o2 dvd mod and cpu overclock

SGI hardware problems, solutions, tips, hacks, etc.
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
hindu
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: TX US
Contact:

o2 dvd mod and cpu overclock

Unread postby hindu » Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:42 pm

i have found several references on the web for:

1) toshiba dvd installed in an o2

2) o2 cpu overclocking

unfortunately they were all in german, and i wouldn't trust a google xlation from german to english for such delicate work.

does anyone know where i could find a decent translation?

TIA
dave

unixmuseum
Posts: 2783
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 4:25 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: o2 dvd mod and cpu overclock

Unread postby unixmuseum » Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:30 pm

hindu wrote:i have found several references on the web for:

1) toshiba dvd installed in an o2

2) o2 cpu overclocking

unfortunately they were all in german, and i wouldn't trust a google xlation from german to english for such delicate work.

does anyone know where i could find a decent translation?

TIA
DVD is simple, there's really nothing to do plug unplugging the CD-ROM and replacing it with a DVD-ROM... As for the overclocking, it's been discussed all over nekochan...

User avatar
hindu
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: TX US
Contact:

thanx!

Unread postby hindu » Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:00 pm

i'll go back and find out what model of toshiba it is that i need, and search thru here for the overclocking info.

gracias!

ps:love the avatar
dave

User avatar
miunk
Posts: 346
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 4:17 pm
Location: quito

Unread postby miunk » Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:59 am

DVD is simple, there's really nothing to do plug unplugging the CD-ROM and replacing it with a DVD-ROM...


I have one with a cdrw that is not so simple. The sides of the tray get caught on the curved sides of the o2, and forget about getting the stylish o2 "eject button pusher" plastic piece on there. For now I'm just leaving it with no skins. Any recommendations?

User avatar
zafunk
Posts: 1060
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 11:51 pm
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Re: o2 dvd mod and cpu overclock

Unread postby zafunk » Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:35 am

hindu wrote:unfortunately they were all in german


Here is the english pdf of the O2 DVD mod.

Tamyaril
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 1:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: thanx!

Unread postby Tamyaril » Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:16 am

hindu wrote:i'll go back and find out what model of toshiba it is that i need


how about a SD-M1401 for 10$?
join the mob :wink:

User avatar
hindu
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:30 pm
Location: TX US
Contact:

thanx

Unread postby hindu » Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:31 am

thanx for all the unputs...
dave

User avatar
dexter1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2062
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:57 am
Location: Voorburg, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: o2 dvd mod and cpu overclock

Unread postby dexter1 » Thu Oct 20, 2005 11:54 am

hindu wrote:i have found several references on the web for:

1) toshiba dvd installed in an o2

2) o2 cpu overclocking

unfortunately they were all in german, and i wouldn't trust a google xlation from german to english for such delicate work.

does anyone know where i could find a decent translation?

TIA


i've translated the article of the O2 overclocking in English some time ago:

http://www.mechanics.citg.tudelft.nl/~e ... pa/o2.html
:Crimson: :PI: :Indigo: :O2: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :O2000: :Onyx2:
European nekoware mirror, updated twice a day: http://www.mechanics.citg.tudelft.nl/~everdij/nekoware
ftp://mech001.citg.tudelft.nl rsync mech001.citg.tudelft.nl::nekoware

User avatar
entermation
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: Think Palm Trees and Hurricanes
Contact:

Unread postby entermation » Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:52 pm

As a former EE and looking at the mod pages Id reccomend the resistor mod. If SGI were to tell you how to mod the board most likely it would be this way. those are "option" resistors. By the pics you have to have 3 resistors left to right. in one position top to bottom it either puts 5V (3.3?) or ground on one of the PLL pins this is to set up the frequency. Those in the PC world think way back to setting up your 486 board for 25 or 33 with jumpers same thing just not easily user changable.
Now look at other CPU boards see if you can find a simmilar "field" of blank resistors.
Austin

User avatar
entermation
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: Think Palm Trees and Hurricanes
Contact:

Unread postby entermation » Sun Oct 23, 2005 3:47 am

The resistor mod worked great 180 to 200 <10 minutes. soldering iron warming up took longer than the change.


Return to “SGI: Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests