc?

Jacques.
No SGI box currently...Snif!

User avatar
fvador59
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:38 pm
Location: The Death Star for vacations

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby fvador59 » Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:04 am

Thank you for your nice comments.

3DS MAX, photoshop, After Effects and Premiere were used for this project.
A very simple clip was asked this time.
That's what SGI wanted and this is the result the needed.
Octane2 Irix 6.5.28f.
PC_Linux Redhat.
Smoke Artist.

zarma
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:30 am

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby zarma » Fri Jul 18, 2008 7:21 am

YEAH! :D
i like it, now we have to wait 20 years more ;)

User avatar
Martin Steen
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 2:00 am
Location: Braunschweig (Germany)
Contact:

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby Martin Steen » Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:35 am

I know, I am late - but here is a cube I made with Wings3D:

http://www.martin-steen.de/sgi/sgi-logo.3ds

Best regards, Martin

lomaany
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:41 am

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby lomaany » Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:02 am

What is a Boolean in 3D STUDIO MAX? I’m a student in school and got a final 2morro. Our text book sucks and doesn’t explain anything. Can someone tell me what a Boolean is? And what it does? In 3D STUDIO MAX

User avatar
GeneratriX
Posts: 4238
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Rosario / Santa Fe / República Argentina

Re: Sgi cube for 3ds max

Unread postby GeneratriX » Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:44 pm

lomaany wrote:What is a Boolean in 3D STUDIO MAX? I’m a student in school and got a final 2morro. Our text book sucks and doesn’t explain anything. Can someone tell me what a Boolean is? And what it does? In 3D STUDIO MAX


Do you mean a Boolean Operation? This is to add, intersect, or substract two or more objects between them, getting a third object which is the addition, intersection, or substraction of those elements... (I'm not a big fan for 3DS Max anymore since lots of years, but I really enjoy Blender a lot! ;) B.T.W.: ...I hope this short and humble intro helps a bit!)


Return to “SGI: Computer Graphics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests